Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chimney Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1100 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2009

We came to CLE mid-year from overseas and my Kindergarten daughter loved this school. At her old school,she learned her sight words, but at CLE she learned to read! Thank you Ms. Scott!! We are moving again and my daughter is very sad to leave this school, she loves the teachers, the activities, her classroom, and her friends. I specifically, stayed six months with my family so that my daughter could attend this school because her three cousins have all gone through CLE and are all reaching their potential in learning. I thought the homework was in line for a 5-6 year old, the classroom academics challenged my daughter and I thought they had fun field trips. Thank you CLE for giving my daughter a good start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Student loves school, but question if she is just being passed through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My son was able to read from very little to a lot within a matter of one grading period. His teachers from Kindergarten to 1st grade are so amazing...especially Ms. Yergin and Ms. Thompson. Well done teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

My Daughter has learned more at this school than i expected for 2nd grade it's a wonderful cultural magnet school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I was told about this wonderful school by another parent and we are THRILLED with our decison to send our daughter there! Ouf 5 year old attends kindergarten there and learned to read in just about 2 months. She can read just about everything!! It's amazing! She loves school! I sometimes volunteer at the school and have only witnessed happy, smiling children. You can also eat lunch with your child in a special area. Security of the children is very good. The school is completely locked down and EVERYTIME I've been allowed in I have been asked to show ID, sign in and wear a visitior pass. The few times I've had to dismiss my daughter early I was also asked to show ID and they pulled her card to make sure I was allowed to pick her up, even though they know me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My kids love the school. Great teaching staff and afterschool program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Overall my kids love the school. I have a 4th and 5th grader. I've never seen them so excited about school. One thing I was disappointed in was their programs. I thought there would be more art, music and PE. This was one of the reasons I wanted my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Chimney Lakes is a wonderful elementary school. I would recommend this school to anyone. The teachers have been outstanding with keeping parents informed of weekly assignments and tests. The afterschool program is a great safe place for the kids after school. This is my daughters last year there and we are going to miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

My son started at Chimney Lakes in the ESE program and has terrific teachers especially his last 2 yrs Ms Seldon and Mrs Mace were great with his needs and my son learned a lot from them we will miss them. Since my son is going into the 6th grade my daughter can not go to Chimney Lakes anymore but her teacher she had last yr Ms Yergin was great she help my daughter learn so much I feel that she had a great year with Ms Yergin I hate that my daughter can not go there anymore they have great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

chimney lakes elementary is a fine example of learning.it teaches kids in a way that they enjoy it and has an envirorment that makes learning worthwile.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 26, 2006

My child has been attending this school for three years and I believe that the teachers are caring and very well trained. She has done very well at Chimney Lakes. The extended day program is awesome, Ms. Dawn Little is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

very happy about my children attending this school. FCAT readiness was a priority. downfall is no full time art, music, p.e. programs. only attend these classes once a week
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

I currently have 2 children enrolled in this school and i can honestly say my experience with the school has been great. All the teachers i have came in contact with were great and very caring. The only thing that i wish this school had would be the International studies that they are supposed to have. They are a magnet for International studies but never have i seen them do anything or learn anything that falls in this category.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

With all the budget cuts, Chimney Lakes is doing a great job to teach all students the standards and skills they need to know. The teachers are wonderful and they work so hard to be the best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2004

Great school, good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I think the parent with all the bad things to say about Chimney Lakes needs to go there him/her self! Trying to read it was impossible! On a positive note, Chimeny Lakes Elem. school is a great school. The teachers really care about the students. I couldn't ask for a better school for my child. I think his/her comments are far and few between. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2003

1) princiapl leadership was none what so ever, they just push you off. 2) teacher quality very unorganized when she had one. 3) safety the gate was left open a stray dog got in and went after the kids and they stood there and did nothing, not to mention if a child is a constant threat to your child they take it as a joke let's keep up that magnet program


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 38%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9353 Staples Mill Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32244
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Argyle Elementary School
Orange Park, FL


Oakleaf High School
Orange Park, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT