Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Landmark Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1179 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2007

Ever since I arrived at this school in 2004 as a 6th Grader I've always had a bad feeling about Landmark. To explain my feeling for this school, it has a very unhelpful staff that treat parents very badly and dis-respectfully and most of their students are constantly trash talking and bullying is a huge problem also which makes the school environment very dangerous. All in all, I suggest sending your son or daughter to another school if you have a choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

i love this school all the teachers are nice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

Lately Im no t happy here at landmark. The classes are over crouded and they keep changing my classes. Gym and computers are the only classes I have that have a good amount of kids in them.. They say there going to fix the problems but nothings happening? Im an 8th grade student at landmark and there have only been to problems this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

So far I am very disappointed in the whole Duval County. We went from Abess Park Elementary School, where my son had the option of before school care and after, and now that he is in 6th grade, There is no supervision what so ever. I have no idea whats going on in his classes, I have emailed the teachers, only to get no response. I feel so helpless in my own childs education. Just because we live close to this school, we seem be getting penalized. It seems to be unfair. Very disappointed parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I was concerned before my daughter started at LM because of many rumors. This is her 2nd year & she loves the school. She is in honors/advanced classes, has had wonderful teachers that are very easy to communicate with via email &/or phone calls. She has a few well behaved friends & has really become more independent and opened up since 5th grade. Dr. Henry (principal) and officer Goodin do not put up with adverse behavior that interferes with learning.The more involved you are as a parent, the more you will know this. How many schools offer free tutoring 2 days/week & on Sat! The only concern I have is the amount of binders/notebooks/supplies my daughter has to carry when she walks to school & all throughout the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

This school is the worst school my child has ever been at. My child has only had a few wonderful teachers Mrs.Lee(7th) Mr.Evans(comp.) Coach Foy(science) Mrs.Rojas(6th) This school cant even provide paper for my child we have to go out and buy paper for copys just so are chirldren dont have tio copy every thing. My main thing is the lockers landmark middle has lockers down almost every hall way ,yet my child is forced to carry 6 class periods worth of papers and notebooks in a bookbag almost 7 hours a day. These people tell the parents they are going to take action but nothing happens.I am i worried parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I am a student a landmark middle and i am so happy with my school!They rock my socks!The only thing is the lockers we have them y not use em you know.....i hate carrying bookbags for 6 classes its so flipping hard on my back =[
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

To make a long story short... If you can afford private school, send your kids to private. This school should be rated D because of the leadership and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

im a student of landmark middle school, and i love it there because of the great teachers like mr.tupper, and mrs.Gaulier. i am a advanced student and now more interested in politics and ancient discoveries than i was before i attended this school. my only issue was that they no longer give students lockers. other wise im looking forward to my new year of school there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

I have to admit I was a little worried about my daughter attending this school. I had heard so many negative things about it, but found that most of them were not correct. We have been very pleased with Landmark and my daughter is happy there as well. With this age group I think it is very important for parents to step up and be involved with the students and I think Landmark encourages parents to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

I can not believe that Landmark is allowed to teach children. We tried to be active participants in the school and were discouraged from doing so. The entire staff never return calls, are rude to parents and children. Landmark failed to teach our child, who prior to attending Landmark was an honor roll student. We pulled him from Landmark and placed him in a private school. Because of Landmark, our child will NEVER attend Public School again, and we will vote NO to every school levy. Its not a money problem, its a people problem, with Teachers who only care about FCAT Numbers, instead of Teaching our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My sister (03-06) and I (02-05) both attended landmark middle and loved it. We had incredible teachers such as coach Foy and Ms. Gailur and great experiences that we truley miss. We learned things there that surpasses our high school and that we will never forget. There are problems at every school and you can not say landmark is the worst. The important thing was our education and we recieved a great one from landmark.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2007

Landmark has had a bad rap over the years but it has turned around. Yes there are fights and yes they do still have some problems. But the staff is doing a great job in curbing the problems to a minimum. I have been very proud to say my child goes to Landmark and loves this school. They care about the kids and it shows. The fact they have a great nursing staff tops off my reasons for loving this school. Having a child with medical problems paired with a school that cares makes all the difference in the world. Kudos to Landmark for helping to make a lasting difference in these kids lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I have not seen a more unorganized school as Landmark Middle. I cannot believe that a school of this nature is allowed to operate as it does. Between the never returned phone calls to the abundance of trash and kids running/ riding bicycles in the halls during the last chorus concert of the 2007 school year, I'd definitely not recommend Landmark as a school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

i attended lank mark middle and left in the year of 2004.. i really thank landmark i believe it is a gret school and that you can learn a lot if you stay on the right track... i can honestly say that things i learned in landmark middle are things that i havent learned in school now that i am in my second year of high school in another state.. and the staff was very polite and sweet to me.. i loved it
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2006

Parents try to be involved in this school and it is not encouraged. Teachers never return phone calls. I have visited this establishment numerous times and have been left waiting in the halls for reasons unknown and treated rudely by the teachers and the staff in the front office. The atmosphere is one of a juvenile delinquency center rather than a learning institution. The teachers are non-communicative and unresponsive when called upon for answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

The school is violent and very disorganized. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. Fights are more often than not at this school. This is what we have encountered at Landmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

We are in our 3rd year at Landmark and doing just fine. Lots of worries prior to starting Middle School, but as long as you keep involed with your child it's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

My experience at Landmark has been a great disappointment. Administratively this school needs help. I have tried to be as involved as possible as a parent, but when questioning situations that have occurred at the school, I was essentially ignored. If I had not persisted in my quest for answers, my concerns would never have been addressed. Thankfully, my daughter enjoys her classes and her teachers, and does well academically. I just feel that more consideration to parent's concerns are greatly needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

Good school, great music program. the only bad thing is overcrowding. A child can get lost if not self motivated. All in all, good teachers, but just too many students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

437 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Black 35%
Hispanic 9%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID GILMORE
Fax number
  • (904) 221-8847

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Kernan Boulevard North
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 221-7125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kernan Middle School
Jacksonville, FL


Eunice Christian School
Jacksonville, FL





Grace Lutheran School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT