Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alimacani Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 779 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2007

I moved to Jacksonville 3 months ago. I am very satisfied for the decision to move where my kids can attend Alimacani. I like the teacher involvement to improve children knwledge. My kids are very comfortable in the transition from Miami-Dade County to Alimacani.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My Oldest daughter had to repeat Kindergarten because she has Asperger Syndrome. Her teacher was wonderful. Found out that they are going to send ESE children back to their home schools and I know this will be so wrong to happen to her. She has excel to the best of her ablities. She has past to the 1st grade and now her sister is getting ready for school and I hope they both go to Alimacani Elementary. I feel they will do so much better at Alimacani instead of their home school. Alimacani is there for the student and not the money that they get from the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My son is in Kindergarten at Alimacani and we couldn't be happier. His teacher is wonderful and this is her first year of teaching! We have had nothing but great experiences with the staff and other teachers. I feel the academic program is good, but lacks somewhat for gifted children. There is not much in the way of sports or other extracurricular activities. The level of parent involvement is huge and I think a must these days. I have heard people say negative things about the new principal, however had not had any personal experiences. This is our first year, but I don't think she has done anything or made any changes without the best interests of the children in mind. We look forward to the years to come and hope it only gets better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

My youngest child attended school at Alimacani for three years. An excellent school where the is a school where the children come first. Children are encouraged to do their best. The teachers my daughter had were highly skilled and worked hard to bring out the best in our daughter. The administration department was organized and efficient from the principal on down. I highly recommend this school to any parents of elementary aged children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Academic program is very challenging. Be prepared to feel as though you are repeating elementary school as you assist your child with some of the assignments/projects. A lot of new young teachers. Not much offered regarding sports, but music and art are introduced. High level of parent involvement expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

My son has been at Alimacani for almost 4 years now and on a whole, I like the school very much. We have recently encountered some conduct problems that I think the teacher is just not prepared to handle. Music and Arts are limited, but enough to introduce these areas to the children. There's always some event going on at the school which helps children feel that school is not just about academics. Huge parent involvement, makes for a good environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

great school,teachers are wonderful the staff is amazing!! Parents are very involved and i have enjoyed having my son be apart of such a great enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Great school, great teachers, great academics and activities. Parents stay very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

I moved to Duval County from St. Johns County. I thought I was going to be sending my child to private school based on information I had received from other parents about public schools. Once I met the principal and some teachers at Alimacani and learned about their school I decided to send my child there. I made the best decision. My child went from an average student, A's, B's and C's to straight A's. The teachers and the cirriculum were phenominal. I will say that this particular school is one of the best schools I have ever seen. We moved to ensure that she will continue at Alimacani through fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

My older children went to Alimacani in Kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade. The teachers were hit or miss. One year they had a good teacher the next year horrible. We took them out and put them in another public magnet school and the teachers have been excelent every year but one (for one of my children). We have our younger daughter on the waiting list for the magnet school but, she must attend Alimacani in the interim. We have asked for a specific teacher there however, we will not know until next fall if the principal will grant our teacher reaquest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Great school! My son had a very positive experience in this school. His teachers were excellent in working with him and working to keep me informed. The school office is always very helpful with is a direct reflection of the school. I was very pleased with the manor in which the school handled disruptive kids. Thanks for the positive experience for my child and nyself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Just wanted to say how pleased i am with alimacani. I think that the school is wonderful! they are fully involved with the children and in my opinion care for them the same way the would care for their own children. My son started kindergarten this year and i am amzed at how much he has learned-he is reading already!! the parent involvement with this school and the children is awsome. In my opinion i could not ask for anything better for my child. Thanks alimacani!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

Alimacani has an excellent curriculum; however, the class sizes are too large. The school averages in smaller sized classes (i.e. spec. ed.) to say that they are meeting the required class sizes. The K teachers have up to 24 kids, and they are without full time assistants.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

My child attended last year and it was a good experience but I was very upset to find the size of his new classroom! This year it is the size of a storage closet (18 students) with no windows no computers and no space for the essentials like backpacks or storage of supplies. This may be a A school but it receives a F from me and my family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

This school used to be great! My second daughter is going here now and the quality has decreased by at least 50% -- I would like to get the old school back, considering putting my daughter in a private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2003

Discipine is not consistent nor is it carried out in a timely manner. Discpline is not always clear to the child either. There is no art program, that falls to the already over tasked teachers. We have been with Alimacanifor 4 years and the quality of the school has decreased each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 11%
Black 10%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%65%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2051 San Pablo Road South
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 221-7101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eunice Christian School
Jacksonville, FL



Providence School
Jacksonville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT