Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alimacani Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 779 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2014

Our granddaughter is in fourth grade and has been in Alimacani since kindergarten. She has had wonderful teachers all the way. We couldn't be happier with a public school. We wish she could continue through 12th grade with this school and staff. We highly recommend it.


Posted October 2, 2014

My son did 2 years in Kindergarten and he is now in 5th grade. This scholl is like his extended family. I wish he never had to leave the staff of Alimacani!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2014

Most of the teachers are wonderful, yet the school has a big problem with favoritism, especially the children of teachers/admin. If they showed more equality at the school, the atmosphere and opportunity for ALL students would greatly improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

My first born son attended Alimacani from 2000 - 2004. When we moved out of state, he was above grade level thanks to the wonderful teachers. Fast Forward to 2012, my youngest enters Alimacani as a kindergartner and the teachers, extended day team and even teachers assistants remembered us! No, not that we were problems ( lol), my son was always an honor student....they remembered because they truly care about the kids. my youngest is now in the 1st grade and is a straight "E" student. His grades started to slip in math and the teacher called ME! So good to know they care as much as I do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I have had 4 children go to this school and all have done well.I will say the lunch had gone down hill my daughter in 4th grade (she's the youngest) refuses to buy lunch so I was curious and went there to buy lunch and eat with her, and let me say it was bad and I see sadly alot of kids throw there lunch away that's probably the biggest complaint but the teachers have always been helpful some more then others but it it's a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Love this school! From the moment you walk in you feel that caring and loving atmosphere, your kid will get an encouraging smile before they enter the classroom. The best Pre-K staff who you can tell are not there because their paycheck, they're devoted to what they're doing! My son loves to go there every day and adores Ms Brodeen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

Love this school my daughter to Because all stuff at this school are so caring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Loved the staff at this school, and my kids learned a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Because they are so caring and devote all their energy to teacing the children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

The school is great and couldn't ask for better teachers. My 2 older one have gone there and in middle school now i just don't think 5th graders are really prepared when they go to 6th that's a whole new ballgame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

The school is ever improving. The staff is one of a kind. They will go to any lengths to assist a child there & the parents. My son is in the 4th grade and has been there since kindergarten. I have been very active in volunteering and accepted with opened arms. I can not say enough good about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

The PreK program at this school is amazing! My son has learned so much, and the teachers are so loving and caring. The communication between parents and teachers is the best I have seen. I am proud to say my son attends the school and that K.Kirton is the best asset they have!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My Daughter has attended Alimacani Elementry since Kindergarten and I have had nothing but great success. My daughter has advanced in her learning very well and any issues I have had have been addressed with personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

Both my children attended Alimacani. They also both struggled with their academics and repeated a grade. With the extra support that they received from some of their teachers they are making great achievement. The teachers, support staff and parent involvement are wonderful. We will miss everyone so much. Thanks for everything you have done. Ms. Park, Ms. Kirkham, Ms. Hope, Ms. Reed and Ms. Beaty...you all rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I love Alimacani! Mrs Backfisch is the best teacher I could have asked for. My daughter has excelled beyond my wildest dreams under Mrs. Backfisch! She needs to be teacher of the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I have two children at alimacani and one on the way and have nothing but great things to say about the teachers and staff. They go the extra mile and thats why we are an 'a' school. I would not move out of this district because of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

My son has attended this school since he was in K. I love the office staff, & his teachers throughout the school years have been very helpful & caring. I am not unhappy with this school at all. I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My son attended Alimacani for K and 1st grade and I would not recommend it to anyone! The school is huge yet my son's class is the size of a closit with no windows. The teacher he has for First grade is not bad but she is not in the class most days because she is still taking classes herself! So my son is being tought by a substitute a lot of the time which is causing inconsistency in his learning. This to me is unfair to my son and his classmates and unsatisfactory for an 'A' rated public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I have an 11 yr old and a 9 yr old at this school. I have been more than satisfied with their teachers with each progressing year. We've dealt with Mrs. Tuten, Mrs. Kirton, Mrs. Sloan, Mrs. Ingram and Mrs. Parker. The principal, Mrs. Stalls, is very involved with the kids and is a very kind and approachable lady.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My daughter has gone to Alimacani now for 4 years and we both love this school. The entire staff is supportive and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 11%
Black 10%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%65%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2051 San Pablo Road South
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 221-7101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eunice Christian School
Jacksonville, FL



Providence School
Jacksonville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT