Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mandarin Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

66 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2007

I'm a student at Mandarin Middle. This is a great school and I've had an awesome time here. It has great teachers especially on the Xtreme Hawk. I am in 7th grade and look forward to 8th grade but it is sadly the last year and I will miss Mandarin Middle
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2007

While considered an A-rated school, I found Mandarin Middle to be subpar. The teachers are overworked and the administration is unresponsive to parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

This school is an awesome school and the principal and all of the teachers and facilty are great!I am very proud to be able to go to a school as wonderful as this one!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

I moved to this school last year and I'm in the 8th grade this year. I'm in the gifted program, or 'Xtreme' Hawk. I have so much fun and I'm really glad I'm there. It's a beautiful, fun and very active school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

My daughter loves this school and the office staff are super friendly too. The car riders pickup areas are a hassle sometimes because alot of people these days have no manners! Other wise its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

i love this school so much. the teachers are great.its excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

I am very pleased with Mandarin Middle School. My son has attend 6th, 7th, and 8th grade there. My son struggled in the 7th grade but with the help from his teachers in the 8th grade, my son is an A-B student. I would like to give a special thanks to Ms. Moses for the everything she did to keep my son on track this year, and Ms. Richardson for allowing my son to come in early to make up work. The teachers are more than willing to help the kids if the kids are willing to help themselves. Keep up the good work Mrs. Rollo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

Our experience at MMS has been very positive. The school has 1800 but class sizes are around 20.They do not offer very many clubs but the general education has been very good. The teachers care and problem students are dealt with or removed. Adv classes should be held for students in the areas they achieve and regular for the ones they don't. Not an all or nothing attitude. Too bad Florida doesn't do away with FCAT it is a bad way to evaluate students.This what is used for advanced classes, come on its one test! Safety is not an issue at this school. Very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

We have found this to be a pretty good school despite what some said a few years ago. The teachers are concerned about the students and do well with what they have. These early releases and having to constantly teach 'Passing the FCAT' is ruining our children's education though. Also, to discuss your child's progress, having to meet with all the teachers as a group is not comfortable, therefore avoided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

Well-run, over-crowded but every school in any city of any size is these days.Teachers interact with students and the community. Excellent program for physically/mentally challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

The leadership is lacking at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

We are very pleased with Mandarin Middle School. My son has attended MMS since 6th grade and is currently in the 8th grade. He takes advanced classes and has had a wonderful team of teachers for all his years here. He plays football, basketball, and baseball for MMS. They also offer swimming, soccer and volleyball. Our son has many friends that are in the honor society at the school. We have known many parent volunteers. The school also offers a morning and afternoon homework assistance program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I'm very disappointed with MMS.There is no guidance as far as principal and parent and teachers w/parents. My son is two grades behind I've asked for help so many times I can't remember and do not know what else to do. The assistant principle is very unknowledgable when it comes o knowing what is best for a student . I'm at wits end and have a daughter that is just beginning there. If your student doesn't make straight A's they could care less. I'm wanting to move because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Mandarin Middle school is extremely overcrowded. This makes for many discipline problems. Communication from the school to parents is very poor. Parents are not notified of incidents, usually end up reading about them in the local newspaper. Seems to be poor morale among teachers - overcrowding may have a lot to do with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

This school is terrible and we should have researched it more before moving to the area within this district. This school offers very limited Art and Music electives. The teachers do not seem to be concerned with the children's education, more about the children's physical appearance. Teachers do not send letters home or even contact the parent if there is an academic problem, and sometimes do not even notify you when there is a 'behavior' problem. Good thing my daughter is in 8th grade and the year is almost over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

This is a large school serving this area. The academic program were better than most in the city with availability of music and art classes for your child. Teachers are caring and provide students with a sound learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

We moved here from NC and based on statistics and local info had been told this was the best middle school in Jacksonville. What a disappointment. The 8th grade curriculum is terrible. No computer classes, no foreign language. This is a very large school (approx. 2,000 students) and very few teachers seem inspired. Some of my child's teachers seem like they are just passing time until something else comes along. Also, there seems to be more safety issues than at other schools we have been involved with. Not enough communication with parents as to school happenings. No regular newsletters. We cannot wait for this year to be over - just wish we had looked in surrounding counties before moving into this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Excellent quality of program. Great parent involvement. My son loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Despite the size of this school, there is a 'can do attitude.' Many of the faculty have been at MMS for years which adds to the stability of the school. Wonderful 'Gifted' program. Very active PTA and volunteer programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

We had a very unsatisfactory time with Mandarin Middle. I put my child in private school. The bullying at this is school is unbelievably bad. The administrators need more training in how to handle this situation. If you have child at this school be sure you stay involved and aware of what is going on. They even had my child in class for learning challenged when he had never even been tested. When we were finally aware this was going on alot of time had been lost. They apologized but it was a mistake that was hard to correct. It is not easy to afford the private school but we are glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

432 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

475 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Black 16%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. DEBORAH SMITH
Fax number
  • (904) 260-5415

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Hood Road
Jacksonville, FL 32257
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 292-0555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Christ's Church Academy
Jacksonville, FL



San Jose Academy
Jacksonville, FL


St Joseph Catholic School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT