Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mandarin High School

Public | 9-12 | 2590 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2006

My son went there his senior year. He said it was okay. He liked most of his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

Mandarin high school is probably the worst school in the district. The school is run by the most incompetent people I have ever met and worst of all they don't fix the problems with the students. And other than two or three teachers most of them are horrible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2005

MHS is a large school and has been a large school since day 1. That, unfortunately, poses some challenges but overall, I think they have been dealt with fairly well over the years. I had two children graduate from MHS. They both did very well, were well prepared for college and were happy with their HS experience. We found the teachers to be caring, involved and some of the best in the area. Parent involvement was welcome and encouraged. Admittedly, the guidance office experience often left much to be desired. Over time I have learned that parent satisfaction with any school is often directly related to how well their student is doing. Perhaps that is to be expected. I do not understand where the school/prison design comment came from. MHS and First Coast High School are of the same design and modeled after a HS in Ft, Myers, FL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Great academic as well as atheletic and extracuricular activities. Parent involvement is high and overall well satisfied with the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2005

Administration demonstrates lack of judgment in teacher-student relationships. They foster an environment which hinders creativity and doesn't empower teachers to take reasonable risks. This negatively impacts the quality of the academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

After transfering from Sandalwood High School, Mandarin was practically a private school. The teachers are very concerned with their students and quick to contact you if your student is at risk. There are plenty of extracurriculars, IF you have transportation. None is provided on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2005

I think that this is a quality school. The school has an excellence academic program and the school promotes the enhancement of all its students. There are a variety of academic program offered to the students and the overall atmosphere seems to be pleasant. The adminstration can alway be seen on campus talking with students. The students seem to get along with the faculty and staff. The community involvement is great and the PTA at the school is excellent. Although, the school is tremedously overcrowded the school seems to handle the problem pretty well. The teachers all seem to be upbeat and satisfied with their job. There seems to be a tremedous amount of after school programs offered to the students like drama, sports, safety net programs, chess club, scholar bowl, and many other opportunities for the students to shine.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2005

Mandarin High is a large school. Lots of sports. Seems to be a good high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

This school is horrible. Some of the teachers are okay, but the way the school is run is ridiculous. The administration focuses more on stupid things like dress code and that kind of nonsense, and generally ignore the concerns of the students. I was there for two years and hated every moment of it. To me, a dress code is necessary, but they really went overboard and were way too uptight about little things and not concerned enough with the education of the students. This is a school where a lot of students can fall into the cracks, and the administration desperately needs to evaluate their priorities. I got so frustrated with the lack of academic emphasis that I begged my parents to let me be homeschooled, but I ended up having to graduate from Mandarin. I'm just glad I'm out of there. And their band is pathetic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2004

Very disatisfactory experience. I now home school. Staff has too much to do and not enough time to do it in. Kids suffer. Public, government, education at its best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

To many students packed in to to small an area. It seems that the administration has very little concern for student achievement. CLass selection and assignment is troubling due to the excessive number of students at the school. Duval county needs another high school in the southern portion of the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I presently have 2 daughters enrolled at Mandarin High. My oldest being a senior this year and is the President of the student body, I must commend this school in all aspects as my children enjoy attending school there and as a parent I never hear negative comments from them regarding their education or school problems. They arise in the morning and look forward to going to school! I offer praise to all the teachers and the principal for their hard work and am a very content parent knowing my girls are in a safe place getting a great education! Thank you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

I was very disappointed with this school. The teachers seem to give up too easily and the other staff seem to not be concerned with the students. I would never recommend this school to anyone. The fact that it was designed after a state prison was enough to turn me off of the school completely. The few decent teachers that were there finally were transferred to better posititions at other facilities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2004

We are new to the area, and this is my child's first year at MHS. She is very happy with all aspects of the school, as am I. She is getting excellent instruction and has many opportunities for growth. We are very satisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

My child is in his fiorst year at Mandarin and he has been offered drugs on more than one occasion. I want to know what is being done about this situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

594 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

586 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

604 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

692 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

569 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

496 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

660 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Black 15%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 81%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%65%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DONNA RICHARDSON
Fax number
  • (904) 260-5439

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4831 Greenland Road
Jacksonville, FL 32258
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 260-3911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Christ's Church Academy
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT