Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

First Coast High School

Public | 9-12 | 2315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2008

As a father of two high school students, I have to put two cents in. This is a horrible school. The administration does not care. The teachers are scared of the students. The only subject that gets any attention is the FCAT. If you can find away to afford a private school, I would do it. It is your child's future, don't gamble with it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I'm currently a Junior at First Coast. I've read some of the previous reviews of the school and I just had to add my input. First Cosat is not perfect, we all know that. First Coast is trying their hardest! The reason I barely had a math teacher for the first 2 years is because some students terrorized the teachers so much, they didn't want to work there anymore. It's not always the teachers! It's some students and even some of the parents. Cause if their children was raised up right, they wouldn't act stupid in school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I agree with the last poster that it has potential, but they took too long to get it together. I pulled my child after one year due to negative influences around her causing her to behave uncharacteristicly. The day we tried to withdraw her, they told us we'd have to come back because they had to focus their attention on the fights that had just occured. I knew then that we had made the right decision. She is now in a private school and thriving. I do continue to suppport FCHS and pray for its success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

First Coast High School has great potential. It will take participation from all parties working together; administrators, teachers, students, parents and the community. I must say as a parent I worry about all my children's safety at 'any' school. I have yet to find a school that doesn't have problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I found the curriculum limited and archaic, the administration clueless and the involvement of parents with teachers extremely frustrating. Often it took up to 3 weeks for teachers to respond to concerns and only after harassing them on a daily basis and calling the district office were my calls answered. Safety is a major concern. I would not recommend this school to any parent that cares about their child s education. I would go as far as warning of any public school in the Duval County school board control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

I just graduated from first coast. We have had great administration over my 4 years there.First Coast is a developing school who has so many open doors for welling students to take.But, over the past year we have had student from troubled schools come to FCHS.We have exceptional departments that open students to so many different opportunities.I can honestly say that the teachers do care.We were on the news a few times but i must say it was not the whole truth! Half the time its truly stupid kids trying to get attention.So,if your child is going to FCHS..get involved! because it could just be your child without the name on the news starting trouble...
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

I'm going into my Junior Year here and I don't like it at all. The classes are mediocre and misleading, such as the computer business skills class. It's just learning to type and nothing else. They don't even have classes for programming as something simple as php. The average student's attitude in this school are to not get involved in any AP classes (if you can call them that) and at least get the lowest possible grades to pass onto the next grade. No wonder the school average is still a D. I wish I could go to a better school, but there are none in my region without driving 45 min to another school just as bad as First Coast. At least the people you meet are mostly decent. But there's still a lot of violence going on almost every week. I give this school a 1 out of 5.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I moved here from NC a few years ago and now im a sophmore. My freshman year I signed up to be apart of the Swim Team and the Chorus the chorus is one of the best in the stateand our swimteam s rerally good.I feel that it is really easy to make friends it just depends on who you hang with, if you want to make a lot of friends join the Chorus because I have made so many in there. I feel that the AP classes are a waste of time so just take Honor classes and maeby some classes @ FLVS.net (thier free). And when you become a jounier take classes @ FCCJ it counts for HS and College and its free college!!!!. Now our school isnt ther most peaceful but we still have an abundance of security and trying thier best to keep us safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

I think the teachers involved that I have been involed is very good and they care. It is the students that have been let in the school that is the problem. The line is ok it is the students that got the passes that is causing most of the problems. Rating is 3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

this is a horrible school do not send your child here if you have a choice. since i have been in this school we have had 2 race wars 2 riots and a uncountable amount of fights the teachers are good but the women who run the houses and main office are extremely disrespectful to both students snd parents the teachers are usually good and try to do their jobs but are hinderd by direspectfull students. there a whole lot of theft, drug usage, sex and alcohol i mean i could go to school and buy some grey goose,weed, and a stolen ipod .make love in the bathroom or hallways depending on who you hang with for under $75 i mean it's not that hard but hey you can believe me or not it's your childs future
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2008

Extremely great school! Love the principal and the enviroment and the softball team is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

The school has its problems. Students are very disrespectful. It has been fun though...in large parts due to CDR Jacobson, Senior Chief Briley and Major Wirkus in the NJROTC program. In my opinion all students should take it, for the fact that it instills responsibility and respect for leaders and adults, others and yourself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

i went to this school, i came from pa and it was a big change. the students were disrespectful and out of control and the teachers did not teach how they should...mostly the math department.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

I am a concerned parent and father of a son that had the poteintial to be an academic college student and was totally ruined by this environment in this school. I must say that the assistant principal was very eger to listen and cared to get to the bottom of the problems surrounding my son. In my opinion, if you are a parent in this area and care of your child's growth. Then you better be very observational with them. Get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

First Coast High School is definitely moving in the right direction. The FCAT scores are showing progress. 10th grade FCAT Writes scores were higher than previous years. Our Advanced Placement student enrollment increased by more than 200% this past year as we continue to increase rigorous course offerings. We will add AP Music History as an example. The new principal is an upbeat disciplinarian and an even better instructional leader. The students know who their principal is and respect him! Chorus and Band programs are outstanding! Athletics are thriving! Several student athletes received scholarships last year and several have committed to college for next year already. The football team will play their first game on ESPN this year in South Carolina. The school will also receive a multi million dollar indoor Olympic size pool this year. It is a great time to be a First Coast Buccaneer!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 31, 2007

This school has many issues. Beginning with the staff letting the students over run the school. The children wear what they want, use foul language and have no respect for others. The staff tolerates this behavior from some students, yet others are singled out. There is more drugs and weapons on this campus then what the staff realizes. The vehicles in the parking lot have contraband as well. As far as Academics the teachers are so overwhelmed with over crowding there is no high standards, the motto 'just do what you can, you may or may not pass.' My children suffered from attending this school. If your child is or is not involved in sports there are certain groups of students that are glorified. The atmosphere always seems negative at this school. Of course we as parents have helped them bounce back to the standards they are accustom to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I go to first coast and think it is a horrible school. The academics there are horrible
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2006

We are new here from another state and I've researched many area high schools. First Coast doesn't rank well and was not my choice. Unfortunately we are stuck due to districting. My daughter is doing well but that's not really saying much. She is not being challenged at all. Only one of her teachers seems to care, also does the Green House administrator. If Duval County schools can produce a Paxon and a Stanton, why can't they share the wealth! Most of the Jacksonville High Schools are average or below average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My son has attended First Coast for his entire high school years; we were very concerned to take him out of an excellent arts magnet school and put him in the local school because of moving to the area. We did want him to develop friendships locally however. Most his teachers have been excellent; we know of one that will make herself available to tutor students on a Saturday to better prepare them for an AP exam. My son has been in chorus since 9th grade; he is a Senior; the chorus program is second to none. The instructor is superb and the chorus is top notch. It is a pleasure to attend their concerts. To see parental involvement in action, the chorus boosters operate a concession at the Jag games. There are about 30-50 parents working hard to support the chorus. A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

The Academics are average and the availability of the the sports are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

580 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

560 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

554 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

581 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

360 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
16%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

374 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
69%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

460 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
41%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 54%
White 35%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 70%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ALVIN BRENNAN
Fax number
  • (904) 696-8721

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

590 Duval Station Road
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 757-0080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL


The Little Country School
Jacksonville, FL


Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT