Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,110 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
77 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 104 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


First Coast High School 1

Posted October 20, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are horrible to being with and the justice is terrible I'm a student and I've been robbed threatened and followed around this school and they don't do anything they view the victim as the suspect and find the easiest way to blame it on the victim so that they don't have to do the work they don't follow up they don't know how to do their job and they allow things to happen even when you go to them about the threats I don't recommend this school what so ever just spare your child's scaring and send them some where else I absolutely don't like this school they call them selves a school well in my opinion there full of sh*t I'd give it no stars if I could !

First Coast High School 2

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
The purpose of this school is to process kids through it as quick as possible. Whether they learn or not. In an out in 4 years that's the goal. College readiness is not the goal. I guess we can t do anything but leave the county, for a better education or pay a private school.


First Coast High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Ms Whitehead, Thank you! for being honest sincere and not making me waste my time.

First Coast High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Teachers carry a big burden it is very hard to teach over 25 students per class.

First Coast High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Every day I ask my son (yes although he is in high school I ask) and 90% of the time is no


First Coast High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
School is only interested in processing students and trowing them out into the real word without the proper tools so they are basically promoting quitting attitude.

First Coast High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Don't have any good or bad experiences in this category. Some of the students are respectful some are nuot

First Coast High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Two students were murdered, outside of school but next Monday it was business as usual.


First Coast High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Football has a better budget than the entire school, recruiting for football takes precedence to all else.

First Coast High School 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
This Principal has little control of the staff and is terribly disorganized. The Principal of the school, Dr Brennan met with me on two occasions. On one of these we were interrupted five times in the first few minutes by other staff members coming into the office for various reasons. Both times Dr. Brennen was going to get back with me within a week and neither time did he ever do so. Teachers refuse to return calls as well. The staff refers to any parents attempting to participate and show interest as "The peanut gallery." My son's medical documents were lost three times. Staff members catching students with drugs just take the drugs and tell the child not to do it again. I wonder where the drugs end up. Students make drug transactions in plain view of others because of lack of interest by staff. Student fights are almost a daily occurrence. While claiming to want to make academics his leading task it appears that this school goes to great lengths to recruit athletes from other schools. It appears that Dr. Brennen's lack organization and perhaps feckless managerial skills has turned an A school to a D school in his short time here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

First Coast High School
590 Duval Station Road, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 757-0080
Last modified First Coast High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
First Coast High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 104 reviews. Top