Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 72 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


80 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


First Coast High School 2

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
I agree with another parent about trying to be involved and getting nowhere with the staff. Last year my son was in 9th grade and I made multiple attempts to meet with the guidance counselor. First two calls went to voice mail, which was full, so I couldn't leave a message. Third call I left a message but never received a phone call in return. Emailed each of his teachers and only received a response from two. One was Luke warm at best, while the other was very supportive. Front office staff is extremely rude when you have questions and they can rarely give you an answer. ROTC is their only saving grace for my child. If your child is highly motivated to get high grades, they will probably be fine. But if your child is like so many other kids, they all not be supported and encouraged and parent involvement seems almost unwelcome.

First Coast High School 4

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
This is an A school. The teachers and students have worked hard to strive for a school grade that reflects the achievements of the students, not public opinion. If you ever really want to know what happens in a school get involved by doing more than complaining and making phone calls, show up for school events or volunteer. Spend some time really getting to know the wonderful students in this school for yourself. Many awards, scholarships (both academic and athletic), industry certifications, early college classes, are all accomplished by the students at this school.


First Coast High School 2

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
I just started attending this school. There are uncertified teachers here who don't know anything. One teacher asked me to correct his mistakes because when I came to the school i knew the concepts. Its the beginning of the second nine weeks and the class is on the 2nd week of school work because the teachers for the class kept quitting. Very unorganized. Kids are disobedient and hinders learning for those who want to.

First Coast High School 1

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
Awful. Extremely disorganized, staff and guidance shows no care, interest, or respect for students, poor teaching that causes problems when taking standardized/AP tests, security guards that show favoritism and allow certain kids to skip classes, a general feeling of incompetence and lack of safety. Not to mention the blatant racial prejudice shown by the staff and majority of students. Overall, awful experience. If you want your child to receive a quality education in a safe environment, this is not the school for them.

First Coast High School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a student
first coast high school is a wonderful school . but the dress code is wayyyy to strict hopefully that would change this year


First Coast High School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
First Coast High school is a Five Star place of learning. I give the school its stars by the location of the school and the disciplinary of their students. If respect is not present among the staff and student the learning is in vain within our society.

First Coast High School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a student
First Coast High School is the school that my whole family has graduated from. Everyone says the school is horrible and saying how the teachers don't care, how we fight every day, or how it's not safe. Our teachers do care. I'm going into the 10th grade, and my freshman year was great. The teachers knew we were scared about entering highschool and they did everything they could to help us feel at home. I was in the AP/Honors program and my teachers did everything to help me and other students get ready for my exams and the FCAT. Next, we don't fight every day. We may have a few fights every week but it's not everyday. Wherever you hear that, they're over exaggerating. Another thing, First Coast is one of the safest schools. You can't walk out of a classroom without running into security. They make sure that students are where they're supposed to be. So stop putting the school down, and learn the truth. Just because our grade is bad, doesn't mean it's a bad school. First Coast is like home to a lot of students, especially me. The faculty are like parents and care for the students. Send your child to First Coast and have them join the family, they'll love it and so will you.

First Coast High School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a community member
First Coast is a wonderful school! Teachers care about their students, and want them to succeed. There are bad apples at any school, don't let that 1% prevent your child from attending one of the best schools in Duval County!


First Coast High School 1

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
I wouldn't suggest this school to my worst enemy. I have talked to guidance counselors who were clueless. All this school is concerned with is winning football games. They could careless about the children's education, although I have met with some teachers who long to do more but can't. The classrooms are overcrowded and some of the teachers are only there to collect a paycheck. My daughter did her freshman year in HS in Illinois and due to having to relocate because of my job, my daughter's experience in high school has taken a turn for the worse and as a parent who is much involved with my children's education. I am highly disappointed. My daughter completed her 9th grade in Illinois, came to First Coast and they still registered her in the 9th grade when she was suppose to be in 10th and haven't fixed it yet as they said they would and she is suppose to be entering her senior year. This mess is crazy!

First Coast High School 1

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Because this is our neighborhood school and we didn t want to bus our kid into a magnet school we gave First Coast High a try. I would not recommend this school if your child s education is important to you. If your kid goes to school because you are required by law to make them go then this school will help your child get by. If your child wants to make something of them self in life, find another school even if it means bussing into a magnet school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

First Coast High School
590 Duval Station Road, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 757-0080
Last modified First Coast High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
First Coast High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 80 reviews.