Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 | 1166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2010

When i first came here, i thought it was the best school ever! but time has passed & a lot has changed! For one thing, the high school basically took all the middle school freedom! i'm in the 8th grade and i always looked forward to this year so i can act like i'm the head of this school but the high school just messes it up. They take all our dances and we have to share our activities with them which isn't fair. The school is soo boring right now that it doesn't make no since! We dont even get a pep rally 4 FCAT! :( but if i was writing this 3 years ago i would give it 5 stars
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2010

This school is somewhat a good school. I am :} that our school has a high school but they made it bad for the middle school kids. We now don't have a nice good track or field and also no tennis court. I will not be attending the high school next year because the fact is, now its just now building up, but I would want to stay because of the medical program. Also this school have some good teachers but some teachers have to be more involved with the students instead they just give them loads of work.Overall this is a good school but need some improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

My son is in 6th grade valients team. Teachers are the best and in particular Dr. davis of world history and Mr. Gefen of pre algebra are the best teachers. Regularly, I cross check with teaching method, teachers involvement and attitude of other magnet middle schools in Duval county and I must say that we took right decision to put my son in Darnell-cookman. The school has great decipline as compare to other middle schools and it is much more easy to communicate through email with all teachers, parents co-ordinator and office staff. So far my experince goes, this is the best magnet middle school in Duval county (no doubt).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I graduated from this school last year. I was on the gifted team for the 3 years I attended that school and I was in the medical program. Most of the teachers were phenomenal. There was at least one teacher a year that had corrupted ways of teaching but all the teachers were very friendly and willing to help with anything. From personal experience, I have to say the 8th grade Runics team was by far my favorite. As for the medical program, it was one of the best experiences of my life. I acquired so much knowledge in that class. One overall flaw with the school is that it doesn't prepare you for high school as well as they claim to. Overall an amazing school with an exceptional medical program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2009

I'm an 8th grade student at darnell cookman. I have found this school to be very good. the school challenges you, and the medical program is great. I myself is in the medical program. I do plan to go to darnell for highschool because the school is affiliated with shands, which is affiliated with UF and UF has already told teachers they want students from darnell. I love this school and the sports are good, clubs are fun, and the after school program 'team-up' is really great if you need tutoring in a subject!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

I am a gifted student at this school and I luv it! My dad is an 8th grade gifted geometry teacher here. My only prob is the homework. Too much sometimes! But, other than that, the school rocks! :-D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

Darnell Cookman is a medical magnet that offers children a great introduction to the medical field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

i love theschool ad mr.betancort hes th best im in 6 grade and made friend at first sight lol i love it here you will to hopefully its the best one ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2009

This school has very poor communication skills between the parents & teachers. When my daughter was in the sixth grade, there were school notes that we could use to monitor their assignments. In seventh grade, parents had to chase after teachers just to communicate. For all the kids who are presently attending there, good luck. I am placing my daughter in a better enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

My children enjoy this school but it is not what it is made out to be. I have been very disappointed in the communication. Issues that I believe to need attention must not be important to the vice principal or teachers because I have not heard from the ones I have tried to contact. It is very frustrating. Some teachers are excellent. Others are quite disorganized and not interested in parent involvement. Communication with teachers is difficult because some use email, others don't. Some used school notes, some don't. Some have emails at the duvals schools site while others are still on dreams begin here. It is frustrating for parents who are used to enjoying easy access to teachers and administration. The athletic facilities are poor and the coaching is questionable. They offer many clubs, but the activity bus takes 2 hours to drop my kids near home. Ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

For gifted students only: i'm a sixth grade student and i'm in gifted. This school is really fun. The work is hard and there is allot of homework, but we do fun experiments and we have viking days (viking days are days when classes are 30 min. And at the end of the day we just hang out with friends). The teachers are really nice and they all have different personalities so your bound to like one of them. Mrs.Looper is really fun, you'll love her.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

Extremely poor communication, teachers habitually do not return parent calls. What a disappointment!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

well i graduated from this school last year. and god it's changed a lot lately. now it's considered SoMA (school of medical arts) but when i went there it was just an advanced/gifted school. all in all, the school's okay i guess... some teachers may get on your nerves and not teach you as much, but when you get to high school, you'll miss them. trust me. sorry to say it, but i dont think that this school really prepares you for high school as much as they emphasized it would. but it's still good to go to because it will look good on your college applications.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

This School is not so Good that is my opinion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I love this school! i am in the 8th grade gifted program, and i think that i have learned beyond what i thought i could learn. It has become my home away from home, and darnell cookman pushes me to work harder and better. This is an excellent choice of middle school if you are willing to work hard enough :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

This school is amazing! I'm on the Gifted Runics Team, and I am very appreciative of my teachers, Mr. Douthett (Science), Ms. Stansel (US History), Ms. Bolton (French), Mrs. Clancy (English), and Mr. Felice (Geometry). They are unbelievable. Also, Mrs. Looper, a teacher for the 6th grade Eagles, is phenomonal. She is probably the most hard-working teacher alive. She does so much for her students. I absolutely love this school, and it has prepared me for life and college. Next year, I am going to be attending Stanton, in the IB program, because of this wonderful school that pushed me to the limit in the gifted program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

My son is a gifted SOMA student at Cookman. from preschool to third grade he attended private school and was taught with the Beka system. Public school has been a challenge for him in certain subjects but he is finally starting to get comfortable. His writing skills have vastly improved. The teachers are awesome. He's on the Eagles team and I really appreciate the communication between Teacher and parents. When I got his first Progress Report I almost fainted, but his teachers are very helpful and concerned enough to help identify his deficiencies and offer tips on improving his grades. I utilize phone calls, emails and Schoolnotes.com. I am very pleased with the group of teachers that my son have. I give this school and the administrative staff Five stars. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I'm currently an 8th grade student at Darnell, and I have to admit really didn't like it Darnell in 6th grade. I guess it was just the change of schools, not knowing anyone, and I had some personal problems at home as well. But, coming back to 7th grade was AWESOME and of course I was a Wolf (best team in the world). My teachers Ms.Parker, Ms.Heaton, Mrs.Dellacrosse, and Mr.Pullen all prepared me greatly for eighth grade I am having barely any difficulties and I owe it to them. The only thing I would have to say about Darnell is people gossip...ALOT and it can really be annoying. Most of the students are nice you just really have to get to know them. The students are really helpful if you ask them how to do a problem they'll gladly help you, if not the teachers have tutoring at least once a week.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

My son has been attending this school and I must say, I am so dissapointed. We moved here a few years ago and every since I feel like we have been misled by these schools including magnet schools. First coast sent my son a brochure inviting him to join the AVID program when he was in the eighth grade. I was so happy because we were at a magnet school and had applied to Paxon but got put on a waiting list which meant he would have to attend his neighborhood school which was FCH, well he had to apply for this program and month's later we recieved a letter stating that he had been excepted we were so happy. The program was supposed to be for students who were college bound but needed help organizational skills and study habits. Tutors, College tours was suppose to be provided but that didn't
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

This school is Excellent!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

236 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

264 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
White 22%
Asian 19%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 100%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%65%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROL DANIELS
Fax number
  • (904) 630-6811

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 North Davis Street
Jacksonville, FL 32209
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 630-6805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Mt. Herman Ese Center
Jacksonville, FL


School For The Future
Jacksonville, FL


John E. Ford K-8 School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT