Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 | 1166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2008

darnell cookman is a great school. i have been there for three years and will continue to go there four more years being one of the first 150 students in darnell cookman school of medical arts. special thanks to ms.tenbroek, ms.pratt, nd mr. ertel
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

Memorizing all the 208 bones in the human body I thought was a challenge when I did it in college. My son who is 11 and in the 6th grade has to memorize all these bones by the end of this school year for his Medical elective. Tell me if this is not advanced. Awesome School is all I and he can say about Darnell Cookman Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My child attended this school for the 1st and 2nd quarter of this school year. This school did nothing to help my child. The administration is laid back, and do more socializing than what is expected. The wolves team should utilize email address, phone numbers and etc. to inform parents of academics as well. I felt the need to withdraw my child from this school this year because the teachers and administration displayed their lack of concern in helping me help my child get back on track. From the experience this school is not what it displays it really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

im a student that goes to darnell cookman and i switched to the school in the begining of the 3rd 9 weeks. i switched to darnell from jeb stuart and i think that darnell is sooooooooo much better the students are nicer and everyhting. at jeb we didnt do anything but play around in class and at darnell im learning a lot more and still having fun i school. so yes i think darnell cookman is a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2007

The school, this year, has been very unorganized and its staff focus has been off track. Academically, it's fine but the principle, security and administrators all need to do a better job. The extracurricular activities are fun and all have marvelous teachers, though students do not seem to be very interested. Parents are very much involved with the school from their child maintaining their grades to putting school events together. I've been attending Darnell since the 6th grade and now I am in the 8th and have been in the gifted program all three years. It is a lot of work, but still, the teachers keep it fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2007

I am a 7th garde student of Darnell in the AT program. This school is well organized, and it is very focused on learning. It is a very inviting school, welcoming to the new 6th graders into a warm enviroment. The teachers are very friendly, and the well known Mr. D. Meeks was my past 6th teahcer at Darnell. The school is geat! If you are looking for somewhere for yourself or your child to attend for Gifted, Medical Magnet Program, or AT, think about Darnell Cookman.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2007

An excellent school. My son just completed the 8th grade at D-C and the school accommodated his needs. The change in Administration was a breath of fresh air as the school finally has someone at the helm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

This school is the best in Florida! It has perfect communication,perfect teachers,great test scores,and the best sports teams.It has a great medical program and experienced teachers like Mr.Meeks.It is better than JWJ any day.one word PERFECT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2007

Darnell Cookman is an excellent school. I am in the Gifted program and my favorite teacher is Ms. Simmons, the 7th grade gifted language arts teacher. I make all A's and am in the national junior honor society. Any child that goes there must expect a lot of homework everynight, and it is necessary to work hard in order to achieve a high stature.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2007

I am very happy with the school, but not so happy with the afternoon bus services. I think there needs to be a better system and more parent input on the afternoon drop off service. I sent in a letter last year with no response on the bussing situation . Was happy with the teachers, but more input home would have been nice between report cards - email is a great tool and should be utilized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Absoultely a wonder school for children who are avove the norm. My oldest attended Darnell and is now gearing up for college. My youngest, enjoyed 6th grade and was very sad to leave when we moved. Mr Meeks is a great teacher who loves his students. I could always count on Mrs. Matthews if I was in need of anything concerning my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

My daughter has attended Darnell Cookman since 6th grade. It has been our first experience with public school. I found there was a dramitc difference between the academically talented and gifted programs. The teachers and the work load was a great deal better in the gifted program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2006

Great gifted/academically talented magnet school, great level of teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

highly academic.has lots of sports and art. the band class isn't all that great.the parents are highly involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

My child and I have had 3 very good years at DCMS The principle and the administrative saff were friendly and helpful. The academics were challenging but very well worth it. The teachers were highly skilled, well organized and took pride in their work. I enjoyed working with them knowning we were striving toward the same goals for my child. I thank DCMS teachers and staff for giving her the confidence and prepartions she will need to go to the next level. Overall I think DCMS is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

This is a great school with outstanding teachers [espically Mr.Colado].
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

My daughter attended D-C, before going on to Stanton College Prep. At the time she was in the Medical Magnet and in the accelerated studies program. Dr. J. Rudolph was the Medical advisor and was a wonderful teacher. He inspired and challenged each of his students. All the teachers were there for the kids and went the extra mile. Advisors were wonderful and worked closely with the parents and kids. The foundation, my child received made it possible for her to continue on in Sr. High into the IB program. As a first year college student, my daughter was able to start as a second semester sophomore. Though, she hasn't used it she received a full 100% Bright Futures Scholarship as well as others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

I have to admit I was concerned at first about sending my child to Darnell Cookman. But after the first 9 weeks...I felt I made the right decision. Darnell is truly a learning experience. They teach our children good study habits and they do try and make learning fun for the kids. My son has attended Darnell all 3 years. The teachers are great! I wish he could stay through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Initially, I was reluctant about DC because of community folk lore about the school's expectations. However, I am now pleased that I took the chance. My daughter performs incredibly well with the project focus and cooperative learning. She is becoming very savvy about connecting with teachers when she needs help and clarification. She is forced to organize her time wisely without much guidance(due to a couple of weeks of poor performance/readiness for tests). I only wish that communication to parents were a bit more sophisticated (ie, online or via monthly all-inclusive event calendars). But DC offers a wonderful school experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

I am not a parent. I am a student. The great thing about DC is that the teachers get more serious as the students progress. Their personalty is just lined up in a way that they are teaching the correct grade level. DC has many extracurricular activities involving different things from Guitar club to band practice to newspaper club, to chess club. That isn't the half of them. Darnell Cookman is a terrific school even though it might not be in a perfect fancy neighborhood it still has great security.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

236 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
White 22%
Asian 19%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 100%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%65%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROL DANIELS
Fax number
  • (904) 630-6811

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 North Davis Street
Jacksonville, FL 32209
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 630-6805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Mt. Herman Ese Center
Jacksonville, FL


School For The Future
Jacksonville, FL


John E. Ford K-8 School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT