Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 86 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


96 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 4

Posted June 18, 2014
- a community member
very rigorous and impossible to pass unless you have lots of time to study and the necessary dedication to pass.

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 2

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Your child must have the ability and maturity to learn on his/her own and keep up with the fast-paced workload. I finally will be pulling them next year, going to either private or a charter school. Unfortunately it has declined over the years. There are some major issues that need resolution. It just does not have the ability to provide an education for children anymore. To be honest, I think the school is putting more effort on a fake reputation, then the education and development of the children. My children have said for a long time that when visitors come to inspect what is going on they have to act as if nothing is wrong. With the increase of violence, lack of guidance, ridiculous class sizes (70+ students in the electives, I am not exaggerating!) and a large amount of students failing this school does not get my recommendation anymore. It is sad as they really have a great program for the medical arts. Please do your research, call the school board, ask about the dropout rate or how many students request to go back to their neighborhood schools. You would be shocked. These are not students that are unintelligent, etc. Many go from 4.0 GPAs to failing.


Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 4

Posted December 22, 2013
- a community member
Not exactly the best school ever, although perhaps good compared to some other schools. Some of the teachers are alright, but others either don't teach or don't seem to care. A lot of the better teachers and staff are leaving, though, and DC needs more clubs and the such. Also, to me there is too much focus on "medical" (so that students are watching bloody surgeries in 7th grade) and not enough on other aspects, which is why DC can't ever get past JWJ in competitions. Some of the teachers can be nice, though some of the kids aren't so great. That said, some of the kids and some of the teachers are also good, though DC isn't as good as I wanted it to be. And though it might not be the best school, there's still separation between Gifted and other students, and it has a magnet program, and it's still better than a lot of schools. It may be easier than JWJ for the middle school, though there aren't as many opportunities. There are also fewer sports available, and not as much school spirit as I'd like to see, perhaps because many of the people aren't being satisfied.

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 1

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
As a sixth grader starting school I really don't like the school it has bully it is just not a good school to go to for a sixth grade to start I just don't like the school I hate Darnell Cookman. Teachers don't keep track of time makes us late for our. Next class. Unprofessionalism.

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a community member
As a 9th grader at Darnell Cookman , i believe it's not such a bad school at all. Some people are complaining saying the teachers give too much work , well yeah i agree but do you realize every homework they give us , if you do it right , it's good for you . You succeeding at that school ensures you that you'll have a successful future. Some kids are complaining about how the high the high schoolers ruin the experience but i strongly disagree. If you don't step on their way and just go to your classes on time , then you don't have time for them to be 'bullying' you. Another thing , some complain about the teachers. As of now My teachers are Mr.percy (AP human geo) , he's alright. He gives you notes to take and if you do it right ,you will succeed in his class . The only teacher i don't like is mrs.roche and thats because she doesn't teach anything . She gives you classwork ,you do it ,GOOD !, you have a test next period. Anyways , Darnell cookman Is awesome , i mean , if you want an awesome future , then you'll love it


Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a community member
this school is cool ..I am a student at darnell and its a litte hard but there are people that help u like teachers and friends .

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 3

Posted April 20, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at DC for 4 years, she begged to attend high school there since she went through middle school. She regrets it very much. She has begged me to pull her out, but it is impossible at this point because of the magnet application process. I am afraid that she will lose her magnet opportunities. The HS vice principal does not ever listen to the children and he will always take the teacher's side no matter what. The principal is more involved I the middle school than the HS. They should separate the two schools and have two principals. Maybe that way they could put a little effort into the hs. The middle school experience was wonderful, the middle school Vice principal is amazing and the MS counselors are caring and committed. There is too much of a turnover in teachers, and that should tell you something. The best teachers from ms are leaving to go other places. It is unfortunate, but they need to do something to make the kids happier. The work load is too much and the teachers just pile on the homework instead of teaching in class. There needs to be more clubs offered and they need to start having hs sports soon. Do something to make your hs students happy.

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 4

Posted April 13, 2013
- a community member
This is the best school ever the teachers are nice mostly.though the high schoolers mess everything up for the middle


Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
I DONT LIKE IT YOU HAVE TO GET ACCEPTED THE STUDENTS BEHAVIOR IS TERRIBLE IM NEVER TEACHING THERE AGAIN

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a community member
this school is great and everyone that is complaining about this school just can't handle the work and if you can't handle the work then GET OUT, you're not wanted and if you have a problem talk to a staff member instead of coming here to complain.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Darnell Cookman Middle/High School
1701 North Davis Street, Jacksonville, FL  32209
(904) 630-6805
Last modified Darnell Cookman Middle/High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Darnell Cookman Middle/High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 96 reviews. Top