Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenland Pines Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 894 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter was a second grader this year at Greenland Pines. This was also her first year here. I was very impressed with the staff and the facility. Everyone I have encountered has been very professional and very compassionate with the kids. My child has learned so much and the curriculum compared to her last school is like night and day! Keep up the great work!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

GPE is a fabulous school in that it is high-achieving, focussed and academic driven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My family and I just moved here from out of state. We thought we did our research into the schools in the area. We thought that since GPE was an 'A' school we were sendind our kids to a good school, but we were wrong. All that is cared about is the FCAT. My kids bus was in an accident on the way home from school and I was never notified by anyone at the school. My daughters lunch card was not working at school and they sent her away with out breakfast and lunch. Come to find out the computer system failed. My third grader was not allowed to use the toilet but twice a day. We are moving to get away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

My son has been in greenland pines since pre-key, the ESE program.He is now in 5 th grade. i've always had great teachers to work with him. last year was alittle tough. i feel alot of it was because the teacher had no ESE background. This made it very tough on her as well. i feel all the teachers should have some kind of coarse to be able to deal with the many different children that are in the ESE program for different reasons.I also believe there is to much focus on F-CAT. it stresses teachers, parent and stdent out. then after f-cat, everyone is so releaved it's over, that things get to laid back. seems like they have nothing to teach after that. I say go back to the old way of teaching and have test through out the year to see where the kids stand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

My child attended Greenland Pines from 3rd to 5th grade. She did quite well and I attribute that to excellence in teachers and a focus on the expectations of the FCAT as well as knowing how to teach those expectations. Teachers were difficult from time to time but isn't that what makes the best of a person? I'm thankful for the high standard expected from the Greenland Pines' staff. My daughter is better for it. Kudos to all at GPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

The few months my son attended Greeland Pines were the worst we've ever experienced. The employees, teachers, office staff, all of them are without emotion, just working for an FCAT score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Greenland Pines has such a wonderful Pre-K class. Mrs. Hutchins and her assistant Mrs. Massacline are wonderful. I hope we are still in the group distiction so my son can go there for K-5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

I have had lack of support when dealing with the teacher and Principal. They do have a wonderful and I mean wonderful first grade teacher. Yeah for that. Holmquist
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

This is a GOOD school. It has done well on the FCAT for the last 5 years. The school has a very nice Principal now and many wonderful teachers. It has one of the largest Extended program in Duval County.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2005

My son attended Greenland Pines elementary from the first through 5th grade. I believe all the teachers at Greenland Pine do a great job & truly care about their students. Teachers were always willing to take time with me when I either had questions or concerns about my son. I also felt that Greenland Pines has a safe and secure environment for children to learn & socialize. The Coach is also a great guy who really goes beyond the call of duty to teach the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Greenland Pines is building on 20 new classroom for the next school year 2005-2006. This will help us to lower class sizes in all classrooms. The staff works hard on reading, writing, and math so all of our students well do their best on the state-wide FCAT test. We have a GREAT PTA that supports our teachers and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 3, 2005

They have excellent teacher student ratios. Need a bit more variety and healful meals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

This is a great school with an outstanding student body being taught by some of the most motivated teachers in the county.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted December 3, 2004

I think it is an average school with big amount of kids in each class. There are no extra curriculum if your child is more advanced than his classmates. My son's teacher was very surprised when asked her to give him test for the grade in math and if he'll pass to move to one grade higher. I know Susie E. Tolbert Magnet program school has these kind of opportunity. As I said - average... nothing bad, nothing good. Although, it is an 'A' school, good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

The school overall is wonderful. It is a bright, friendly clean environment that my son thrives in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

We relocated from Arizona where my son had had an unpleasant experience with the Mesa Public School system. Right away his behavior improved. He enjoys school now and he says, 'Mom, I'm not bored like in my last school!' Mrs. Reeder is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2003

Greenland Pines will provide the students with a quality education. The teachers and parents will ensure that. However, the principal suffers from a serious lack of interpersonal skills. The atmosphere is not friendly. There are ways to manage and interact with 'customers'. Whether they be staff, parents or students. In my personal opinion, the Principal, the supposed leader is not performing well at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Greenland Pines is an above average school. The majority of the teachers and staff are great with the students. The principle does a great job. It seems that everytime a change is made she is always met with opposition. I feel that she does a great job, and whenever I had any issues they were handled professionally. The resource teachers (music and physical education) teachers are wonderful. They show respect to the students and the students give them respect back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2003

Most of the teachers in this school are great, but 1 teacher was so mean and unhelpful that I need to go to the Principal. I was give no help from the Principal. She agreed with me about the quality of this teacher but said she could do nothing.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Asian 12%
Black 12%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%65%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5050 Greenland Road
Jacksonville, FL 32258
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 260-5450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph Catholic School
Jacksonville, FL


Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT