Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 913 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

Overcrowded.No attempt for individual growth.Waiting 45 minutes to pick up my child is not acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Prior to sending my son to TLAE I had my son in a private school. Sometimes I wonder why I ever spent the money to do that. TLAE is an exemplary elementary school. I have found the teachers to be caring, concerned and committed. I take the opportunity to meet my son's teacher every year, develop a relationship with them and establish an open communication throughout the year. As much as possible I try to participate in the Science Fairs, Boosterthon and whatever activities the school sponsors. My experience with the office staff, the principal, the teachers and everyone with whom I've come in contact has been very positive. I am proud of the fact that my son is a student at TLAE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

this school is fine good techers and every thing techers gotta improve the prencipal is great and students got to be come better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

My daughter was in the 3rd grade there last year. Loved her teacher but was absolutely terrified to speak, walk down the halls or to even ask for water, ketchup, etc., during lunch! She is pretty quiet & shy anyways. This school has not helped her self esteem at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Left messages with principal, never called back. No communication in this school. Code red and yellows it seemed like all the time. Fights quite regularly that they can't control. Not going back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I am a parent of a child at TLAE...I am actually appaled with the comment from the parent who has 3 children at TLAE commenting on the Principal only being concerned with dimissal procedures. Apparently this parent was not here when we had several students/parents almost hit by a car at car dismissal AND car arrivals. First of all I pick up my child in the car rider line DAILY and I have NEVER had to wait more than 10-15 minutes to pick up my child. For those parents who arrive at 1:30pm to pick up their child at 2:50pm is creating their own problems. Also as far as the Principal not being concerned about the school grade/FCAT scores, this parent apparently does not know what really goes on in the school or in the classroom daily to see how hard the teachers/administrators and students work DAILY to make sure our students are ready not only for FCAT but being a productive citizen in the future. And my last commnet is "Mrs. Robertson is the best thing that has ever happened to TLAE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

This used to be the greatest sch when my kids started .1 is a middle schooler now ,the 2nd in 4th grade and 3rd in 2nd grade .My 4th one will join the kindergarten next year but for the first time I feel I dont want her in this school anymore.I always had the best things to say about the school but now I feel its all about buses, cars and parking ....education is no where to be seen .The principle is really obsessed with the cars coming in the school instead of the falling Fcat scores and the school going to a "B " grade school .My kids are walkers as the buses don't come to my area and there is no way u would want to wait in the 45 min long car pool line.But thsi woman is so much about the school dismissal that my kids were actually standing on the road today as they would not let the walkers stand inside the school till the parents park somewhere and reach to pick the kids. I am totally shocked with how smoothly everything was running when sweet Ms.Menard was the principle compared to the principle today !!!! She does not care if a first grader comes under a car waiting on the roadside for the parent to reach . I will honestly not recommend this school to anybody anymore .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

Enrollment 1300+ (126%) ,with10 portables (2 no bathrooms). Approx. 12 rooms have 36 kids with 2 teachers. Art, music, computers are every 14 days. Opened as technology magnet, PC room now split for more classroom space. Only 10 acres with no room to expand or park. No gym; PE often walking/running bus loop or bike safety video. Lunch 10:10 to 1:30. Kids bussed from 8 mi. away and dismissal takes 20-30 minutes reducing educational time. School moved from an "A" to a "B" (lowest 1/4 progress). Teachers are wonderful and manage to overcome these obstacles, but quality of education has suffered in recent years due to the overcrowding trend . A relief school is still 3-5 years away. 'Green Team' in 4th mentoring, technocat AM video and safety patrol. Building lovely with sculpture tiles children made over the years. PTA put awnings over play equipment & installed playground for K. Science, literary and math family nights are wonderful though parking a nightmare. Library and "gifted" program are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My son has been in this school since kindergarten. He just finished second grade and I only have great things to say about all his teachers. They are loving and caring. He loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

the teachers are great but the principal is not my girls are scared of her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary is a wonderful school however there has to be something done about the overcrowded class rooms and also a better system to deal with the car pick-up situation. IT's Rediculous to have to wait 30 to 45 min to pick-up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I'm an extremely involved parent in the school and I shudder at the idea of sending my children back to the school next year. The principal is less than professional. My husband witnessed her having a temper tantrum in the parking lot and stomping her feet. In my personal experience with her, she has no tolerance for children with needs. She has ruined the program at the school and it is no wonder the FCAT scores have dropped. But then again, Duval County Schools as a whole are nothing more than a joke. Explain to me how these schools can spend more than $8000 per a child and yet have such poor testing scores. Local private schools cost far less, $4000 per a child and providing a much higher quality education; not to mention all the extra curriculum Duval schools have cut.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

It is such a shame that such a nice school has such disregard for their students.They r treated like little robots to do all the academics,stress them w/fcats,tests & a point system for discipline so at the end all they want is their A rating.They talk to them with no respect and even if the child has an explanation/or reason they arent taught to have freedom of speech. They r not allowed opinions.My children and their friends are afraid of their teachers,their love for school has faded. Teachers and VP and staff get defensive and even yell at parents if there is a something brought to their attention. Unfortunately I cant afford private school, I moved to this neighborhood from out of state just for the school and it has been a great let dwn.They only way yr child w/get fair & nice treatment is if u brown nose them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This school works really well with the children! My son is doing way better then he ever has and I am so proud as a mother to have him in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

My daughter is just about to finish kindergarten and her K teacher was fantastic! With that said, the other day my daughter says to me 'Ms. (enter principal's name) is the Boss and you do not talk back to the Boss'. How random, right? Not so much, I questioned her about it to find out that, IMO- this principal leads by intimidation. Additionally, this school is way over crowded, you can sit in the 'car-rider drop off line' for over 20 minutes. They have many co-taught classes (i.e. 'we've run out of space but because of class size requirements we put 35 kids in a normal classroom with 2 teachers'). Certain grades are capped in size but look for all grades to have a large portion of their classes co-taught. Overall, my daughter did very well in K and her teacher was fabulous. However, with the overcrowding she may not return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

If it wasn't for the new principal, the shool would receive 5 stars. I give her 0. The teachers and staff are terrifiic and love children. As the previous post points out though, the principal would rather no parental involvement. I simply can't understand what qualities the county saw in her when bringing her in as a replacement. This is simply a job to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I feel the teachers are wonderful and communicaton with parents is outstanding. The Media Specialist, Art and Computer Teachers and Administrative Staff are superior quality. The PTA has been very involved in the past, however, in my opinion, the new principal does not want parental involvement and PTA will be less involved in the future. I feel the school system could have made a better choice in principals. The school is extremely overcrowded (300+) and the carpool situation is horrendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My Kids attend this school and enjoy every day of learning. Teachers and pricipal are very nice to talk to. they have safeguards in place so that no imposter can just walk to your child's class room. They are very good homework assignment, feedback to parents (phone, Email etc) and keep you in touch with you on daily basis with progress of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

This school is an outstanding asset to Duval county. My family has been attending this schhool for 2 years now and the academic growth he is makingis amazing. The school is absolutely briiliant! They have it all, a great principal who truly exemplifies leadership, great parent involvement, extraordinary teachers and just awell rounded staff who knows best practices for children, and never forgets to put the children first. We are ecstatic with Twin Lakes. There is no other school in Jacksonville that even comes close to excellence for chidren! They are 'Simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My daughter just completed K. Overall, we liked the school. She learned a lot and we were very impressed. Unfortunately, the school is lacking a bit in the use of resources. Also, needs the computers updated and doesn't know when the county will provide. They do receive a resource approx. once a month (ie. music is once a month). PE is weekly. Most parents do become members of the PTA, but it would be nice to see more parents actively involved. Overall, the school was safe and a upbeat happy environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Black 27%
Asian 14%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Point Meadows Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32256
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 538-0239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT