Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 913 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2006

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary is a wonderful school. Excellent teachers, caring staff, rituals and routines that ensure safety and discipline... I would be proud to send my kids to Twin Lakes.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 12, 2006

Wonderful school, very academic. Seemed to have a big emphasis on testing, even in Kindergarten. We were very pleased with our child's academic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Twin Lakes Elementary opened as a fantastic school, but has been unable to keep up with growth in the area. My daughter went there for grades one and two, and her math skills were inferior when she entered a St. John's county school in third grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

One of the better public schools in Duval County. In growing area and overcrowding is becoming a problem -- portable classrooms are now used for 5th graders. Many great teachers, a few not so great. As with any school, the school is no better than your child's teacher. We have had three children attend TLAE. Two are now older with the youngest still there. We have been pleased with the teachers. Most of the problems are 'district' related. The school has involvement from parents and support from local business partners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

great school, great teachers---too many children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I understand the frustration of some of the parents commenting on TLAE as to class sizes etc. However, you must remember this is NOT the school but the a direct reflection of the County and how the schools in general are run. I think TLAE has stepped up to the plate and done an excellent job with what they are given to work with as of today. This is my second child in TLAE and both have excelled. I have never had to hire a tutor however I am very hands on with the kids education. Don't know if anybody has had opportunity to try another elementary school - I have (a supposed A School) and I can assure you that you see the education at TLAE in a new light.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

I am extremely unhappy with the Duval county America's Choice Math Program. The children need to get additional tutoring to learn basic math as the math investigations is not helpful at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Academic programs very good - more hands on activites would be great. Like to see more student work filling the hallways- not just on bulletin boards where there is only a couple of pieces up. Great resources however I would like to see each resource offered once a week. Great parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My daughter attended Twin Lakes for the 2002-2005 school terms. Her class sizes have been enormously big each year. I feel reduction of the class sizes will create a positive opportunity for growth and development, allowing the teachers to focus on the strength and weakness of the students individually. However, a great amount of academic materials are sent home for parental enforcement. I have been impressed by the extra support provided by school officials in the effort to improve my daughters learning. The teachers that I have been in contact with at Twin Lakes have shown interest in the students learning by providing them with the materials and activities needed to make school a fun learning and successful place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

I think this school does a mediocre job with their academic programs. I am not happy with the class room size-AT ALL. If I could pick one good academic quality it would be their drive to get kids reading. I am extremely disappointed in their availability for music, arts and sports. At one point they cancelled their music classes last year and I never heard anything from the school or school board regarding ceasing the music program. Parent involvement seems pretty good. I see a lot of parents volunteering thier time and attending funcions and meetings. I think the rating of an A school is subject to personal opinion. I would give it B or C+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

The school was overcrowded with children everywhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Overcrowded in the classrooms...not enough staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

I have a 3 year old who has not started school yet. I can't review any schools, because he has not attended any. I have heard good things about Twin Lakes from some neighbors, but I would like to hear more about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

School is much too big and intimidating for students in middle school, plagued with budget problems, and many bussed in kids from other parts of town. Duval county still doesn't get it. Smaller neighborhood schools are the way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

First Graders don't have enough time to eat lunch, because they spent their lunch time waiting in line for food. They are not allowed to take snacks before lunch, and if They leave home in the morning without breakfast, when do they get nutrition?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Black 27%
Asian 14%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Point Meadows Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32256
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 538-0239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT