Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

874 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has attended this school for the past four years. I absolutely love the fact that they are required to wear uniforms but can wear whatever type of closed toe shoes. The teachers, staff and principle are awesome! I believe that this school has not received the recognition that it deserves. It truly dispels the public school stereo type. I am very pleased and would recommend this school to anyone.

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 3

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
This school has a HUGE number of students. Because of this, its hard for children to get the one on one attention they deserve. Some teachers here are better than others. Some teachers and staff are down right mean. It all depends on the teacher you get. The common core curriculum has really made it difficult for these teachers to be creative. Unfortunately this is a typical public school - nothing fantastic about it. My son is in Kindergarten and doesn't even get outside every day to play. His teacher Ms. Meide was fantastic. My daughter is in second grade and her teacher was not so great.


Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 1

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
Overcrowded.No attempt for individual growth.Waiting 45 minutes to pick up my child is not acceptable.

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Prior to sending my son to TLAE I had my son in a private school. Sometimes I wonder why I ever spent the money to do that. TLAE is an exemplary elementary school. I have found the teachers to be caring, concerned and committed. I take the opportunity to meet my son's teacher every year, develop a relationship with them and establish an open communication throughout the year. As much as possible I try to participate in the Science Fairs, Boosterthon and whatever activities the school sponsors. My experience with the office staff, the principal, the teachers and everyone with whom I've come in contact has been very positive. I am proud of the fact that my son is a student at TLAE!

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 4

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
this school is fine good techers and every thing techers gotta improve the prencipal is great and students got to be come better


Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 2

Posted July 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter was in the 3rd grade there last year. Loved her teacher but was absolutely terrified to speak, walk down the halls or to even ask for water, ketchup, etc., during lunch! She is pretty quiet & shy anyways. This school has not helped her self esteem at all!

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
Left messages with principal, never called back. No communication in this school. Code red and yellows it seemed like all the time. Fights quite regularly that they can't control. Not going back.

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of a child at TLAE...I am actually appaled with the comment from the parent who has 3 children at TLAE commenting on the Principal only being concerned with dimissal procedures. Apparently this parent was not here when we had several students/parents almost hit by a car at car dismissal AND car arrivals. First of all I pick up my child in the car rider line DAILY and I have NEVER had to wait more than 10-15 minutes to pick up my child. For those parents who arrive at 1:30pm to pick up their child at 2:50pm is creating their own problems. Also as far as the Principal not being concerned about the school grade/FCAT scores, this parent apparently does not know what really goes on in the school or in the classroom daily to see how hard the teachers/administrators and students work DAILY to make sure our students are ready not only for FCAT but being a productive citizen in the future. And my last commnet is "Mrs. Robertson is the best thing that has ever happened to TLAE.


Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 3

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
This used to be the greatest sch when my kids started .1 is a middle schooler now ,the 2nd in 4th grade and 3rd in 2nd grade .My 4th one will join the kindergarten next year but for the first time I feel I dont want her in this school anymore.I always had the best things to say about the school but now I feel its all about buses, cars and parking ....education is no where to be seen .The principle is really obsessed with the cars coming in the school instead of the falling Fcat scores and the school going to a "B " grade school .My kids are walkers as the buses don't come to my area and there is no way u would want to wait in the 45 min long car pool line.But thsi woman is so much about the school dismissal that my kids were actually standing on the road today as they would not let the walkers stand inside the school till the parents park somewhere and reach to pick the kids. I am totally shocked with how smoothly everything was running when sweet Ms.Menard was the principle compared to the principle today !!!! She does not care if a first grader comes under a car waiting on the roadside for the parent to reach . I will honestly not recommend this school to anybody anymore .

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
Enrollment 1300+ (126%) ,with10 portables (2 no bathrooms). Approx. 12 rooms have 36 kids with 2 teachers. Art, music, computers are every 14 days. Opened as technology magnet, PC room now split for more classroom space. Only 10 acres with no room to expand or park. No gym; PE often walking/running bus loop or bike safety video. Lunch 10:10 to 1:30. Kids bussed from 8 mi. away and dismissal takes 20-30 minutes reducing educational time. School moved from an "A" to a "B" (lowest 1/4 progress). Teachers are wonderful and manage to overcome these obstacles, but quality of education has suffered in recent years due to the overcrowding trend . A relief school is still 3-5 years away. 'Green Team' in 4th mentoring, technocat AM video and safety patrol. Building lovely with sculpture tiles children made over the years. PTA put awnings over play equipment & installed playground for K. Science, literary and math family nights are wonderful though parking a nightmare. Library and "gifted" program are very good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School
8000 Point Meadows Drive, Jacksonville, FL  32256
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (904) 538-0239
Last modified Twin Lakes Academy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top