Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Twin Lakes Academy Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1382 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Worst school I have ever been to in my entire life. It's ghetto, it's lazy, the staff is rude, and the students are impossible. I learnt absolutely nothing from this school. Class is constantly disrupted, and when the teachers try take charge (which they never do), the students get into a yelling war. The only thing that made it worth my time was my Civics teacher, who actually made an effort to teach. To parents considering sending your children to this school - Unless you want your children to hate themselves and you, I suggest don't sending them here as bullying and hazing is constant, as well as fights breaking out every other day.


Posted October 11, 2013

dearest twin lakes, i swear I will get every person to know how terrible your school is and how fake your bullying policy and rules are xo ps: to bad I couldn't give it 0 stars


Posted October 11, 2013

LISTEN HERE YOU GUYS LET PEOPLE GO AROUND BEIN ALL FULL OF DEM sCELFS AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FO DAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter brittany ware went to that school she made lots of friends at that school plus she was getting extra help with homework plus it was next to her sisters school the elemt school and close to our home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

This school is not a school that I would ever send a student to. They are NOT an " A " school ... they might think they are but they aren't. Our son went there for 2 years too many... He learned nothing. He was jumped by another kid at school and the administration just stood over them and did nothing. They are not capable of being honest with parents and as far as communication goes you can forget that also. The teachers are out of control as are the students. They run the school like a jail and do not allow the students to learn any social skills by keeping them locked up in the lunchroom at tables . They do not allow the students to go outside and enjoy the wonderful Florida weather. The only good thing that we got from this school is AWAY FROM IT !!!!!!!!!!!! I wish that I would of been able to do more looking before I enrolled our son to this environment . It did more harm to his learning then it did good. I warn you as a parent DON'T ENROLL YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL . Don't trust your child with the adults of this school. There were more fights at this school then I have ever seen in any other school. Our son was terrified most days because of all the fights in the halls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

I really do love this school. I went here for 2 years (6th and 7th). And so upset i have to leave it this 8th grade year. I've meet some of the nicest teachers here that mean the world to me. But most of them annoy me and don't know what they are doing. Other than that its pretty amazing. (:


Posted July 31, 2012

This was the worst schoo l iever been too. I got bullied and the teachers or principal are no help at all when it comes to that. 6th grade was awful. It was the most ghettoest trashed school ive ever been too. It deserves to be burned down.


Posted November 22, 2011

I attended this middle school for my 8th grade year. Compared to the two other middle schools that i attended, this school was very decent. The student body was mostly respectful, with a few exceptions (but that's to be expected.) The teachers and administrators were very good.


Posted November 14, 2011

this school has been on the news more than one time. Teachers lose kids items and some teachers are just very bad at what they do. there are a lot of arguments and fights going on i feel trapped at this school cant wait to leave this horrible school!!! Also the principles are very unfair even teachers don't like them.


Posted November 1, 2011

Love this school so much what a great environment except a couple of kids that really make the school bad but hey still a good school Mr.Kristol Is my favorite teacher he I awesome 8th graders might be a problem with the starters they pick on sixth graders like me but hey great school


Posted October 2, 2011

Daughter just started in 6th grade. She is in the advanced classes. So far we have been happy with the diversity, curriculum, communication and more importantly, she likes being a part of a community school. Class size is also small. Only teacher I am not impressed with is Ms. Bond. I did call the principal to convey my concerns and my call was promptly responded too. There is always going to be one or two bad teachers. Overall, happy with the academic standing, discipline and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

this school is horrible. the teachers are too up in students business to even teach. alot of teachers look at younger gurls too its like yo how old are you 50? i mean forreal nobody should do that. i wouldnt recomeend this school for anyone. also the 6th graders think they the best. everyone here tries to hard to be loud its so annoying. hate everything and everyone here. sometimes they have good food though.


Posted July 26, 2011

I attended Twin Lakes Middle for the first year for 6th grade. At first it was OK, meaning everybody was okay- meaning the students. In the middle of the year people started to change their attitudes. I didn't like this one bit. he teachers were also changing but not much. Since the influx of new students for the 2010-2011 year, their were lots of different type of people. The worst of all grades were the 8th graders. I woudlnt exactly recommend this school to anyone except a person who doesnt really get into education stuff- ACTUALLY I'D RECOMMED A MAGNET SCHOOL! Its not such a bad school... Most of all UI'd say that hopefully this was my first and last year at TLAM!!!


Posted July 29, 2010

2010-11 will be my 3rd year teaching at TLAM. I enjoy the "team" atmosphere among teachers. Staff are very friendly and willing to help their collegues. Students are much better behaved than at my previous school. I am comfortable with TLAM and would allow my own child to attend here! :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2010

My friend told me I should go there and after the first school year I had learned soooo much and had so many great expriences with bith the teachers and the students. Any parent that wants there child to get life experince and learn all at the same time should definetly send thier child to Twin Lakes Academy Middle. GO TIMBERWOVELS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

I love working at Twin Lakes Academy Middle School! I am working on my 6th year at this school and I couldn't be happier. It has a variety of educational programs to meet students various learning styles and special needs, a competent Gifted curriculum, is clean and safe, well-stocked with supplies, has intelligent and youthful faculty members, and encourages independant and creative solutions to teaching our varied student populations. I have happily provided my students over the years with a variety of alternative creative projects which have pushed them to intellectual and artisitc limits - - and I know for a fact that those assignments have been treasured, since several students still contact me to tell me how much they learned in my class and how thankful they we to have me as a teacher. I would highly recommend this school to students who are above average.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 5, 2009

Best school ever even if i felled math it is the best school teachers there are really nice they are fair and really helpful spec ms.Pope shes nice to she gives you a wroning first time you act up then she writes you up but only if you are bad i have alot to say but to make this short i really enjoyed this school year in 6 grade i cant wait till 7th so if you are looking for a school a good one then twin lakes is the one i am glad that i went there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

This schools teachers are fun;; but teach not only the math ect. but also life skills i know this becouse i went to twin lakes elementry and middle and now im gratduating high school and middle was one of the best.


Posted May 26, 2009

I love this school so much I can't even explain how much, the teachers are so nice and so helpful, they teach the subject so clearly and understandable, they don't give us alot of homework but as a 8th grader they make us work hard as we can for high school, but still not that many homeworks. I love this school, and I not only have student friend but I also have teacher friends, the teacher does not only teacher us but their also our friends, I have one read180 teacher who is like my second mom I love her so much and if u also have a teacher like that please don't upset her! -Thank you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

This school is awesome. The teachers teach everything in a way that we can understand it. The Principal has everything in order and won't stand misbehavior. Everything is very organized and I feel very safe.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

496 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Black 28% 23%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Asian 9% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jennifer B Bridwell
Fax number
  • (904) 538-0840

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8050 Point Meadows Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32256
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 538-0825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Oasis Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Mandarin Middle School
Jacksonville, FL


Blessed Trinity Catholic
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT