Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chet's Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1281 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2006

Great resources, but I can't say much about the teaching. My child has been there for three years, and it keeps getting worse. They tell me all the time what he can't do, yet he can do it all at home. I don't feel the teachers really teach, I think they basically all expect the children to learn at home and than show the teachers what they can do when they get to school. Appalling. Principal and teachers have favorites, which is expected, but they are so obvious about it that it is disgusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

The best feedback a parent can give about a school is the progress the children are making academically and the happiness that shines thru them when they are truly happy in a school. I have two girls that have attended this school and I have been extremely happy with the school. Most importantly my girl loved going to school everyday. Props to Miss Crandall, Ms Donalson, Ms Calvarese... and the many more teachers that have impacted my daughters lives in a positive way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

Our son had a great Kindergarten year, and he is looking forward to the first grade. It's all about getting the right teacher, and if you are lucky enough to do that your child is in good hands. It is my opinion that most teachers at all schools are not so great, but we really lucked out, and hopefully the fact that he had a great K teacher will bless us with luck for the rest of his time at Chet's Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

Chet's creek is a great school! My daughter had a wonderful kindergarten teacher who encouraged her to do well in school. The school itself has excellent staff and a lot of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Basically a good school for a public school. I'm transferring my daughter out before she has to go to Middle School though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Chets Creek has excellent leadership staff. Staff in office is excellent. Past two years hvae been amazing and wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

This school is completely worthless unless your child is a robot. I am completely unimpressed. Everyone has told me what a fabulous school it is. This school may have high test scores, but it does not care bout the students that are having a little trouble. My son is smart, and can do everything he's expected to do for a normal kindergartener at home, but does nothing at the school. He must think the place is as worthless as I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My son has been in this school since 1st grade my son is ADHD. The teacher's have been very supportive to my son. They actually take the time to call me and give me feedback on my son. Mrs Chants was his 2nd grade teacher and she is an exceptional teacher, we need more teachers like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

This school has lots of parental support but the class sizes are too large and the school is overcrowded. This is a problem in other schools in the district also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

This school is considered one of the best in the county, but i do not agree.The principal is too lax with the staff because she is friends with them. The office staff, especially the front desk lady are very mean.The front desk clerk is always playing on her computer ignores children and parents who come in.We have talked with the principal many times but it continues because they are friends. My child has suffered because of this and is afraid to go to the clinic/office because he will be treated badly.Most of the teachers are new or first year teachers.The school has a problem retaining teachers.My son's teacher was supposed to 'loop' the class up to the next grade and then just quit. Now the class is split to different rooms.The school is very cliqueish and they shun us less affluent parents because we can't do the extras. Unacceptable treatment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

My girls have thrived at this school! They love to learn and the teachers are so dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

This is my daughter's first year in this school. The school does a lot of family functions and that is great. What I do not like is that the classes are too big and my daughter's first grade teacher is not what I would expect from a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

What can I say. Chets Creek is awesome. Knowing that my child is receiving a top notch education while I'm at work is a great deal of relief. They have after and before school care if needed. Before I moved to Florida I heard how horrible their school systems were. Chets Creek is above and beyond most schools I've visited in the nation. I am now looking to finish my career in the Jacksonville area so that my child can attned Chets Creek as long as possible. Thanks. Marcus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

This is our first year at this school and the difference is remarkable! I see why this school is an A+...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Chet's Creek Elementary is top notch. Everything is run very efficiently and with a wonderful, positive attitude that is contagious. My son just adores his teacher tells me that she treats all her students special. Although he came in at a high level for his grade, I am still pleased with his improvement during the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

The expectations at Chets Creek are like none other I have ever seen. As an educator and parent, I have been most impressed with the level of excellence that this school achieves in every category! A must see to believe! Results are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2003

Although my children do not attend Chets Creek anymore (because they are in middle school now) I just had to write a comment about how great this school is! The standards are very high but my children are doing great in middle school because Chets Creek prepared them. The teachers are great! And if you send your child to this school I promise you that you won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My children have been attending Chet's Creek for past 2 years. I am completely satisfied with teachers and staff at the school. The school is run effectively and efficently and at the highest of standards on an academic level. My children are very pleased and enjoy attending Chet's Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Very pleased. We have a child with special needs, and there is a caring and safe environment for our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 21%
Black 8%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13200 Chets Creek Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 992-6390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Foundation Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Providence School
Jacksonville, FL


Foundation School
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT