Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Global Outreach Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 438 students

We are best known for Russian language studies.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 16 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2011

Always fights. They don't do anything to get rid of the bullies they give them a warning and let them go. Teachers are rude and mean. They don't clean dishes in the cafeteria often, and the staff are useless. They don't listen at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

This is my sons 2nd year at this school. We loved the first year but this year has been a nightmare. My son has came home with claw marks, and bruises. he has been hit, kicked pinched everyday all year.I have spoken with the Principle, His Teacher and the Dean of students but nothing is ever done about it :( Words cannot espress how much i dislike this school.I am also a very involved parent and my son is on honor roll and has maintained a A in conduct this whole year so no one from the Global staff who by the way are the ONLY ONES posting positive comments about this school can say my child is a problem or that he has an uninvolved parent .I feel very sad to have to write this as i was the one who wrote the first positive review. My advice is DO NOT send you child here!! MY son will not be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

No words can describe the outrageous conditions nor the way the children are treated. Lets just leave it at that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

Can you give a negative star rating. A fellow parent just told me about this site and I am about to spread the word. This has to be the worst school in JAX. So sad to see how unhappy the kids and teachers are. And we know if your kid is unhappy it reflects in the grades. Its is a junior jail. And the loud mouth in the lunch on the mike, please just get out of the school profession if you are going to act like that to the kids. It sounds so abusive, even the restraunt customers complain about her. The guy in charge needs to wake up and make some serious changes for the next year, if there are enough kids left to keep the school open. So many are not going to return next year, the only reason they are staying this year is because there is no room in any other schools. The high ratings must be from someone that gets paid to be at the school because parents and students do not praise this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

No sports, No activities, No electives. They start the year with all these sign ups but then cancel the activities or club. Low academic grades, if the kids do not make the grade they curve it for the entire class. What ever the highest grade is suddenly becomes the new 100 and everyone else is bumped up so it is a good appearance. Distrust, there are so many lies told by the "Professionals" the parents and kids no longer trust any of them. Not a school for any Jacksonville family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I find it funny that parents on this site really don't know how good their children have it at this school. Out of those parents that are trashing this school, how many of you actually took the time to come out there and talk to the teachers and see what is happening? I bet none of you. My children attend this school and I could not ask for a better staff or team of teachers. My children are in the middle school and I have never seen a more dedicated team of teachers. As far as I am concerned, if parents actually parented their students and taught them how to be respectful and act properly and not like monkeys, then there would be very few problems at the school. The problem is not the teachers, school, or the activities, it is the parents. Parents need to wake up and not just take what their children say, but actually get involved. This is the best middle school that I have ever experience. My children are excited to go to school every day. They love their teachers and enjoy the variety of clubs. As far as academics, this school is very rigorous. My children are educationally stimulated and are challenged every day. If kids do not want to learn, no one can force them. Be parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I would like to address the issue about teacher changes. It is true that the middle school students went through a lot of changes, however; the teachers are wonderful. Our children need to learn how to adapt to change and the teachers are doing an awesome job. I am constantly updated on my child's progress and the principal and the teachers are so open and willing to work with me and my child. I have seen students who were not acting properly and I have seen the teachers giving out consequences. I just think that some of the parents on this site are bitter because their children are not successful. Frankly, I think that these parents do not know how to parent and are afraid that their children have to work hard for once in their lives. The standards here are extremely high. Achievement is definitely a number one priority here and teachers provide all the tools in order for students to be successful. It is sad that parents cannot admit their mistakes and instead, they are blaming the school and the teachers. This school is wonderful and the environment is conducive to learning. If a child is being unsuccessful at this school, then the child is not seeking the help that is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

I hate how some people on here are complaning about too much fights .They obveousley haven't been to a real public school where every is for there self. If you dont like the school, leave. Stop complaning and crying about it. Go to a "real" public school and let your kids pick up all that trash.This is the best school i ever went to. And if your a parent ,listening to your kids think again more than half the time your kid feed you trash. I can say this cause i did the same thing in 6th grade. There are always going to be bad kids in elementary,middle and high school. Just ignore them. And about the teachers, they are amazing they accually care about the kids. But only if you respect them period. If you argue with them and trash them how are they supposed to respect you back.


Posted March 31, 2011

I transferred my children from a private school to Global Outreach Charter Academy, and so far I have been very pleased with the teachers and faculty of this school. Teachers seem very sincere and devoted, they go above and beyond to address all of my concerns. The principal has always been helpful and available. I also like the size of the school, it gives it a cozy and secure feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

its a great school and i think teachers are given them a hard time cause they belive and them and want them to pass thats all and it just a god place!!!!!!!:D


Posted March 14, 2011

my son has attened this school since the begining of the year they had let alot of teachers and other staff members go my son is in middle school and has gone through 5 different teachers he was doing well at first and now he is failing because of the change of teachers he will not be going there in august beware with your kids and they let the kids on the bus bully you and you get kicked off the bus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

This is a great school. I love how much of a great start my Kindergartner has had in his first year in grade school. The teachers and staff are also very friendly and treat my son as if he were a super star. I was skeptical at first, because my husband and I wanted to send our child to a school where there was not a dominate race but of a mixture of colors and cultures, and my first reaction of the brochure made me not so sure if this was the school for him, because my child does not look like the children in the brochure i was afraid to check it out at first. I took some time off one day and met with the principal at the time which was from fletcher. while waiting to speak with him i noticed all the different children from all over and all family back grounds and i felt more at ease and from the results of enrolling my child and his wonderful growth (an honor roll student in a very secure buzz in and out school), I know that i made a great choice in schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! My child is always excited to go to school and I love the extracurricular activities offered before and after school. They welcome parent involvement which is something I appreciate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 36%
Black 32%
Hispanic 28%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 93%65%61%
Master's degree 7%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 20%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Chinese (Mandarin)
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Russian
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. TANGIA ANDERSON
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Russian
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9570 Regency Square Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32225
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 868-4405

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seacoast Charter Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Seacoast Charter Academy
Jacksonville, FL


North Florida School
Jacksonville, FL




Eagle Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT