Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2009

What a wonderful school. The Principal and Vice Principal along with Father Dan really have great control of our children. They enforce Christianity and promote high achievement in academics. I think the cafeteria is very clean. The teachers really work with you and your children. Safety is always all the minds of staff. The classrooms are smaller than most Catholic schools. 25 or so. I believe they used to be larger. OUR FAMILY LOVES THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

The school is warm and friendly, very Christian . The teachers are wonderful with the children and expect and get high achievement from them. They also conduct themselves in a very professional but caring way and not just teach religion but show them through example. The Principal is very supportive and always helpful. The Vice Principal is as well. They are always cognoscente of what is going on around the campus. They exude pride and love for the children and school. The priests are very present in the school. The children have so many learning opportunities here. The parents are warm and friendly which extends to their children as well. I find the school to be very clean. The parents volunteer and keep the cafeteria very clean. The class rooms are much smaller than our previous school. Our family loves it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

Education seems to be good. Teachers have attitudes, clicks with parents. very dirty cafeteria and bathrooms. There seems to be a feeling of if you do not like it here then leave attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

What a wonderful school. The teachers are loving and caring to all students. Leadership is strong and parent participation is encouraged. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

The teachers have high expectations of the students. The parents have a chance to help their children prepare for the future through home studies. Expect parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

This is a great school. My Daughter loved it and was broken hearted when we had to move away. We hold all future schools to a higher standard because of the wonderful teachers and people at St. Joes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2006

Class room sizes are too large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

I love this school! The parent involvement is great and the education is wonderful. The Christ Centered Environment at this school and parish is amazing. Couldn't ask for better people for my child to be surrounded by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

Overall pretty good school, it has it's quirks, i.e. clicks among parents and teachers, but the overall academics are pretty good. Class sizes are large, but more able to maintain due to not having to discipline all day long.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (904) 268-8989

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11600 Old Saint Augustine Road
Jacksonville, FL 32258
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 268-6688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL



Christ's Church Academy
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT