Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
407 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We are so glad you have come to check out our school here at GreatSchools. You can catch a virtual glimpse of the truly amazing school we are. However, as is with anything virtual, it is limited in what you can truly perceive. We invite you to come by and get to know us. Set up a tour of our school to meet our outstanding faculty and staff; and to see our happy and engaged students. In the classrooms, on the athletic fields, and most importantly in growing our faith, our students excel in so many ways. Our school has a powerful sense of community and the energy to build together positively. We would love for your family to become a part of ours: You Belong Here.
June 16, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Jose Catholic School 4

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
My Daughter had a wonderful year in PK4, here. I found it very easy to talk and communicate with her educators about her needs. It'd have been 5 stars if it were not for an ill tempered person handling their accounting. I would have also liked to have seen her challenged a little more because she came in already knowing how to read and count amongst other things. However, I loved that they focused on her emotional development because she was a gifted student and that was not something I had really expected. Mrs. Garcia, Mrs. May, Mrs. Lemon all had a wonderful impact on my little girl and I would not have changed the last year of our lives for anything. Thank you, SJCS.

San Jose Catholic School 1

Posted January 21, 2015
- a community member
the children there at San Jose Catholic are rude and do not exemplify Christian behavior


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
We are so glad you have come to check out our school here at GreatSchools. You can catch a virtual glimpse of the truly amazing school we are. However, as is with anything virtual, it is limited in what you can truly perceive. We invite you to come by and get to know us. Set up a tour of our school to meet our outstanding faculty and staff; and to see our happy and engaged students. In the classrooms, on the athletic fields, and most importantly in growing our faith, our students excel in so many ways. Our school has a powerful sense of community and the energy to build together positively. We would love for your family to become a part of ours: You Belong Here.
Posted June 16, 2014

San Jose Catholic School 1

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
San Jose Catholic Administration needs to make changes to retain the families they have--instead of encouraging current families to spread the word to their friends about how great the school is in order to recruit new students. Only changes this year has been rebranding. Weekly newsletter contains no useful information.

San Jose Catholic School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
I have a child at San Jose Catholic Grade School. This school has extremely high standards for both the students and the faculty, and I feel that the preparation for high school has been excellent. Some of the faculty there deserve special praise as truly talented educators: Mrs. Gray, Mrs. Moore, Mrs. Karel, Mrs. Dowell, Mrs. Cratem, Mrs. Montvillas, Mrs. Thomy, Mrs. Loadholtz and Mrs. Chin. A special comment must be made about first year principal, Brian Wheeler. He has proven to be a man of uncompromising character, insight, and leadership. He has shown a tremendous amount of involvement and caring for the students in this school, and is the type of man that you want as a role model for your children.


San Jose Catholic School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. My youngest is attending and my oldest is in college. I have been through both public and private schools in Jacksonville. As a parent who is focused on my child's skills, I find that this school does a superior job. My eldest graduated from Stanton's IB program and I feel that the foundation lain with my youngest at this school is far better than the preparation that my IB student received at other schools in Jacksonville. I like the culture of the school. At most schools, the parents are blown off when concerns are raised. Not here - the staff tries very hard to address concerns. It takes a village and I feel that San Jose Catholic School tries very hard to be that village.

San Jose Catholic School 3

Posted December 26, 2013
- a community member
May God watch over all the parents, faculty, staff and most of all students at this school as they start a new chapter with their new Principal. Pay close attention to all he says and does.

San Jose Catholic School 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
My children have been attending SJCS for the past 5 years. I feel so blessed that our family has been a part of this community. The academics in the school are of the highest caliber; the parents are involved and supportive; and the athletics are outstanding. We have had the pleasure of acquiring a new principal, who has brought with him an energy and commitment to growth and enrichment and I am so glad that he has joined us in our continued spiritual and academic growth.


San Jose Catholic School 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
We have been more than happy with the academics and the overall community at SJC.

San Jose Catholic School 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! It is my little gem - it is the treasure I have found for my children! The family focused, Christ centered philosophy of the school is seen in ever aspect of my children's education and experience. I cannot say enough about how very pleased we are with our choice and how blessed we feel to be a part of the San Jose Family!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Jose Catholic School
3619 Toledo Rd, Jacksonville, FL  32217
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (904) 733-2313
Last modified San Jose Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top