Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Resurrection Parish School

Private | PK-8

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

My children have had a wonderful and positive experience in this school dedicated to a true Catholic identity. My son came from a public school where he was identified as a trouble maker and under achiever. The teachers and administration of resurrection catholic school helped him to realize his potential as child of God and he is succeeding in high school academically , socially and spiritually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

This school has been an a safe and Christ centered haven for my children since we arrived three years ago. I have not seen the bullying mentioned in previous posts. In fact, teachers refer all conflicts to the principal, guidance counselor, and religion teachers. The pastor is also always available and supportive. My family has been blessed to be in this school and I would strongly encourage anyone interested in sending your children here to talk to satisfied and appreciative parents as well as disgruntled ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

The students of Resurrection love their school so much that after they graduate from college they come back to teach at the school. Yes , that is correct there are two former students teaching. Also, after the children graduate they come back to visit their teachers and volunteer their time. They also have two former students helping out in the extension program. To me this says it all what a wonderful school Resurrection is. I highly recommend this school if you want a loving, Christian and family oriented school to look out for your child. My children were VERY happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

My son went to Resurrection from 1st to 8th grade. He has social anxiety issues and was always treated with love from teachers, staff and students. Awesome school with a true Catholic identity.


Posted June 4, 2014

My daughter has been bullied for three years at this school. Only after getting the priest and principle involved, did the bullying go from verbal and isolation to physical. Not only that, the BULLY, not the victims, are given awards and such for citizenship. What a joke!!! I have talked with many that tell me the same thing is happening to them as well. My daughter never wants to return to this school. The teachers, with a few exceptions, are complacent, turn their backs to not see what is going on, treats the children horribly (such as making my daughter apologize to the bully) and just have no clue what a Christian way of life is. Also disappointed that there was no follow through from the church to make sure things were improving. If there had, Father would see that it is physical now. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

I had 3 children graduate from Resurrection. My kids did awesome in High School and I thank the teachers at Resurrection for all their help and guidance. My children where very happy while they were at this school and so was I. My experience here was positive and I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone, Catholic or not they are all treated the same!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

I am a parent of two daughters that attended Resurrection. My daughters were both intellectually prepared for high school and were ahead of many of their peers, particularly in English. The small family atmosphere is what initially drew me to Resurrection School. My children made lasting friendships and their core values were instilled by the teaching staff. Because of the small class sizes they were provided with more individualized attention, which I feel was beneficial to their overall education experience. If you are looking for a place where your child is not just another number, search no longer. You will not be disappointed in the kind attention from the staff and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

OOps! I am guilty. I am one of those parents who has held up the car pool line. My child was sent home with important papers and he forgot to put them in his backpack. The teacher stopped me to tell me. At one time or another everyone has had an update or gentle reminder by a teacher through the carpool line and when it is your turn you do not mind. I really appreciate the personal touch by the teachers. Everyone is kind and helpful. Both my children have been in a safe school environment with good values. They are not honor students but that does not stop the teachers from giving them extra help after school. The teachers and staff know each one by name and they really care about the whole person not just grades. No place is perfect but this one is pretty close. I have been very happy here. And next time I will pull over and park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

The teachers will not return emails if you have problems and neither will the principal. If your child isn't Catholic (like mine) expect some of the other kids to not treat them very nicely. The school is supposed to be open to everyone but apparently not. My daughter was an honor student before she came to this school and now she is barely going to pass seventh grade. The pick up line after school is always a nightmare because some parents get there long before their kids get out and block the line and my favorite is when the teachers walk out and lean into the cars to talk, they don't seem to care that there are twenty or so parents waiting to pull up and get their own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

The school is known this year as in previous years for harboring, encouraging, and accepting bullying. This is a catholic school that has lowered its standards, accepted bullying. The bullying has reached a point of harassment and can be considered a liability. No need for Handbooks, they do not follow them. Kids run into traffic on carpool line, because the teacher is too lazy to walk them across the lane. If someone notices flaws that is when they start doing what they should be doing all along. There are no policies in place. My children are not enthusiastic especially in Art they're not taught well, just expected to know how to draw perfectly. The teachers openly mock the principle (in front of parents and students). The new principle has done some things to improve the school but has missed the big picture!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

I have been greatly disappointed in this school. The teachers (first thru fifth) have been there so long that they have become complacent. The teachers do not accept questioning and refuse to help. The teachers have fallen into a rut of laziness and have been allowed to pretty much run the school for years now. The school is known this year for harboring, encouraging, and accepting bullying. The new principle has done some things to improve the school but has missed the big picture! This is a catholic school that has lowered its standards, accepted bullying, and lacks serious leadership. The academic program for elementary schools leaves a lot to be desired. A better education (academically) can be found in the public school system. There are no policies in place that encourage or mandate teacher-parent communication and the teachers can be seen arriving and leaving school at the same time as the children. The teachers openly mock the principle (in front of parents and students). The tenure these teachers share is amazing; however, it has lead to problems with performance. The bullying has reached a point of harassment and can be considered a liability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Did not have a favorable experience at this school. After 4 years we left. Just didn't get a bang for the buck. Parent involvement was encouraged, so long as nothing was questioned. Parent involvement primarily meant fund raising and volunteering. Couldn't get anyone to listen, let alone help with how to best address a child that was struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

My child attended this school for 2 years. 3rd and 4th grade. The 3rd grade year was great. The 4th grade year was horrible. I with drew my child after the 4th grade and home schooled using the ABEKA Home School Books and DVD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Great school with a family like appeal. The student to teacher ratio is excellant. Both of my boys look forward to going to school and miss school while we are on vacation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My first grader at Resurrection Parish School is getting a very good education. He is also being exposed to the same core values that we live by and want our children to emulate. I give this school 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

great school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 10% 23%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (904) 744-5800

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5710 Jack Road
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Phone: (904) 744-1266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT