Advertisement
Advertisement

Resurrection Parish School

Private | PK-8

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2012

I have been greatly disappointed in this school. The teachers (first thru fifth) have been there so long that they have become complacent. The teachers do not accept questioning and refuse to help. The teachers have fallen into a rut of laziness and have been allowed to pretty much run the school for years now. The school is known this year for harboring, encouraging, and accepting bullying. The new principle has done some things to improve the school but has missed the big picture! This is a catholic school that has lowered its standards, accepted bullying, and lacks serious leadership. The academic program for elementary schools leaves a lot to be desired. A better education (academically) can be found in the public school system. There are no policies in place that encourage or mandate teacher-parent communication and the teachers can be seen arriving and leaving school at the same time as the children. The teachers openly mock the principle (in front of parents and students). The tenure these teachers share is amazing; however, it has lead to problems with performance. The bullying has reached a point of harassment and can be considered a liability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

I am excited about the new fine arts extra curricular activites scheduled for 2011-2012! Along with Religion classes every day, our sudents will be offered the very important fine arts classes which the public schools are cutting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Did not have a favorable experience at this school. After 4 years we left. Just didn't get a bang for the buck. Parent involvement was encouraged, so long as nothing was questioned. Parent involvement primarily meant fund raising and volunteering. Couldn't get anyone to listen, let alone help with how to best address a child that was struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

My child attended this school for 2 years. 3rd and 4th grade. The 3rd grade year was great. The 4th grade year was horrible. I with drew my child after the 4th grade and home schooled using the ABEKA Home School Books and DVD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Great school with a family like appeal. The student to teacher ratio is excellant. Both of my boys look forward to going to school and miss school while we are on vacation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My first grader at Resurrection Parish School is getting a very good education. He is also being exposed to the same core values that we live by and want our children to emulate. I give this school 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

great school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 7% 24%
Black 5% 29%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (904) 744-5800

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Augustine
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5710 Jack Road
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Phone: (904) 744-1266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL





Pace Center for Girls-Jax
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT