Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ The King Catholic

Private | PK-8 | 311 students

We are best known for academic rigor.
 
 

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

We absolutely love CTKS. We have 3 children attending there and they all attended since prek. The school is dedicated to help parents raise well rounded, well mannered and well educated children with a strong sense of faith. CTKS is continuously looking to improve and this year they have introduced IPADS to the students. All Middle School Students have an individual IPAD and all 4th and 5th graders use a classroom set. Our children also love the variety of activities in and around the school. After school, they participate in Lego Robotics, a competitive team, scouts, science club and sports. There are also activities like music, drama club, dance etc. The families are wonderful and I would consider this a community and not just a school. When you come in, the office staff not only knows all of my children, but they also know me by name, and I am not the exception. EVERYONE has one goal and that is to do what is best for the children. We love it and will be here until the end of 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

This school is very dedicated to the success of the students. The tenents of the Catholic faith are intertwined throughout the school day so that the children learn to truly live the faith in their daily activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

Our family has been very satisfied with Christ the King Catholic School. The children -we have four- are all very happy with their teachers and friends. The course work is challenging, which I would expect. Kids tend to perform at or near the level of expectation so challenging them in the early years builds a strong foundation for higher learning. This is reflected in Christ the King being awarded one of the 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence by the US DOE. To put that in perspective, there are about 120,000 elementary, middle and high schools in the US. 310 earned this award. Christ the King was one of only seven in Florida and the only one in north Florida. Parental involvement could improve. 80% of the volunteering is done by maybe 20% of the parents. Some feel that paying tuition satisfies their obligation. The school community, while strong, would benefit from more parents becoming involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Have 2 generations attending that school from Daycare to 3rd grade & loved all the care givers & teachers. Very caring & nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

This is an excellent school which stresses academics and personal responsibility. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

I have four children going to CTK and my oldest will graduate this year after attending since PreK4. This school is more than a great place for education; it is a solid community. The teachers and staff are there to help our children grow mentally and spiritually. The teachers are remarkable and I would recommend this school to anbody that asks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I'm a student of Christ the King and I love it! I don't want to ever leave! Christ the King School is highly academic, and we won 2nd place in the Math Field last year! Only one point by Darnell Cookman (a magnet-school) and our school has 3 times less then they do! Im in the Middle School part and I love! We also get to learn a different language, Spanish. We get to see famous people, have a healthy food program, and we have a catholic schools week, which is SO much fun! You get so much love from the students, the faculty, and get a warm welcome from the church! It opens to all people, no matter who they are, where they are from, or their child(ren) 's(') acknowledgment. I NEVER want to graduate, I love it so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

I love it! I'm a student. I never want to leave. They have a healthy cafeteria program, a catholic schools week, and a nice faculty. They even feature famous people there sometimes. I couldn't believe it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

As a graduate of Christ the King School and a parent of a child attending the school now, I know the value and quality of the education received at CK. What doesn't get conveyed adequately enough is the dedication of the faculty, staff, and parents at Christ the King. This is a wonderful, tight knit, interactive faith based community. The experienced faculty are a tremendous asset that is a rare find at any school these days. I would recommend CK to anyone and everyone that asks my advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

This is a great school in both academics and teaching the faith. We made the switch from an A-rated public school last year and are so happy with Christ the King school. A Christian atmosphere makes a big difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

We LOVE Christ the King! Our children have never been happier in a school. CTK is a wonderful community of parents, teachers and administrators. We are blessed to have found this school........it's the best kept secret in Jacksonville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Both of my children currently attend and they LOVE it! The teachers are wonderful and always available. I can't wait until my third child is old enough to attend PK too! CTK challenges students academically while nurturing them spiritually. We have found our home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

CTK is the opposite of excellent. The school's staff is very bad ( exept elementary teachers) The thought of the school disgusts me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Both of my children attend CTK. Both were removed from public school and the difference is remarkable. All of the grades interact with each other and the children are very polite and supportive of each other. The teachers are very good. My oldest child had to do some catch-up early on in Math because she did not learn certain things in public school the other children were exposed to the year before. The Administration is excellent and you are treated like family at the school. Test scores are very high and the school competes above the academic standards of any magnet/private school in Jacksonville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

My experience was opposite from review of former parent dated 12/28/07. I am parent of two CTKS alumni. One of my sons has ADD. When we moved from the northeast my son with ADD was bullied by a classmate. We were informed by a teacher of the situaton and discussed the issue with the principal. She took prompt definative action holding the parent responsible for the action of their bully. Caring CTK teachers were sympatheic and gave extra personal time and effort to work with my ADD son to help deal with the bully and typical ADD learning difficulties. Both sons were fully prepared for academics at Bishop Kenny High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

My child attended this school for 5 years. I removed my child because the school is unrealistic in regards to policy and procedures. They give your child 'silent lunch' after so many tardies and charge you money every chance they get. This school has a real problem with 'clicks' and 'bulling'. Yes, the new administration is better than the old...However, it still lacks true Christian morals, ethics and values. Our child is now attending another private school in Jacksonville. I wish I would have made the move sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My children have attended CTKS for many years and I couldn't imagine them anywhere else. The teachers are not only tenured, but also deeply caring and spiritual. The parents are involved in making the school a success. The children are respectful, well mannered, and a joy to be around. The tuition may be a sacrifice, but one well worth making as a parent. We love CTKS and you will too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

My son has thrived at CTK, I would recommend this school to anyone moving to Jacksonville. I have also noticed the differences in interaction from public school kids versus CTK kids and the difference is astounding. Education is all we really leave to our kids without it they will not succeed in life and CTK gives that and more to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Christ the King Catholic School offers a wide variety of resources for students outside of the classroom. They have music, art, P.E., computer, spanish, library weekly. The school community is focused on high academics and spiritual growth for all the students. There are many opportunities for students to get involved within the school. There are sports teams, (basketball for boys and girls, volleyball girls, soccer for boys and girls, softball for boys and girls) cheerleading squad, student council, junior national honor society, ascending angels, math teams. The school has many teachers with a high level of tenure who enjoy working with the students and teaching organization skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

CTKS is doing a fine job of teaching these young kids not only academics but good moral values. They also need to improve on Physical education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2010)
  • Second Place, Math Feild Day Duval County (2010)
  • First Place, Math Feild Day Duval County (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Stephanie Chinault
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (904) 721-8004

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Christ the King emphasizes science and math applications. Students meet weekly after school for science related activities and all middle school students participate in a science fair project with the best projects continuing onto the regional level.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Kenny High School
Bishop Snyder High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6822 Larkin Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32211
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 724-2954

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harvest Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL





Crossroads Arlington
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT