Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Assumption Catholic School 3

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
This school puts a huge emphasis on grades and AR test scores. If your child makes a C or misses a couple of questions on an AR test, be ready for the tears at home when the school administrators humiliate them in front of the other children. Although their intentions are good and the teachers think that it will motivate the kids to do better, it is instead causing anxiety and resentment among the children. In general the teaching is well done. However, there is not enough emphasis on practicing basic math and too much emphasis on cramming in a large variety of math. Therefore, the students end up not knowing any of the math well. Again, the intentions appear to be good but are misguided in my opinion. Finally, like many schools, the cliques are very disturbing (populars, non populars, etc) and the teachers appear to strongly favor the popular kids.

Assumption Catholic School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Assumption. My daughter loves the school. Her teachers are outstanding! She looks forward to going to school each day, and I am happy with the excellent education she is receiving.


Assumption Catholic School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
My children have attended assumption for the last 4 years. They have had top notch teachers and precious friends. They wake up excited to go to school every day. As a parent, I can't ask for anything more than that!

Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
This year has been the best the school has been in years because of the new principal!! Unfortunately, she is leaving after this year which we all knew because she was brought in to clean up the mess left by the prior administration. Sadly, they have announced that the new principal is a very inexperienced less than 1 year experience as an assistant vice principal and less than 5 years overall teaching experience. She seems to only be concerned with her "inner circle" and I fear that this school will go back to the way it was a couple of years ago, basically only beneficial for staff kids and people who are close friends with her. I feel her immaturity will have a very negative impact on the students and the school as a whole.

Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
The only thing that is important to the Assumption administration and Fr. Fred is money. Assumption is just another money hungry business. Do yourself a favor and don't put your child here.


Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
What is going on this year.? I am so upset by the new administration and some of the changes they are making. Is it change just for the sake of change??? Do you really wish to remove all signs of our past principal at the expense of our kids? The love of students,and respect for families s is gone. I am so disheartened by what I see, and will look for a new school for next year

Assumption Catholic School 4

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
To respond to "what a joke". So what is the "truth" and how do you know that it is the truth? I also have been extremely disheartened by what I have witnessed this past year. I saw people put more interest in the gossip than in the best interest of the children. For the last 5-6 years this school has grown and developed into a wonderful all around Christian based educational powerhouse, with the children growing into fine young adults. Look at our strong 8th grade class moving on. Say what you want, but the leadership at the school has made it all possible. Maybe "what a joke" just has another agenda. The truth is definitely in the children! Let's hope whoever takes over continues in the high standards set in place., and small minded people stop spreading ugly gossip.

Assumption Catholic School 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Ha! What a joke! She is just like the wolf in sheep's clothing. She has those who don't know the truth fooled. I'm glad she is leaving, good luck to her.


Assumption Catholic School 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
I have been extremely disheartened by what I have experienced this past year in the Assumption Community . Instead of being an example of a loving supportive Christian environment, it has been one of gossip, hatred and disappointment. The principal is an amazing lady who is a great example of Christianity. She is kind, compassionate, caring, accepting of human diversity, and a true example of what it means to LOVE ONE ANOTHER. It is Assumptions loss. It will never be the same and she will be a blessing wherever she goes.

Assumption Catholic School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the August 20th and Feb 26th comments. You are spot on! It is sad that more parents didn't come forward sooner. I hope and pray this school can bounce back from the negativity that has come from this principal & her mini-me.

Nearby schools

Assumption Catholic School
2431 Atlantic Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL  32207
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (904) 398-1774
Last modified Assumption Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top