Advertisement
Advertisement

Saint Marks Episcopal Day School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

We transferred from Riverside Presbyterian Day School (RPDS) and are extremely happy with St Mark's! My child has been warmly received by the other children, teachers, administration and parents. Parental involvement is strong. Teachers are brilliant and experienced. St Mark's administration hosts family picnics, fall festivals, classroom parties, etc.. There is a true sense of community and caring. The resource center is excellent. This is such an AMAZING school. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

We have two children who have been at St. Mark's for the past 7 years and the school continually exceeds our expectations. Our children love going to school, and the teachers have inspired a true love of learning in both of them. The facilities, academics, and resources all are first rate, but the character development program truly sets St. Mark's apart. Children are recognized for demonstrating the fruits of the spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, gentleness, kindness, goodness, and self-control, and each grade has a special service project that helps even the youngest children learn to think of others and help those in need. I love that this school focuses on developing the whole child, mentally, physically, socially, artistically, and spiritually. St. Mark's is a very special place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

What an amazing school. My one year old started in the ELP this year and the morning teachers and afternoon care workers are outstanding. They love her so much and are doing an amazing job raising her while I work full time. The socialization with other toddlers is a bonus. From what I've seen of the older students (through 6th grade) I can only hope my daughter will become as confident, well spoken, and mannered as these children are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Could not be happier with this wonderful school. The campus is beautiful, the teachers are excellent with the children and my little boy comes home brimming over with stories about his day. There are no negatives. All positives! Happy parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

My children have been at St. Mark's for nine years! They absolutely love going to school and adore their teachers. It is such a warm and caring environment, what an extraordinary way to grow up. They benefit from cutting edge technology and challenging academics in a setting that cultivates strong character development. The school continues to look for ways to improve instead of resting on their laurels. The administration seeks and appreciates honest feedback from parents. In the upper grades, the leadership opportunities help each child to develop their strengths and be an active example for the younger students. We are grateful to have this experience for our children, and know we are fortunate to have such a remarkable school in Jacksonville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

St Marks is a nurturing and wonderful school. We moved to Jacksonville and instantly we had a great community supporting us. St Marks is a loving school with a great curriculum. Our children have received a fabulous education there. The teachers go above and beyond to help each child. The small class sizes are a bonus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

We are so fortunate that we have a school like St Mark's where Christian values, leadership and top academics combine in a nurturing atmosphere and spectacular campus. I have had 5 children at St Mark's and we could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

This school is excellent! When we moved to JAX, we looked for a school with a challenging academic program & extra enrichment opportunities, dedicated & nurturing teachers, cutting edge technology in the classroom, a safe & pretty campus, a strong values-based program, and friendly staff & parents. We have been at St. Mark's for 2 1/2 years, and it has met all of our criteria. Our children are happy to go to school every day. This school provides a superior education in a nurturing environment. It is perfect for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

We have been attending St. Mark's school for seven years and it has been a really great experience for our three children. It is a rare neighborhood school that has a high quality of education - 100% of the teachers have bachelor degrees and almost 50% have master degrees. It has an open and green campus - where our kids get "a breath of fresh air" throughout the school day. St. Mark's school has a high standard for christian values and these values are actively nurished in our children through several spiritual and leadership programs at the school. The campus is very safe and I feel 100% confident that our children will be safe during the school day. St. Mark's also has a very good Academic Support Center that is included in the tuiton cost - the center provides enrichment for the advanced students as well as assistance for students who are not as smart and need a little extra help. St. Mark's is Jacksonville's best kept secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I couldn't be happier with my child's development at St. Marks. It's a wonderful environment and the teachers and staff care for my son so much so that he loves to go to school and dreads summer break!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Outstanding preparation for middle and high school. Warm, caring faculty with strong Christian values. Excellent core curriculum enhanced with strong art, music, language, P.E., Spanish, and Christian Education programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I have been a parent at St Mark's for 5 years. My children have enjoyed loving, dedicated teachers in a small nurturing environment. I pass up several A rated public schools to bring my children to this school because the school is challenging to even the smartest children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Black 4% 29%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (904) 387-5647

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4114 Oxford Ave
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 388-2632

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ortega Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL



Bayview Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL



Chosen Vessels
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT