Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside Presbyterian Day School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $119,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

This school let us down as well. Administration was unprofessional and had a liberal agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My child attended this school but we transferred to another private school in the area for 3rd grade. We did not have a positive experience at RPDS. Leaving RPDS was a difficult decision but turned out to be the best choice. Our child is thriving now and we love our current school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

An extraordinary educational experience for our whole family! Our children are enthusiastic about their school experiences and they love their teachers who are dedicated and talented professionals. Most of all, while our children are receiving a superior academic foundation, they are learning the values of respect, responsibility, acceptance of differences and compassion for others. This preparation of the heart will guide them to be positive and effective leaders in our community. I am so very thankful for this balanced education for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

What an amazing experience for our daughters. I loved the nurturing approach and the academic challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

A wonderful place to be as a student and employee! I attended RPDS from PreK - 6th Grade and have nothing but the fondest of memories from my time as a student. The school gave me an incredible foundation to succeed in academics, face life's challenges, serve my community and forge strong relationships. Returning to RPDS as an employee has been as if I've come home to my family. It is the same kind, nurturing environment where I grew up, while still maintaining the highest of standards and expectations. I would highly recommend Riverside to parents looking for an incredible school for their children, or adults looking for a wonderful place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2012

Overpriced and over-hyped; fine school if you're rich, old-money Caucasian, but the ones that don't fit in get looked down upon. They'll talk the talk and cater to the helicopter moms, but don't deliver anything near what they should for the price. We were so happy to have our kids go elsewhere, where they got some character building along with a great education. Sorry if that sounds harsh, but it is true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

This is a great school and you can find nothing better!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2010

To those who note LD kids are not welcome, I vehemently disagree and if you are considering an alternative to the inadequate public school system, take time to discuss the curriculum with your psychologist and then meet with all concerned parties to discuss whether this is or is not a good fit. It has been an excellent fit for our child who has ADD and needs special tutoring on top of assistance. We have seen such a breakthrough this year-I would not discourage this as an alternative choice for a special kid. Like everything, you need to find a good fit but just having a LD is not a barrier necessarily as long as the needs for assistance are able to be met. My child is thriving for the first time in a school experience and I consider it a miracle but the cumulative hard work of all parties. Bravo, RPDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

RPDS does an excellent job i developing the whole child in a loving Christian atmosphere. The faculty and parents are totally committed to that goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I have 2 children at RPDS, and have been thoroughly pleased. There is just an overall great feeling at this school, a wonderful sense of community. The teaching staff is excellent, and the leadership is involved and connected. The facilities are beautiful, and the curriculum is nurturing to the whole child. A real treasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Both of my kids go to RPDS. It is a great school with a focus on academics, community, and enrichment. We were at 2 different A rated public schools and they are merely shuffling kids through a system. Both of our kids are gifted and talented and were bored and under challenged at the public schools. They do not have time for enrichment nor exceptional students, except maybe a few of the magnet schools. RPDS is a great, safe and nurturing school for children. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

We were a part of RPDS for the 07-08' school year. If your child has any type of learning disability this is not the school for you. Let's just say we had a 'HORRIBLE' year. We are now in a public school and thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I'm a former student of RPDS Class of 06' after going there since Pre-K 4. Riverside is a great school, acidemicly and in the arts department. One thing I really liked about it was the school makes you get involved in the community and know what going on aroud you. Another thing is unlike many other schools Riverside reminds me of one big family. The teachers really care whats going on in your life and they will sit down with you and go over a concept untill you get it even if its an inconvenience for them.


Posted February 11, 2005

RPDS is a nurturing environment for any child. They have a rich program and excellent staff and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

This will be our 4th year at RPDS. We feel fortunate to be part of the Riverside family. 'Private schools' are stigmatized as elitist or exclusive, but Riverside is quite the opposite. The school benefits from its central location in the city, and attracts families from all walks of life who share a commitment to the education of their children. The teachers love these children, and the children, in turn develop and nurture a lifelong love of learning. As in any school, there are issues that need to be addressed. At Riverside, the Headmaster, faculty and guidance work hard to ensure students and parents alike are comfortable bringing those issues to the table. While the student is the number one priority at Riverside, RPDS is a family. RPDS does a wonderful job of holding on to tradition while exploring new educational ideas and techniques. We love RPDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 29%
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Oak St
Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone: (904) 353-5511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Academie De Montessori
Jacksonville, FL


John E. Ford K-8 School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT