Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

San Jose Episcopal Day School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2011

My child has been at this school 4 years now and is very happy here. The school has caring teachers who keep you up to date on your child's progress. Each teacher has a class blog where they post student pictures and work plus other class information like homework and educational games. Students are learning to use programs like PowerPoint starting in First grade and technology is integrated into class assignments. The music teachers on the Primary and Intermediate levels are excellent and the kids love to go to music. I am also constantly surprised at the beautiful art projects that my child brings home and the ones that I see around the school. It seems like every child is an amazing artist. Children take Spanish starting in first grade and grammar is part of the curriculum. Students have 10-20 spelling words per week and 10-20 vocabluary words per week (depending on the grade level). I also don't mind the fundraisers. They do things like a used book sale, fall and spring festivals, a golf and tennis tournament, a silent auction, and a pancake dinner. Standardized testing is done at the beginning of the year so you can see what your child needs to work on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

This school is incredible. It has such a strong dedication to academics including science, math, the arts, and athletics. The teachers are all so involved with their children's education as are the parents. The Head of the School, Jean Dodd, is one of the most calming and strong leaders in the school. She inspires the children to bring out their best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I moved my son from another school that tried to label him with ADD. I have since learned that the other school had teachers that did not have the ability to teach and it was easier to say he has a problem. SJEDS has been an excellent experience for my child who does not have ADD in any form. He has excelled and has confidence and pride in his work and his reading level has increased dramatically in the span of four months. He is well balanced the teachers and staff are caring and concerned. The other parents are involved and supportive, this has been the best experience so far with elementary schools. I recommend it to anyone interested in their child having a nurturing learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

This is a wonderful school. The teachers and administration truly love and nurture the children, and provide a broad curriculum which not only emphasizes academics but also character development, art, international culture, music, and physical fitness. I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

San Jose Episcopal Day School has been such a blessing for my children. The curriculum is outstanding, and the resources are above and beyond my hopes and expectations. They have music and PE twice a week, as well as art, computer, Spanish, library, and religion once a week. They learn the recorder in 3rd grade, and can join the school band in 5th. All of this wrapped up in a nurturing Christian environment with some of the most wonderful teachers you could ask for. Thank you San Jose!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

Facilities are old and need refurbishing, repainting and modernization. Core courses are taught well, but candidly, the best thing about this school is access to Bolles and Episcopal High as this scholl is a feeder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

San Jose Episcopal Day School prepared my child extremely well for Middle School. She is now excelling in all advanced courses in seventh grade. The school provided a wonderful academic, social and nurturing environment for those critical elementary school years. Thank you San Jose!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Music and computer programs virtually non-existant. However, Engish and Spanish are strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

The new curriculum for the school chosen was not a sound curriculum. Students did not have books that they could take home and yet we paid a book charge that was pricey. The school was expensive and for the price, I felt as if the money was diverted for other means. The classrooms were not very clean and the upkeep was last priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

The academic program here is very intense. Excellent teachers and loving care for students characterize their interaction. Well prepared students will excell and find adequate challenge. Resource classes are very good and offer great exposure to the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

SJEDS is a great school that focuses on the student as a whole. Academically it is challenging, proving that hard work equals success. There is also a focus on religon, providing children with a knowledge of Christianity. Physical Education and music are also important at SJEDS. Overall SJEDS is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

This school appears to provide a challenging education to children with good Christian values and character building.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 44%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Black 4% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • FCIS
  • NAES
  • NAIS
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (904) 733-2582

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7423 San Jose Blvd
Jacksonville, FL 32217
Phone: (904) 733-0352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Bolles School
Jacksonville, FL


San Jose Catholic School
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT