Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Country Day School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2013

Arlington Country Day Is disrespectful to the United States There baseball team uniform has the flag backwords they should not be allowed to do this


Posted January 17, 2012

What a mistake! The classrooms are in ruins, not even enough chairs/desks in some. Textbooks are outdated and falling apart. There are absolutely NO extracurricular activities outside of the football team, NO technology classes, the principal is impossible to reach - when she is on campus. There is an "after school tutoring" option but that is a joke. This school accepts special needs students but has no special needs staff to teach them; although to be fair - some of the teachers go over and above to try. Even the school website is outdated - from 2009/2010 - and there is no PTO / PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

This is the first year that my son has gone to ACD and we love it. He gets alot of one on one time with the teachers because of the small class size...wish I had done this when he was still in Jr High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

What a gem of a school! I volunteer every week in the middle school, and I am so impressed by what the children are learning. The teachers seem to work together and the children are very happy and engaged. It is a very happy and welcoming campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

ACD is an excellent choice if you want your child to receive a great education in a small, hands on environment. I have an elementary child as well as a middle school child and I could not be happier with the school. Yes, we were there during the decline, but those days are long gone and this school should not be compared with the previous school. We have seen so many wonderful changes and we always feel welcome on campus. The teachers are highly qualified and extremely caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

ACD is a great developing school. It has had problems in the past as most people know. They have been taken care of for the most part. The current owners saved the school from closing after the inept previous owner. They have taken care of past debts and corrected academic problems to the point of receiving a five year accreditation.They are building a strong school again based on education, behavior and values. The faculty is the best it has ever been. Especially the elementary dept. ACD is headed in the right direction and just needs time and support from the community and parents.


Posted April 23, 2010

Mrs. Phillips is absolutely the best teacher a child can have. The school has improved tremendously in the past year and I am sure will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I'm going to ACDS now, and I think it's a good choice if your looking for something different. I went for 9th grade, then I transfered over to SW. I was sooo unhappy. The classrooms were huge, and it was way to stressful. So i quickly switched back after just maybe one quarter at SW. ACD is nothing like any school iv'e been at, or friends have gone. And I love it. Highschools the best years of your life supposivly, and Iv'e made more then i can count memories there. GO ACD! Nut get some uniforms, the dress code is a little old.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2010

I have a first grader that goes to acd and I am deifnatley pleased with the school and especially the teacher.Mrs.McFalls rocks(she is one of the best teachers i ever met she really cares about the kids and makes sure the learn.) The school went through some trouble but I know it's on the upswing. There more focused on making the learining aspect better before the astetic aspect. the school is in a not so great area of town but the security makes up for it. They employ security that does nothing but whatch the elemntry kids when they are on the playground.Also the teachers are on the playground during reacess and the are also very wathcful of the kids. My daughter went to a more exspensive and newer looking school last year and we were not nerarly as impressed with the reasults as we are this year. mrs mcfalls rocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

Arlington Country Day School has absolutely hit rock bottom. It is so sad to see what has become of this once-great institution. I have been involved with ACDS since 2001. The administration and ownership made up of two coaches and a former teacher is a pathetic joke. They are laughed at by teachers, parents, students and every other respectable private school in Jacksonville. No reputable academic institution would allow these individuals to operate a school, yet sadly they have free rein at ACDS. The school has undeniably always had some wonderful caring teachers and parents but it is truly those at the top that are the school s greatest burden. Although it still needs a lot of modernization, the campus has noticeably improved over the past two years. I would love to be able to recommend this school to parents. The school has such potential. However, with its inept leadership, I simply cannot recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Still some work to go, BUT 1. Teacher quality has improved-all teachers are either certified or are obtainining their certification; 2. Classrooms have improved-fewer students/class, all wiring and plumbing updated; 3. Administration has improved-more delegation of authority with Deans of Boys and Girls and less of one person trying to do everything; 4. Academic quality has improved-no coaches in classrooms, except 1 who is renewing his certification; 5. Physical environment has improved-new exterior paint, addition of shrubs and other landscaping features, removal of unsightly gum and trees, new cafeteria, media center renovation and upgrades; 6. Computers and textbooks have been ordered; 7.Security has improved-front gates, gated parking lots with more planned; 8. Consistently high quality student-athletic programs; 9. SACS Accreditation for 5 years; 10. Dual Enrolment classes Sociology and Business; and 11. A new enthusiasm from administrators, teachers, parents and students which has translated to a new optimism in the future of ACD. WHAT A CHANGE FROM RECENT YEARS!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2009

After going to ACDS for about 3 years, it's apparent that it needs help. The class sizes are small, and the teachers are great, but the administration is sub par. No cafeteria, no lockers, old and out-of-date textbooks and there aren't any bathrooms, just a dirty old toilet. A very small library without a librarian, and no extra curricular activities beyond sports add to the list of problems. The few computers that ACDS has, are about 15 years old. Parents would love to get involved, but there is no PTA organization. The gymnasium is a rundown barn, and other than a softball field, is the only 'home court/field' for any of the sports teams. There is no home field for the baseball or football teams. Finally, there isn't any honor classes as of the 2008-09 school year and no classes other than the basics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2009

ACD campus has improved there is more work to be done , they need to work on getting a cafeteria.other than that the teachers are great i had no problem getting in touch with them if i had a question or problem.I like the small class size, like with all schools there need to be more parent involement to make it a better school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

I do not consider this school a scholastic school. The building is dirty, the bathrooms are too small and dirty. The grounds are not kept up. I ask to see the textbooks and the one I saw had out of date information. It had no computers, no art, no music, no cafeteria, and no library. The only extra curriculum was the sports team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

this is a very bad school, bad judgement call on my part, they dont really have a curriculum. The teachers do the best that they can, but without a solid foundation, one can only do so much. they made a mistake when they let go of the new administrative group at the beginning of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

This school is terrible. Think God my child is done with school because this school has gone WAY down hill. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

The school has improved since the new owners took over last summer. They are making the effort to bring the school back to the high standard that it was known for, before the Litchwards took over. Weekly communication from the headmaster via email, more teacher involvement, improvement in the buildings and cirriculum are just some of the changes. However, it is a small school, and would not be able to support a 'larger quantity of courses' at this time. They are focused on quality education, not quantity. I would continue to send my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This school needs alot of work physically, administratively and educationally. Other than the fact the school was kept afloat by a new owner, the new school administration is subpar, way under expectations. The teachers are a good group, however the school does not offer anything beyond required courses and has an atheletic program which caters to the JV and SR classes. No P.E., No cafeteria. This school could be great if its courses were of a larger quantity. The building itself is a distraction. The are far better private schools in the area. We will not be sending our child to this school next year. Bad choice on our part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

The classes are not to small and not to big so the student get the better education and also help if needed be in there studies


Posted January 4, 2009

This school isn't what I expected it to be. I've been there for three years and it is just disgusting. I can already tell that I've not learned anything.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Black 35% 23%
Hispanic 13% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (904) 762-0125

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5725 Fort Caroline Road
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 762-0123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT