Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Country Day School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2007

This school overpromises when you are interviewing them, the underdelivers once they have your money. It is located in a bad section of town and the facilities are sub par. Teachers are over extended and underpaid so there is no real motivation to accel in their careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

My child attended for Kindergarten, and is now so far behind other schools (public and private) if I do not have him tutored for reading over the summer he will have to repeat Kindergarten. There was a 1 to 9 ratio most of the year, 1/2 of which were not old enough to enter most schools and should have been placed in a preschool as they turned 5 late in the school year. Check ratios if you are looking at this school as enrollment is down so much they combined 2nd and 3rd grades this year. I will say that my child is at or above grade level for math. It is the end of the year and they are only sounding out 3 letter short vowel words. Endings, long vowels etc were not covered. I was shown work from last year while touring, never introduced to students this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

This wonderful school gave my son not only an excellent education, but an opportunity to make valuable friendships in a safe and nurturing environment. He attended the school for 8 years and is now successful in college. While the buildings may not be modern, the heart and soul of a school are what matters most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

I have been very disappointed with this school. I felt this might be a better alternative than Sandalwood . .it was has been worse and a complete waste of time. My son and his friends talked about how they would spend their time in class on cell phones and doing little to no work . . still he brought home A's and B's even after having no homework assigned to him. I could never reach the headmaster and on the one occasion I did he did not want to hear anything I had to say. The report cards and progress reports are hand written. The final straw was when a substitute teacher called my son a moron and an idiot. I paid for the full year in advance and should be refunded @ $3,500. We ll see how that works out. WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

High School lacks discipline and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

I don't feel my child is learning as much as I would like her to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Good school, the teachers are good and care about the job they are doing. Class sizes are small. An old fashioned school, not much glitz but your child will get more out of their education than in the public schools. Less distractions from learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

I am a teacher at Arlington Country Day School. The parents want results that their student can't achieve, becasue the principal tells the parents the school can do it. On paper the students achieve. There is no activities other than sports. I would not enroll my child in this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2005

My son attends this school and has since middle school due to the very poor quality of public schools in Arlington. The small classes and caring teachers have helped him excel. He is able to advance to a higher grade levels in subjects he is best at. I pay for this school, although I can't really afford private school. I feel it has been a godsend, I wish I had sent my older son there instead of sticking it out at Terry Parker. The school is not impressive to look at but the teachers there care and do a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I could not afford Espicopal or Bolles School, so I looked into Arlington Country Day. This school's only apparent reason to exsit is to play sports. There is no education going on in the classrooms. In reality my student learned nothing. On a whole, my child lost an entire year and a half in Arlington Country Day School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

I was very dissapointed with this school. My children attended under the McKay Scholarship, and I presumed that a school accepting this scholarship would be prepared to help ESE students. But it was not and I feel like I have wasted 2 years. It seems like the main focus of this school is athletics. I guess if you are not a special needs student & you like sports, this may be a good school for you. Also, to my dismay, I could never reach the headmaster or book keeper by phone (or get a callback) after repeated attempts. In addition, the dress code was not enforced for the older students, and many times I saw students wearing outfits that were more suited for a nightclub than for school. That doesn't really set a good example for younger students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Black 35% 23%
Hispanic 13% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (904) 762-0125

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5725 Fort Caroline Road
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 762-0123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT