Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jacksonville Country Day School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a teacher
Jacksonville Country Day is a great place to work. It is a positive, supportive environment with many resources dedicated to professional development. The families are friendly and the students are well behaved.

Jacksonville Country Day School 5

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
I had two children graduate from JCDS. They went from JK to 6th grade and transitioned beautifully to Bolles. JCDS prepared them for middle school and beyond and they are now at the top of their class. Not only did the school and its dedicated faculty instill academic excellence, it taught them good character, leadership skills and good citizenship. While visitors may be impressed by the beautiful updated facilities and awesome arts, music and sports programs, what sets this school apart is its faculty. The school has undergone recent changes, but all for the betterment of the school and the students. The school is now being run by an effective and cohesive administration whose professionalism and true dedication to the families and students is immediately apparent. You will not find a better investment for your children's future than an education at JCDS.


Jacksonville Country Day School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
As a long time JCDS parent with two children at the school, my experience has been quite positive. The small class sizes and extraordinary teachers create an atmosphere in which my children can thrive. The optional after school activities have allowed my children to further explore the arts and sports aside from what is already built into the school curriculum on a daily basis. There has been some administrative turnover, however, it was the head of school who was here 10 years. The school continues to be a forward thinking leader in the community. I challenge parents to find anything better in the area.

Jacksonville Country Day School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I see many red flags at JCDS. The administration is unstable and there's high teacher turnover. The academic curriculum is subpar as they teach to the middle of the pack. Sadly, they don't strive to achieve full student potential. On one end of the spectrum, I see an unusually high number of students retained a grade rather than being taught to stay on pace. Parents are blindsided to find that, at the end of the year, their child is not ready to advance to the next grade. It's only a handful, but still seems high. On the other end of the spectrum, little is done to challenge the advanced student. There are cliques among the children (and parents). The bullying involves social status. It's subtle and secretive but present. It's hard for the administration to police so therefore it perpetuates. The facilities are beautiful and extracurricular activities are abundant (at high additional costs). But, it makes the school feel like summer camp. If the school would spend as much time and money on teaching as they did on its luxuries, it would have a better chance at producing intelligent, grounded, and selfless citizens. Needless to say, we will not be returning next year.
1 person found this helpful

Jacksonville Country Day School 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
We moved to jacksonville, and where we are zoned didn't give us the best selection of private schools. The school is beautiful, and the tours were impressive. Our child is half way into his first year and the bullying is terrible. If your child fits that rich, elite mold he or she might be fine. Children who are more advanced are not given the opportunity to excel. The are mixed in with students of all calibers, stifling the intelligent and frustrating those who could use more hands on.
1 person found this helpful


Jacksonville Country Day School 2

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
Our children attended this school for several years. If your child fits their "mold", then you will not have any issues. If your child had any learning needs, the school does not provide resources for differentiation and you are on your own. If your child excels academically, the school will not advance your child up to a higher grade. They will dumb your child down so that they conform to the rest of their classmates. High staff turnover. Tuition high for what your child receives in return. Large class sizes limit teachers's ability to provide necessary attention and accurately identify child's needs. Children that need help tend to fall through the cracks.
1 person found this helpful

Jacksonville Country Day School 5

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
We have been very pleased with the education our child has received. They have been accepted into an accelerated academic program for high school and the foundation they received in elementary school gave them a distinct advantage.

Jacksonville Country Day School 1

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
We have two children who attended JCDS. While we loved the teachers, unfortunately, we along with many other families, learned the hard way that the school has a horrendous bullying problem. Even the most egregious acts of aggression were either condoned by the faculty or ignored as "horseplay" even when numerous eye witnesses report the flagrant acts. Meanwhile, the school has completely denied that bullying is a problem or taken any steps to implement improved policies, procedures or training. The current policies and procedures are vastly inferior to other comparable schools. Victims are consistently blamed and told to get over the bullying. The children are simply not safe, particularly during PE. Unfortunately, this is not an isolated situation. Many families have left the school due to unresolved bullying issues.


Jacksonville Country Day School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
We have 2 kids who attend (4th and pre-k) and both have done fantastic. We are very pleased with the school and the teachers. Our kids love going to school, make good grades and have learned a ton. Highly recommend. Worth every penny.

Jacksonville Country Day School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a student
this school is the best schoool I have ever attended

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jacksonville Country Day School
10063 Baymeadows Road, Jacksonville, FL  32256
(904) 641-6644
Last modified Jacksonville Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Jacksonville Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top