Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hendricks Day School

Private | PK-8 | 301 students

What they take from here, they take for life.
 
 

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 26 ratings
2013:
Based on 29 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

86 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2009

I just moved here in December of '09 was faced with putting my son in a school that was BAD students in the hallway cursing teachers all around did no care etc... I went on a mission to find another school I would feel good about leaving my son in and in two hours I found Hendricks Day. Went inside and found not only a school worthy of my son, but also hugs to make me feel better and shoulders to cry on. WOW what a great team there. My son will be very happy there. :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I have two children at Hendricks. There are multiple reasons why we are so happy at this school but I must say that the predominant reason is that the school sees each child as an individual and fosters each child's needs. If a child is gifted and excels in an area, then the school helps that child to reach new and exciting levels. If a child struggles in a particular subject, then that child is given the resources and attention to help him or her. This is a school that truly focuses on education in a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

We moved to Jacksonville in the summer of 2008. Our boys were entering the 5th & 7th grades, so it was important to find a school that 'fit' them. They both came from gifted programs, so we wanted academic challenge. The boys wanted good sports programs. Although they were accepted at other schools that some might consider more 'prestigous', those schools did not feel right to us. After visiting HDS, we knew it was the right fit. HDS is warm and welcoming. It has a unique critical thinking program that provides challenging new ways to learn and think about problem solving. The teachers are enthusiastic and devoted. The staff is flexible and has worked hard to make sure our boys are in the right level/type of classes to remain challenged. We have been very pleased and highly recommend HDS. They will make sure the school 'fits' your child's needs and personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

We tried HDS because public school was too big and institutional. Couldn't be happier. Yes, it is sweet and small, but more importantly, my kids are taught to analyze information via a critical thinking model. It is a comfort to know when they do search the net they have skills in separating fact/opinion/bias.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

best school ever!!! My child is in pk-3 and loves it. His teacher is adorable!!! This school to me is highly recommended!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

A challenging, friendly, critical thinking environment...students are well prepared for the high school of their choice. Science curriculum is particularly strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

Hendricks Day School has helped me raise my three children. We came to the this school 10 years ago and have been blessed ever since. My children have been well prepared for high school and know how to think about their decisions and problem solve thanks to Hendricks. The atmosphere at HDS is like no other. There is a family friendly feeling and the teachers make learning fun. At the same time the children are challenged and expectations are high. The friends that my kids have made at Hendricks are many and lasting. The field trips to Key West, the mountains, Washington, Savannah, St. Augustine, Tallahassee and Jekyl Island are awesome. The before and after school extended day program is great and helpful to working parents. The sports program is very competitive and strong. It encourages the students to strenghten their athletic abilities and teaches them to manage their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

We recently transferred our two children to Hendricks. One of my sons has a slight learning disability and I can honestly say his teacher has gone far above and beyond the norm to keep him (and me) on track. She is kind and thorough, and I feel he has progressed substantially largely because of her efforts. Meanwhile, my other son enjoys a rigorous academic environment with yet another outstanding teacher. My only complaint is minor, and echoes an earlier sentiment: they are not very understanding of the working parent. We are constantly asked to fundraise, donate, attend, provide, or come to daytime events, often with a price tag attached. It is difficult, especially when they involve our children in these pressuring tactics. Both my boys are very concerned with numerous fundraising efforts (cookie dough, dress down days, ice cream, box tops) and it has become tiresome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

I have two boys who attended Hendricks Day School, and I was impressed by many things but most importantly the level of instruction and genuine interest and provision for each individual child's strengths and weeknesses. My boys had different strength areas - one was strong in math and the other in language arts. Both were successful because the Hendricks teachers just refused to let either child faulter. The level of instruction was very high allowing both my boys entrance into the high school of their choice. Their Hendricks friends remain some of their best friends today because at Hendricks you make friends for life. Check it out if you are looking for an extension of your family values and want a first class education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Great school academically. The entire staff is very encouraging/nurturing to its students. The staff continuously trains on the most modern forms of teaching. It s a needed school in the area. Downside- All invitations for events/expos are during the work day. Makes a parent feel as though he's missing out on his child s education. Also, there's no relief in asking for donations. They have their annual donation drive, which is expected. But, they also have an elaborate auction toward the end of the year where they strongly encourage donations (money, computers, weekend getaways?). Individual classes are rewarded if there is 100% participation. Gee, I don t want my child to make the entire class suffer, right? It is a great school, but they should be more sensitive to the working parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

My 2 boys have been at Hendricks since Pre-K. One graduated very well prepared for high school and the other will graduate this year. Great school for academics and athletics. Middle school goes on class trips to Key West, Smokey Mtns., & Washington D.C. My kids have great memories & friends from HDS. Also, brand new Mac computer lab this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

Both my childen were in A-rated Duval public schools for three years before being enrolled in Hendricks. I can't say enough about the educators and the administrators. The enthusiam for learning is seen from the principal, to the teachers, to the students and parents. Both children love Hendricks and have regained their love of learning. Thier motto is 'Teaching how to think, not what to think.' and it shows! Due to a recent contribution Hendricks now has IT equipment that is second to none in the county. It is no longer a Methodist school and, while they do have chapel weekly, there are children of all faiths attending. It is also enthically and culturally diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

We have just started attending HDS from public elementary school and I am more and more impressed with each day. The cirriculum is challenging and well taught. The faculty does a great job communicating with parents and being accessible. My sixth grader is more engaged with his schoolwork than ever before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

HDS is a growing school, however it has a small town feel. Parent involvement is high. Teachers are loving and encouraging, yet provide discipline as needed. I've compared the academics to those of friends with children attending other private schools in the area. Overall, HDS academics are more advanced. For a school of this size the athletic opportunities are great. I highly recommend HDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

My two children have been lucky to attend Hendricks Day School for eight years. The academics are very high and the teachers are so caring. It's a wonderful nurturing environment for elementary and middle-school kids, with plenty of opportunities, like art, music, Latin, and a wide range of middle-school sports. We've all made great friends at Hendricks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

This is a wonderful school! I've compared and had 3 children at 3 different private schools and this one is top notch.....no comparision in all categories. Teachers really do care, academics are the best and very challenging, PTO is very active and everyone is willing to work with you or you work with them! The Critical Thinking that they teach and emphasize is wonderful. Please check this school out. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

This is my child's first year at HDS. I am very happy with the teacher and the academics provided. I do not feel that they are really getting a lot out of music, art, and spanish. I haven't seen anything since the beginning of the school year come home from those areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

Academics are first rate. High level of parent involvement in all areas of school. Extracurricular activities are well-balanced with academics. Our son has attended since 3rd grade (now in 7th). He is a unique child, but his teachers work hard to appeal to his strengths and strengthen his weaker areas. He has never once been teased or bullied even though he is 'nerdy'. The Critical Thinking focus in the curriculum is exactly what we want for our son-how to think, not what to think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Excellent parental involvement. Great education. I am a previous student, and I look forward to sending my children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 29, 2005

Though this school is going through a transition period, I would highly recommend it. Unlike other schools HDS does require a lot of parental involvement. That's what parents are for anyway. The curriculum is top rate and the faculty are also. They require the students to put forth their best efforts in all they do and this school produces children with excellent academics. They encourage the students to be well-rounded and think about issues rather than follow someone else blindly. The school may be rough around the edges after the recent move, but it is a true diamond in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Johnson, Ed.d.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (904) 720-0435

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Pom Squad
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1824 Dean Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 720-0398

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Broach School South
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT