Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hendricks Day School

Private | PK-8 | 301 students

What they take from here, they take for life.
 
 

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 26 ratings
2013:
Based on 29 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

86 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

If this school Dr. Johnson are so great, they would admit when they do something wrong and correct it. Leaving a child completely alone on the playground and not even noticing it, is not acceptable. And on top of it they would not admit doing anything wrong.


Posted October 11, 2014

Sadly, I cannot recommend. Students are not prepared for High School. Especially in math. There is somewhat of a panic in middle school as parents are realizing this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2014

Over the summer the school went through some major changes, I have to admit I was very nervous. I can honestly say that I am amazed at what they have accomplished with the changes they made! The administration obviously knew what they were doing. The teachers, staff and administration are outstanding. Even the quality of my child's education has improved, which I did not think was possible. I would like to thank Dr Johnson & Shane Tripp for making these hard decisions even when others disagreed. I am proud to be a Hendricks parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Take a look at April 18, 2013 and see how many comments were written by the teachers - so wonderful and positive! Proof that Hendricks really is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2014

Take a look at April 18, 2013 and see how many comments were written for one day. Emails were sent to the teachers in groups to write reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2014

While reading these reviews, please notice the last three or four pages of comments. You'll see page after page of positive reviews. Unfortunately, all of the negative reviews began in May of 2014, the same month that several teachers were told their contracts would not be renewed. Coincidence? Probably not. Last year, my wife and I moved our son from a decent private school to Hendricks. We haven't regretted the decision at all. The biggest difference we've noticed is that the student/teacher relationships are phenomenal! Having instructors that truly care about my son and aren't just there for a paycheck is PRICELESS! Spend 30 minutes at the school and you'll see what I mean...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2014

The more time I spend at HDS the more I understand why so many families LOVE this school!! It's been a great first few weeks and I can't wait to see what the rest of the year holds. Skate night was a blast!! It was so great seeing all our families together having FUN - can't wait for the next one! I feel so blessed to be part of such an amazing school family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2014

The more time I spend at HDS the more I understand why so many families have not reenrolled their students. As I begin to tour new private schools, I will be looking carefully at class size, faculty/student ratio, teacher experience and what school graduating students attend. I am giving one star for teacher quality because I believe the class sizes are too large for one teacher and there seems to be a lack of coordinated curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2014

Obviously the negative comments were not submitted by Hendricks parents. What's with all the hate and misinformation?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2014

On the first day of school, we discovered that the class sizes were significantly larger than last year. They are now averaging 21-22 students. Too large for the growing number of students with enhanced needs. If your child needs an enhanced learning program or has a McKay scholarship this school may be the right fit. Hendricks, unfortunately, is now known for taking students that other local private schools will not admit or those that have been dismissed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

Hendricks Day School is an unfortunate example of what happens when a volunteer Board of Directors does not perform their duties at a competent level. The Board of Directors has sat idly while the enrollment has plummeted and academic quality declines. The members of the Board have failed the students of this school and their once trusting parents. Hendricks Day School suffers from negligent leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

I think the fact that the school fired half of its teachers this summer and doubled the class sizes by reducing each grade to one classroom, speaks for itself. They clearly have no regard for the parents who sent their children to this school for the smaller class size. Apparently the school has enough money to put all new flooring in and to build a brand new steam lab, but they don't have enough money to pay half of their staff. Also have not been impresssed with a single teach there. Do yourself a favor and choose another school for your child. They will get a better education and maybe the staff at another school will care more about the children than the almighty dollar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2014

Hendricks Day School can best be evaluated by looking at the sharp decline in enrollment. The declining enrollment speaks more than any review ever could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

Hendricks is wonderful! I am sorry the other reviewers felt differently, but I know that my kids are getting the best education. They are also learning to make good life choices. Changes are challenging, but the teachers are amazing and I wouldn't choose any place else for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

Take a tour. That would be my advice to anyone considering this school. Despite the changes this year, I am still confident that my children will receive the best education by the best teachers in Jacksonville and that's all that matters to me. Take reviews with a grain of salt (including this one). Do your research, take lots of tours, form your own opinion and make the best decision for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

The tuition is already $10,000, add the fact that you have a special needs child who needs smaller classes, and it's an additional $5000-&10,000. That's absolutely ridiculous and more than some people make. I feel like it's a discourages those with discuss needs from attending just the average Mckay scholarship soyldnt even cover the base tuition. It's just such a shame the tuition is so high. How is the school diverse with such socioeconomic standards,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

Hendricks has gone from 2 classes per grade from Pre-K 4 and up to only 1 class per grade for the upcoming 2014-2015 school year. The dramatic decline in enrollment speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

I have three children attending Hendricks Day School and one who graduated and went on to the Bolles School. I have nothing but excellent things to say about Hendricks, its staff and its leadership. I am a professional with much education myself and I recognize academic rigor when I see it. Hendricks provides that, especially from 6th grade onward. From the lower grades through 5th, I think of the school as providing strong academics (not quite the 6th and up level), but also providing a wonderful and nurturing approach to each student. Personally, I think it's the combination of nurturing and academics that has allowed my oldest to thrive at Bolles in an honors curriculum. My children love the School, as do my spouse and I. It's also worth noting that the School does NOT tolerate bad behavior and is known to expel children with such issues. As parents, that's one reason to love Hendricks -- to know your child will be learning in a controlled, safe, and nurturing environment. If you're looking for an excellent private school that provides strong academics and extracurricular opportunity, all with a reasonable price tag, make sure Hendricks is on your list!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

When considering this school ask and be vigilant. Academics are no better than a public school, resources with the exception of music and art are disappointing. You will hear more about making financial contributions to the school rather than academics. Also a lot of this reviews are from faculty, staff and members from their parent teacher organization and alumni club members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I have been a parent at Hendricks since 2010 when my son started Pre-K3. He is now in kindergarten. He started late in the school year and had difficulty socializing with others and expressing himself effectively. Hendricks staff identified where he needed extra support far better than the three other preschools he had been in before. The preschool program has been so wonderful that he is now a very outgoing, social, academic leader in his class. Having worked in the public school system before, I don't believe he would have been anywhere close to where he is today in that environment, and I credit that to the amazing people at Hendricks Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Johnson, Ed.d.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (904) 720-0435

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Pom Squad
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1824 Dean Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 720-0398

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Broach School South
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT