Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Jacksonville, FL
 

4 stars
Based on 92 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

93 reviews of this school


Hendricks Day School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Hendricks Day School is trying desperately to stay in business, with that kind of stress on administration there is not much time for extra student development.

Hendricks Day School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Hendricks Day School will be offering "Pre K 2" next year. How can this school strengthen academics when they are getting into the day care business? How many prestigious private schools offer community day care for 2 year olds?


Hendricks Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Under the current head of school- the past three years have produced neatly a 50 percent cut in teaching staff and a sharp decline in enrollement. There is now only 1 class per grade instead of 2.

Hendricks Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Hendricks attracts a fair number of students who were not accepted or asked to leave other more prestigious schools. Thus, behavior issues are common.

Hendricks Day School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
My son LOVES this school! We are finishing up our fourth year at HDS and we are all extremely happy. The educators and staff are truly amazing. Don't miss out on a great educational experience for you and your child.


Hendricks Day School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
My family is so happy with Hendricks. The family atmosphere, academic experience and sports program in middle school are all tops. I'm in for the long haul.

Hendricks Day School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
DON'T DO IT! ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR MONEY. They will tell you that your child is special needs just to get more money from you even when your child is not special needs. They do this to almost every parent. So many people are leaving that I would be surprised if this school is in business much longer.

Hendricks Day School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
I can't be happier: my daughter has been accepted to Paxon School for the IB programme! Thank YOU Hendricks Day School! I highly recommend this school, of course. I also have a son in kindergarten who is doing a great job! He is already reading level 2 and most important having a great time!


Hendricks Day School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
Hendricks Day School is "0ne of a kind"! My daughter will soon graduate from this school very well- prepared and accepted into an excellent high school. The caring culture, the dedicated teachers and staff, and of the extra resources ( art, music, Spanish/French, science, P.E., technology and more, make this school outstanding. I highly recommend Hendricks Day School for anyone looking for a great school for their child!

Hendricks Day School 2

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
Hendricks Day School has gone downhill in the past few years. Enrollment is down to only 1 class per grade level. Last minute hirings after this past summer has left Hendricks with a mediocre staff. There are a few that have been there over 5 years and are great, but the majority are new with little experience. The primary focus of Hendricks is now what they call ELP (Enhanced Learning). Most grades are about 50% of these special needs kids that they are trying desperately to mainstream into a normal class. If you need that type of help, I can see Hendricks as an option, but if not, your child will suffer through the education and behavior problems that go along with this approach.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hendricks Day School
1824 Dean Rd, Jacksonville, FL  32216
(904) 720-0398
Last modified Hendricks Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hendricks Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. Top