Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Foundation Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

This is by far the worst school I've ever had my son in!! At first glance, it appears like a good alternative for a child with learning disabilities, but it's not! The teachers here are not at all interested in working with a parent. I had to ask for my son's report card for months just to receive it after the next quarter had already been issued. My son would tell you he likes the school because it's fun, but even he came home the other day telling me he's afraid he's not learning what he needs to learn. I've met with the teachers multiple times, attempting to see actual work, but with no luck. They are extremely disorganized and have no problems with a child being used to put up advertisements (without telling a parent they are taking them off campus) for them instead of school work. They don't give tests to measure a child's knowledge and progress. Instead, they have the child write a paragraph about what they learned. This gives the teacher no information to know if they should move forward. They are just passing kids for the money. This is definitely not a school where a child can successfully move in to college, without remedial classes, after graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

The Foundation Academy is such a wonderful school! We have three kids that attend and we love it just as much as they do. The teachers are great and they give the necessary attention to all students. TFA keeps us informed about our children s success and allows us to participate in their learning experiences. We especially like the fact that they teach our children about the Bible. What else can I say, The Foundation Academy is an exceptional school for teaching kids from kindergarten through the twelfth grade. Jody Swann
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

I have a child that is in K-2 class and is a special needs child. Recently they had the science fair and told us not to bring our child to school for the days that they where having it. They did not give any explanation of why. When we tried to find out why they still have not gave us a explanation. Now the principal made our child set in the office for 3 hours before the school called me to tell us to come pick our child up that she did not want our child at the school again no explaination until she makes up her mind if our child can stay there or not. Nothing that our child did wrong and she still doesn't want our child there. She seems to be punishing our child because as a parent we where sticking up for our child and what should be fair and acceptable for a special needs child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

As far as teachers, my son had the best teachers. As far as the principal, never in my life have I ever met such an insensitive to disabilities of a child and lack of humanity and concern for a childs safety. My son had left school, with the principal knowing he left, I found him a mile and a half away at a convenience store crying because she humiliated him in front of his peers, When I confronted her she admitted to knowing, but did not call my cel, my work, my husbands phone and not even the police. My lawyer is going to have a lot to say about this. DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD ATTEND THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son went to this school this is not a good school if u want ur child to be dumb all they life then this is the school for them. They all about the money tell u ur child is doing well and just pass them on to the next grade level. Think again before u put ur child here concerned parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

My daughter has been at this school since December 2012. She struggled at first but her teachers are great and really helped her adjust. My daughter has special needs and change is difficult for her and we have been through hell with all the schools we have tried for her. This school has lots of activities other schools do not have such as dance and music, as well as gardening and this week there was a science fair. No this school is not perfect but it is better than most and my daughter is happy there. I have not had the time this year to be involved in the school much because we just moved to the area and things have been hectic, but next yr I hope to volunteer more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

out the box learning that is completed in the way it used to be... recess, with time for kids to rest, learn, and be kids in between learning a wealth of knowledge from their peers and educators. if you want your child to be a free and critical thinker, innovative, and kind hearted person.... This is the place for you!


Posted February 4, 2013

A review by SACS /Advanced Ed compliments The Foundation Academy for having one of the most consistently well trained and well-educated teacher staff in a single school. Congratulations to The Foundation Academy for its high marks in this years re-accreditation!


Posted February 4, 2013

It is with great pleasure and admiration that I write to tell you how completely satisfied we have been with Marc's education at the Foundation Academy. Marc was selected by various colleges to apply and was indeed qualified by all academic standards. He has a good grasp and understanding on many topics of conversation that he normally would not have been exposed to at the public schools, not to mention the overcrowded classrooms he had experienced. I am very proud to say that he has enlisted in the United States Air Force. I just wanted to write you a letter to say "thank you" for the quality education Marc has received. Herbert Love, Jr
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

The Foundation Academy is an amazing school for children of all sorts.Whether your child's preference is theatre, art, physical education or academic subjects, this school is the right place. The teachers are amazing and fully involved with every aspect of their students learning and development. I am so happy I brought my child to this school from public school. One last note, the priniciple is also amazing. She truly seems to strive to get to know every student at her school on a personal level. She attempts to be a family figure of some sort to all her students. I couldn't be happier with my decision to join the TFA community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

This is the worst school ever to place your child in . The teachers are just adults with no teaching experience and pass the children just by being in class on time . Most of the high schoolers can not even read and write and if they can it was because they were really smart because they do not teach at this school . If you want a bright Scholarship for your child please choose another school and if your child has a learning disability do not enroll them here . It looks fun and is fun but it should be classified as a daycare instead of a school . If they knew where all the McKay and as Step up money went this school would most likely be shut down as they charge so much for children with disabilities and they get no help at all . It is pathetic are the teachers .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Our daughter has shown a renewed interest in education and has become more mature and responsible as a result of attending TFA. She was getting lost in the shuffle at our local public school because of the large student population and needed a smaller class size to excel. Her teacher is very caring and professional, and we like that religious values are reinforced during a time when most children are lacking spiritual guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

This is definitely an alternative school for parents who want their kids to be able to think critically and not just memorize for a test and forget the next day. There are lots of arts areas for the creative mind and projects in their academic classes allow for different types of learning....a great school, definitely!


Posted September 12, 2011

I was referred to this school by friend who actually works at another private school. I was looking for a school where my children would not only grow acedemically but socially and culturally. I fell in love with the school immediately. I have to admit, at first I had some concerns. As a parent, I hate to say, it wasn't easy to adjust from the normal attitude of a public school environment, where all children are treated the same, expected to do the same and are run through the "mill" process of education. That was precisely what I wanted to get away from,and yet it was still an adjustment. The adjustment grew easier as I saw my children grow not only scholastically & socially but as strong individuals. Not only are they on task with public school expectations, they are, on many levels, more educated about the world around them. Our Principal may be more involved on a personal level, but I find it refreshing to know she cares about the future of every student. You may not want to hear what she has to say, but more often then not, you need to hear it. I have never known someone to take such a personal interest in each and every student as though they were her own child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

The Foundation Academy provides a critical thinking education for all students. They have a great arts program and a new sports program starting this year as well. I love the education the school provides and the teachers and staff are the best I have seen in a long time. They also have scholarships available for many students. Thank you Foundation Academy for everything!


Posted July 13, 2011

What a joke. I found out that my daughter's teacher wasn't even certified to teach, much less able handle her learning differences. I was told that this school was perfect for children who have trouble in public schools. Fine, so far my daughter is happy, but then when I started getting involved in the school I realized how little she was actually doing academically. That is not the kind of "help" I was told she would receive. I love the teachers there, but they are not challenging the students. Everything looks good on the surface, and I can see how the children are learning to think outside the box. But, when it comes down to it, it seems more like a year-round summer camp. I have spoken with other parents who feel the same way. We disagree with too much of what is going on at this school to keep our children there much longer. It was a nice change of pace, but now it seems we may have been taking the easy way out without even realizing it - and we have to do what is best for our children in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

This school is an excellent choice if your teenager is in need of an "alternative school". Please don't start your elementary aged children here. They will get a better education at a different private school. Academically, it is a less challenging school. The students do little work and when they do, it is simple. With this said, it will be easier for your child to get a Bright Futures Scholarship and an impressive GPA. It is a wonderful place to send your child if they are doing poorly in school and they need an understanding atmosphere. It provides expressive and creative outlets that can't be found elsewhere. Additionally, it builds confidence and provides a sense of community for all students, including outcasts and loners. The god honest truth comes down to this bottom line- If it seems like your teenager might not graduate high school, send them here. If they are making it somewhere else, steer clear. It can be a lifesaver for those in need.


Posted May 3, 2011

What a wonderful school for those children who want to become as good a "person" as they do a good "student". This school invites creativity, responsibility, good values, and the ability to become well-rounded. They offer a spacious campus with gardens and play areas, music and drama classes, strong leadership, and NO FCAT's for the kids. While this school may not be for everyone, they do invite all students regardless of their background. They have gifted students as well as those who need extra attention. We are very supportive of this school and all they have to offer. You should definitely contact this school if you want a great experience for your child.


Posted March 17, 2011

This school has a horrible middle school program. Do not put your kids with learning disabilities in this school. They will not get the help they need. Do not put gifted kids in this school. They will not get challenged and will spend their days doing very little academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

If you want your child to truly grow, this is the place! I have seen it myself with my own daughter. I am a local artist that has worked nationally and internationally. I have been involved at the school as a designer and build the sets for their theatrical events. I personally have seen students grow from shy, withdrawn and sometimes-troubled children to young adults and STARS finally realizing their own potential and finding themselves. Jim Lynch


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 29% 23%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3675 San Pablo Road South
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 241-3515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foundation School
Jacksonville, FL





Discovery Montessori School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Providence School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT