Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Foundation Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2010

I Have been a student at this school from second grade to seinor year.. And If anyone really knows about this school.. I am one of them.. Honestly.. The teachers are great.. But the Education is horrible.. When I was in ninth and tenth grade, I was taking 7th and 8th grade math.. You dont have to really do ANYTHING to pass a grade.. and Im not kidding.. Ms. Nadia gets too personal with students, and You had better hope she likes your child.. because if not.. she will Treat you like trash.. My friend was graduating.. and when nobody was standing up for him at graduation and clapping.. she whispered in his ear.. "You see? Nobody is here for you." My seinor year math teacher had a degree for chorus. not math.. Kids will give this school good reviews.. Because its fun! you do Nothing!!


Posted October 2, 2009

I'm a student there and have been for many years. That school helps you find who you are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

My son graduated from this institution years ago, he acquired the skills needed to attended college and opened a small business. No uniforms, biasness, excellent traditional learning with contemporary modalities. One thing I was concerned by and later thankful was the sporatic drug screening. Today we laugh about it, but it made us consider how several other students from his former school were involved in such, and how it was never realized until it was too late. We are greatful for the values, skills learned and wonderful experiences bestowed to us from the Foundation Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

The students here are amazing! This school really brings out the best in its students. They are like one big family.


Posted October 2, 2007

We had an awful experience with this school. It is very disorganized and poorly managed. We had to pull our child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

Our 12 year old son loves it, student/teacher ratio is 15:1 so learning is prevalent and successful. Every time we have been to the school the kids are reading, writing, learning and being courteous to each other. Our son is an 'A' student and it shows he loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

It gives kids so much confidence!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 6, 2005

Teachers are really interested in the progress of the kids. The extra curricular classes are really good.Ive seen the art that these students creat and its phenominal.The plays that are done at the theater are broadway! To see some of these kids flourish in their talents outside of the classroom is something to be seen. I had concerns at first,but having them there for only a year I know my kids are in a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

If you want a school to 'find' the best that you know exists in your student that a public school cannot bring out: Foundation is the place, truly individualized program, it's where they see your whole child vs. just academics. Self-esteem is important to the faculty and staff, creativity is treasured. Nadia, owner/principal, nicest woman ever! HUGE heart for her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

This school was a god send. They took the time with my child to make her bloom. She gained self confidence and was able to work on the areas that she needed extra help on. The teachers and administrator did not over react to 'teenage' behavior. My daughter is now participating in a play, something I never thought I would see. I was encourage to get involved in the everyday school activities as well as the 'special' activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2004

My children have only been at the school for a few weeks. This has been long enough, however, to be able to get to know the staff and students. All i can say is - excellent. The staff has been a tremendous blessing to our children and family. I have volunteered several times, so I've gotten to know most of the staff. They are very caring, loving, kind, and supportive. Their only concern is for the students. The focus is on providing the best education possible for every child. They are challenged to work to their full potential. The atmosphere is peaceful and joyful. The staff and students interact on every level. This is truly a family oriented school. We are totally blessed to have our children attending the foundation academy. Thank you, everyone, for all you do for the kids and their families. You are truly god's special angels.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 29% 23%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3675 San Pablo Road South
Jacksonville, FL 32224
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 241-3515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foundation School
Jacksonville, FL





Discovery Montessori School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Providence School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT