Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Jacksonville, FL
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seacoast Christian Academy 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Seacoast Christian Academy, particularly the elementary school, is an awful private school which is designed to trap low-income students through the Florida's "Step-Up" scholarship. They are adding a grade level every school year, and will be adding 3rd grade in 2015-2016. The turnover rate of the teachers are high, and they hire teachers who are not certified. The school does not have a library, computer lab, or any other up-to-date technology or resources that other schools have. Resources, such as music, P.E., Spanish, and Art are conducted in the classroom due to limited space. There is no special education teacher or teacher aide to assist with students who are struggling academically, and they accept students who have serious behavioral problems with no staff trained to handle them. Please do not send your child to this school, as he or she will fall behind academically, and will not have any extra-curricular activities to challenge or enrich your child. If you are looking for a quality Christian school for your elementary child, I would take a look at Grace Lutheran School, University Christian School, or Christ the King Catholic School. These schools are about $1500-$2500 a year more than Seacoast Christian Academy, but the quality of education is well worth it! Also Impact Christian Academy is a new school opening up this year (K3-12th grade), and based on the tour that I did, and the administrative team and their credentials, this school is striving to be top notch as well. Their teachers are all certified, experienced and deemed highly qualified based on reviews from previous principals. The elementary tuition is around $7950.00 a year. Seacoast Christian Academy is a bad choice for elementary students! They take your scholarship monies and provide a subpar education through non-certified, under-qualified teachers, for your children! Please do not cripple your child this way. You would do better to get them in a quality public school if money is an issue.

Seacoast Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
There was only one teacher this school year who was certified. One teacher had a temporary certificate. The other teacher is not certified at all. The new upcoming school year, none of the elementary teachers will certified. I know that many of the students who completed Kindergarten this 2014-2015 school year are struggling readers or cannot read at all.


Seacoast Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are encouraged to give a homework packet, instead of giving homework daily. The advantage of this, is that students have their homework for the week, and can work on it at an individual pace. The disadvantage is that some students tend to do the homework packet in one day, and therefore do not benefit from daily practice or reinforcement of newly learned skills.

Seacoast Christian Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Diligence is a characteristic that is discussed in chapel and in particular Bible curriculum. However, the curriculum is watered down, and there is little to no resources available to help students who fall below grade level expectations.

Seacoast Christian Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
The school's administration and teachers talk to the students about respecting others, but they tend to show favoritism toward certain students. Other students can and do pick up on this.


Seacoast Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Seacoast does have chapel for the students once a week, and a bible curriculum that stresses characteristics of compassion, caring and empathy toward others.

Seacoast Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
The staff and administration are not honest or people of integrity, and the students are often privy to this pettiness and unprofessional behavior.

Seacoast Christian Academy 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is not what they portray themselves to be. The administrator, high school principal and many teachers are only concerned about appearances. This school has been there for their family and friends and the rules are not applied equally to everyone. If one of them decides that your child is not doing something correctly or believes what they believe, then your child will be punished in different waysl. I would not recommend this school. The administrator and principal would not discuss problems that my children experienced at ths school. In many situations they actually made the situation worse and allowed the students to bully certain students and gossip about others. This was a terrible atmosphere for my chldren. Once we moved to public school - we also realized how far behind the academics were in many of the subjects.
2 people found this helpful


Seacoast Christian Academy 1

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
The quality of education at this school is lacking. The teachers are not the most qualified - especially in the core classes of math and english. My child experienced bullying at this school and the administration turned their head. They are more concerned with appearances and money than they are the children. There is so much favortism and clicks at this school - you will be disappointed if you child is not in "the group." We are in public school now and the quality of education and the teachers are so much better. Save your money.
2 people found this helpful

Seacoast Christian Academy 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from Seacoast in 2005. I attended from the 3rd grade on and I want to thank the teachers who prepared me for my future. I recently graduated from the University of South Florida with a degree in International Business. I highly recommend Seacoast Christian Academy. Parents can rest assured that their kids are getting a great education with caring teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seacoast Christian Academy
8057 Arlington Expressway, Jacksonville, FL  32211
(904) 722-1738
Last modified Seacoast Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Seacoast Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top