Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ's Church Academy

Private | K-12 | 637 students

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2009

I love this school. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. GREAT teachers, great academics, great opportunities. While public schools are cutting fine arts and PE, MCS is expanding in those areas!!! So important for our kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

I thave 3 childen attending MCS. Two in the elementary school and one in middle school this year and high school next year. We have been part of MCS for 8 years and I could never imagine leaving. The most wonderful, loving, staff, and teachers around. High quality acedemics and postive Christian atomosphere is what makes MCS so special. I would not want my children any other place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I was just reading the other reviews and noticed that someone wrote that marketing wasn't really doing anything and they saw nothing that screams MCS. I find that to be inaccurate as I see MCS ads and information all over Jacksonville. I've seen our ads in local newspapers on several occasions, as well as actual articles written about our school. This is the very reason I even found out about the school. I was just coming to this site to boast about the leadership and teachers of our school. As a fairly new family to MCS, one that has been to a total of 3 other schools before MCS, I can say that this is a special place. The leadership has evident hearts for Christ, and the teachers are phenomenal. I'm eager to see where our new Headmaster will take us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

MCS offers a strong curriculum that is challenging for my son. In this society of 'teaching to the FCAT', crude behavior in the public schools, unqualified teachers whose tenure secure their jobs, we are blessed to have the opportunity for a real education. The public schools and many of the private schools in Jacksonville are just plain sad. The small class size is hard to beat and the teachers are like none I've seen before - caring, dedicated and competent. I recently read that it is not a requirement for private schools to ensure teacher certification, but after researching our own school, I found that all MCS teachers are certified and beyond! We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Striving for excellence, but not perfect. None of us are after all. Kingdom Education with commited hearts at the helm are steering this vessel. We are all works in progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

We had a great year at MCS this year. My child's teacher was very involved and was helpful with a specific problem we dealt with at the beginning and middle of the year. After talking with friends who have children in public schools, I'm so glad we made a decision to send our child to a Christian School. The Fine Arts department is top-notch and has more options/variety than most other schools in this area. MCS - you're doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I'm so thankful for a school with teachers and leaders who are grounded in God's word, and making it a priority to instill that on my children. After watching an incredibly special inaugural senior graduation last week, I have a renewed sense of excitement at the future my children have in this school. This is an awesome, God-centered school and my family couldn't be happier. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

Wow! What a great education my child is getting. My friends child transferred to public school after 8 years at MCS and says public school is way to easy. He is in all advance classes now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My daughter loves MCS. We have been very pleased with the teachers. While it is not perfect, it is a good school. I find it interesting that many of the parents that complained about the school have trouble writing sentences that are grammatical correct!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Thank God it is almost over. The school I once loved is falling apart at the seams. Elementary leadership is awesome but homework is overbearing! I'm tired of spanish being driven down our throats a well. Exercise please the kids need it daily! Healthy food is a must! my child got 7 nachos and had to ask for more, which they wanted me to pay for! defensive, non listening administration. Time to open the eyes up the school is drowing. The sports department is ran horribly! This school was top notch at one time and still can be but there's been a lot of damage! Lots to fix, morale is down and parents in the hallway aren't happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I was so relieved when MCS added high school. The thought of sending my child to public high school was terrifying! Academically, other schools just don't compare. And the Fine Arts department has so much more to offer than I have seen elsewhere. I have also had the opportunity to see first hand the caring nature of the principal and dean, and I'm quite sure we would never get this kind of family atmosphere from most other schools. I love this school and so does my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

The school has really gone down hill in the past two years. i'll be withdrawling my children. the sports program (or lack there of) has coaches that never even played their sport, not smart or safe. kids scream the Lord's name in vain, not one adult intercedes. Biblical world view doesn't seem to be the quest more like your pocketbook. administration is unapprochable and takes ligitimat issues personally and defensively. they think we parents dont get it but we do get it. Too much homework, too tough schoolwork, no time for kids to be kids. 8 hours a day should be sufficient to learn. hours of useless homework. pushing way too hard way too fast on our youth. I want my kids to remember having fun growing up not always doing homework thee teachers aren't teaching. no wonder teen issues are on the rise they never have down time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

This is our first year at MCS and my son is in First grade. After such a bad time in the Duval county public schools for kindergarten we decided to make a change. His teacher is great and the elementary school principal has gone above and beyond for my son. My only complaint is that it is very expensive and with our second child entering kindergarten next year it will be very rough and I dont know if we can send them long term. I just wish a christian education was more affordable for a middle class family with 2 kids. and the second child discount of 135.00 for the year(13.50 per month) didnt really help when this school will be getting about 17,000 dollars from me next year with tuition and before and after care for my 2 kids. I think they need a better second child discount.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

MCS has great teachers for the most part, there are a few that never smile and always bite your head off or are gossiping about the students and other teachers in the halls. The AD is unapproachable and rude. The sports program is drowning and the heads of school need to get his heads out of the sand and start listening to what the parents and students want and need sense she won't. My girls have had more friends leave this school for this very reason. Favortism is so apparent with the softball program as I'm sure others. I mean can his daughter win the award every? Mine don't even play and would never for this school. You can't tell me the AD can't see that! teacher always sitting at desk and not teachig when I go. Curriculum is too hard for an average student. Don't build MCS they won't come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Mandarin Christian School has been such a great experience for my child and my family. It is like a second home to us. MCS has such a caring staff and active parent organization. Thanks and keep up the great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

We have two children in the school. One in the upper school and one in the lower school. We love this place. What a great blend of Christian perspective, academic excellence, and extra-curricular activities. MCS is a safe and caring place and they really do want what is best for each child and family. We love to volunteer and be involved in our children's school and MCS allows us to be active participants in the education of our children. We highly recommend the school to our friends and those that are looking for a Christian school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

MCS is a terrible horrible place. The tuition ends up being, like, 3 times more expenisve than they say too. Hidden costs galore! Academics are bad and so are the sports teams. My kids hate this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

The academics at Mandarin Christian have suffered greatly since the addition of the high school. While there are still some excellent teachers who really care about the students, many of the teachers could not care less. MCS lacks an actual lab, but offers classes centered around lab work. This is our ninth year at this school, and my 4 bright and athletic children will all be leaving very shortly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

Mandarin Christian School was once a very loving environment where my children were very happy. However, we have been greatly disappointed by [the] administration. My children are no longer challenged, only miserable. The Upper School is of very poor quality. Mandarin Christian can once again become a great school, but to do so, it needs to listen to the needs of its families. Mandarin Christian is simply not worth your time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

My children are in 5th and 8th grade and have been MCS since Kindergarten. We absolutely love this school! The academics are strong as well as the sports and fine arts programs. The environment is supportive yet challenges the students to always do their best. The partnership between the administration, teachers, and parents is strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High school recently won two engineering competition awards: Jacksonville University and The USA Army Corps of Engineers (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • Varies by grade
School end time
  • Varies by grade
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Milton Threadcraft, Phd
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (904) 880-3251

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Elementary Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Our parent-teacher partnership (ptp) program plays a significant role in mandarin christian school
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10850 Old Saint Augustine Road
Jacksonville, FL 32257
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 493-5453

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Joseph Catholic School
Jacksonville, FL




Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT