Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Joshua Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 149 students

Our School is known for Academics and Sports.
 
 

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $44,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

My name is Vanessa Mitchell and I'm so proud of joshua . I put both my children there and was so impressed the way and what they learned I would recommend any body to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

I would not recommend this money hungry schoo to my worst enemyl. The director does not know how to talk to parents, teachers or students. They are more concern with how to make or save a dollar then the kids education. The students do not have consistant homework or classwork. My child report card indicates he was taught pre algebra but I later found out from the math teacher it was only 6th/7th grade basic math. The director is not an approachable. Do not send your kids to this school if you are looking for a high quality education and christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

This school unforturnately does not live up to what they commit to parents. The kids dont have homework on a consistent basis and the principal belittles the children and staff. Proceed with CAUTION! With some a small environment you would think they could get a better hold on the students behavior but some things are allowed that should not be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

My children have attended Joshua for the last 8 years. It is an excellent school. The leadership is phenominal and the effort that they make to ensure that your child learns and that you are informed is excellent. They are by far the the most cost effective private school in Duval County considering the quality of schooling they provide. One thing I have notice about this school is that they genuinely care about my children and that's important to me. Another thing I like is that they required me to get involved in my children's academic success. If you are a parent that is cheap and can care less about your academic acheivement or your simply looking for a school that will give your child grades then this is probably not the school for your child(ren).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My Children attended Joshua for over 5 years in the begining it was a good school, or so I thought. They are focused on the $$$ and not kids education. They purchase the cheapest books from abeka and are not focused on highr learning. If you are looking for a begining for your child Pre-K/K it's okay but not beyond that. When I moved my kids to Public school they were so far Behind, this was after scoring extremely high on the SAT there. So glad I pulled them out wish I had done it sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I have a kid that was there for 5years and i love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

Joshua Christian Academy is an excellent school. My child has been a student since preschool. He is now in the fifth grade. He has excelled each year and this year scored Post High school on the SAT. I am greatful forthe care and concern for excellence this school exemplifies. Keep up the good work Joshua. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I'm a parent whose child is attending Joshua Christian Acdemy, and I feel that they have their priorities are not in order it feels as if they care more about the outer apperance of their studentd than the education, especcially the principal. This is not a school that I would recomend to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 23%
Hispanic 1% 29%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title 1 Principal of the Month (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FACCS
Fax number
  • (904) 388-2262

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
More from this school
  • The result of cumulative prayer, preparation, planning, research, knowledge and love, our Bible-based Christian school’s goal is to prepare students for life by implanting in them the word of God and His teachings as well as daily magnifying Him in their home, church, school and community. Founded on high academic and spiritual standards as the educational ministry of the church, JCA strives to successfully educate the total child.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
62
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
62

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

924 St Clair St
Jacksonville, FL 32254
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 388-2227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




KIPP Impact Middle School
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT