Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lavilla School of the Arts

Public | 6-8 | 1110 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2008

LaVilla was by far the best school i have ever attended. i went all three years and as the years went on i loved it more and more. at lavilla you are free to express yourself through your arts area and you get to hang ut with people that have the same intrests as you.i learned so much through my arts area teachers, especilly my technical theatre class and costume design class. the academic teachers there are also amazing. they take time to individualy talk ablout problems and struggles you are going through in class. this school does an amazing job at preparring you for your next step in life, highschool. through lavilla i learned more than enough skills to get accepted into douglas anderson school of the arts. i love this school and i recommend it to any one and everyone dedicated to academics and thier arts areas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

i absolutly love this school.here your in an environment where you can express who you are.the teachers are amazing, you can talk to them as if they were one of your friends.this is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

Lavilla is a great school for artistic middle schoolers. Whether its academics or arts areas lavilla has it under control. I am currently going into the 8th grade and every year Lavilla has gone above and beyond expectations. I am happy to go to Lavilla!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

LaVilla Scholl of the Arts is an elite magent school. A vast majority of students are at LaVilla due to the excellence of their audition. This school has phenomenal academics which is key to maintain high standards at every level. (students must perform well in academics as well as their chosen arts area). This school prepares students to enter Douglas Anderson High School of the Arts. This high school is filled by audition only. I can think of no better place for my student to flourish as she explores her God-given talents and abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

lavilla school of the arts is the best there is....I sent my son to private school all through elementry..I personally the education was as good as any private school in the city. My son found his nitch at Lavilla, his self-esteem was able to flower. By the far the best middle school in Jacksonville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

I have been going to lavilla for 3 years now. lavilla rocks! lavilla has all you will ever need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2008

I love this school. I have been going to it since I was in 6th grade and now I am in 8th and going Douglas Anderson School of the arts. And I love the fact that I can do my art (dancing) and keep up with my academics. So instead of working one side of the brain and can work both. Which makes you a much more well rounded person and have alot more career options in your life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

The school and population are very amazing. I'm always exciting to be a part of such a talented group of people. But the administration seem to get overwhelmed sometimes and it makes things harder to get done. So they have to rush situations that take time. That is not always the case thought. It rarely ever happens, but when it does, stress levels are high around campus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

This school is an excellent school and has a lot of academic help and has a lot of after school stuff like team up, tutoring.Grade recovery and many more
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

it's a freaking awesome school and i'm proud to go there!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2007

It as an awsome I school!!!!!!! I love it their!!!!!! I don't want to leave for D.A.!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2007

I love LaVilla, it is great 4 every kind of person, it is a great program for talented kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

It is a great school the teachers and students are wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2007

Ive been a student at lavilla for three years now and i think its ok. If you really love your arts area, you should go here. I have been in art, drama, chorus, and my major, creative writing. The math and language arts teachers are very good. The arts area teachers are ok, often if you try to contact them, they will not anwser you back. Great school to go to if you want to go to douglus anderson high school ( lavilla's feeder school). I personally am going to attend stanton college prep because i found myself growing bored of attending classes for my arts area for three years in row and dont want to go to da for another 4 years of it. If you go to lavilla, make sure you love your arts area. Best school ive ever attended. Horriable school lunches. Hehe. No uniform is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

LaVilla is 10 in my book for middle schools. It is well funded, an 'A' school, has excellent arts area teachers and great academic teachers. It has a dedicated staff who work hard to make the school not only academically, but artistically and to help the students well rounded individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

My daughter has been going to LaVilla Middle School for two years now...Best choice we made !! Good school, good teachers.....for good students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My son has been going to Lasota for 2 years now. I must say that this year has been the worst year. If your child has any type of behaviour problems this is not the school for them. I feel like my child gets referrals for breathing the wrong way. They look for my son to get in trouble. As far as the academics,teachers do not contact you. I initially was very happy when he was accepted here but I do not think he will go here next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

My daughter has attended LaVilla for three years and it saddens me to see her leave such a special school. She was in the gifted program where all of her teachers were incredibly pleasant and challenging for the students. My daughter also branched socially outside of the gifted program; meeting friends through art or PE classes. Though the physical education program lacked proper resources, it was perfectly adaptable and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed it. The student body of course has its differences, but I found the kids could all connect through their art. LaVilla is a school full of normal kids that enjoy music, or dance, etc. Its the best place to go if you are serious about your arts area, but you shouldn't feel intimidated. My daughter has many friends that take beginner courses and love it. LaVilla was the best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Wonderful arts electives, interesting and insightful academic courses. Great parent involvment. Would like to see a greater celebration of diversity, as American art is so very rich due to the contributions from such a diverse poplulation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Teachers really care about the kids. Strong arts classes. Can be difficult to balance academics and arts schedule for the student and parent. Minimal gym class and no sports at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Black 34% 23%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%65%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 N Davis St
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 633-6069

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John E. Ford K-8 School
Jacksonville, FL






Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT