Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lavilla School Of The Arts

Public | 6-8 | 1119 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2010

My daughter just started the 6th grade at La Villa, and I have to say that even though that was our first choice, after reading the reviews I'm reassure that we made the right one. I'm so happy that my daughter can use her spirited personality in such a positive way. Her imagination have no limits and the creative writing area is the perfect fit for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

LaVilla is a fabulous school! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My daughter started the 6th grade at LaVilla this year and LOVES it! She has excelled in her visual arts area with the exceptional guidance of her instructors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

I now attend LaVilla at the moment, in 8th grade, and I feel so very grateful that I get to go to a school with such passion for everything. There is your regular middle school drama chock full of cliques and trying to fit in, but it's great, because at LaVilla, we tend to understand differences more, and can work out our problems by using our talent and spirit. I will never forget this achieving school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2010

The school is awsome for children hungry for knowledge about the arts.I got accepted!!! I never knew that i would. I didnt know anything about that school until MLK Elementry told me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

this school is an excellent school! im in 8th grade here and my overall experience here has been great. its best of both worlds becasue you get the great acedemics and you also get to do what you love to do! the teachers and administrators here really care about how you learn and what youre doing. its just a great school. its also nice that they have high standards here too. you have to really have a passion for what you're doing to excell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

I am in 11th grade at DA now, but I went to LaVilla for 6th-8th grade and I loved it! Mrs.Griffin is an amazing director and she helped me improve a lot on violin! =D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

Best feeling of community. Best participation by parents/kids/teachers. Great School~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

im a 7th grader there an it i just way to many students there this year and we only have fou minutes to get to class and it would be cooler if we had sports at our school but its still a pretty good school because we have arts and that can get yo a long way
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

I am a 7th grader at lavilla and i loooove it! ms.griffin the orch. teacher is soo nice! Any one who wants to go to this school has made a great choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

i LOVE La Villa!!i am in 6th and there is a fair amount of homework but its not bad. my chorus teacher mr.pendry is BRILLIANT! the kids are really nice and i have friends that are in 6th grade, 7th grade, AND 8th grade!! if you love the arts and our willing to WORK then La Villa is perfect!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

I was excited but nervous when my child was accepted to attened lasota. She has an IEP , but that didn't change anyting . Im not saying it was the easiest school year she worked harder than she has ever had to. she was in all standard classes with 'average' kids and if needed to leave the class to go take a test then she could.I am extremelly thankful to her guidence coun. Mrs Sheard, her math teacher Mrs Wilson , (Mrs Smith who came in to toutor her 4 days a week for 5 months with math) and Mrs Lunger 4 her patience. These woman have contibuted themselves to my daughters succsess at this great school! Great kids, teacers ,faculty, guidence, custodians (love u Mrs daniels) lunch ladies ( thank u for feedin my baby!) and police officer that dirrects trafic makes 4 a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

i give it all five stars because its a great eand has very high expectations for students needs and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

i love lavilla it is so great i will go their intill the 8th grade. i am in band and i think it is so fun.we have a preformance coming up and i can't stop thinking about it.we have been practicing and practicing.sometimes lavilla can be tough but itis easy to catch up.other times every one is fun and energized like me. i just love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2009

I love Lavilla.I'm in the 7th grade and take chorus and drama.I love Mr.Pendry(chorus teacher).He is funny and nice.This school is very clean,there are nice people here so it is easy to make friends.I would definetly recommend this school cuz you can show your true talents and live ur dream.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

I love LaVilla. It is a great school. I'm a dancer there and the environment is great. You get all the help you need and you can sign up for after school help if you need it. I would recommend this school to someone who loves the Arts. So many great opportunities come from being here at LaVilla, I love it here. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

Im in 8th grade for singing and i absoplutly hate this school, Way to much stress! I have hours and hours of homework ever night, and thats not added with the rehearsal time! A majority of the people their are materialistic and can be rude. Even some of the teachers are rude. I was looking forward to going to this school, and now i cant wait to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

I go to lavilla for visual arts and it is an AMAZING school. the cafetiria food isn't all that great, but you get used to it. btw, this is a shoutout to Mr.Lux!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I love this school my child gets what she needs in everything . She loves the teachers and administration. I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

i luv lavilla . i am going into my third year there and i have learned so much in my academic calses and my art area(s)-band -keyboard. if u are still you are thinking of having your child or if they want to come here it would be a good oppurtunity.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

312 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Black 34%
Hispanic 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%65%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 North Davis Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 633-6069

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John E. Ford K-8 School
Jacksonville, FL






Hope Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT