Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

652 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kernan Trail Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
Lovely school. We miss KTE as we moved and son was transferred. Loved the teachers and staff. They have a nice environment there for learning.

Kernan Trail Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
The staff and principal are very caring and committed to excellence!


Kernan Trail Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school. The ESE program is wonderful. The principal and the administration is very caring.

Kernan Trail Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
Kernan Trail Elementary has great teachers, facilities and resources.

Kernan Trail Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter will be going back for her second year. They changed it back to being only elementary and brought in new administration. I am hopeful that this year will be as exciting as last!


Kernan Trail Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
We are very disappointed with Kernan Trail. Our child has a learning disability and even though he/she has received a minimum of 1 D each 9 weeks, we are assured he/she will pass to the next grade. As parents we feel they don't want to deal with our child and his/her problems and moving him/her to the next grade gets him/her off their roster. We are very unhappy with KTE and are trying to get our child out of there before he/she slips through the cracks one too many times and there is no hope. KTE serves middle of the road children only...if your child needs help don't count on it...unless they need tutoring for the FCAT so the school can get their funding.

Kernan Trail Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
My child is also in 3rd grade and it has been a difficult change from 2nd grade to 3rd grade and we are still struggling. I feel that the teachers are not compassionate and some of them are down right mean to the kids! There is no communication. I have never been told one positive thing regarding my child's school work. This is such a pivotal year due to FCAT and as a parent I feel the child is left to sink or swim! There is no organization with this school and there never has been. Orientation was a joke as well as open house night. I wish I could afford private school but I can't but I made a promise to my child that I will not allow she/he to become a statistic and fall through the cracks! The school needs to step up and do their part!

Kernan Trail Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
My child is in 3rd grade and it has been a difficult change for all 2nd graders. The teachers have been excellent with communication. The teachers at Kernan Trail are very friendly. The extended day program is excellent as well. The staff has improved the attitude. I do think the could be more organinized when it comes to the homework and the folders the children carry around. They have around 5 folders! My child loves this school and has made many friends.


Kernan Trail Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2008
- a teacher
I was a teacher at Kernan Trail in an 'all-inclusive' classroom (or, one of the big classes). The principal has great ideas and theories, and somehow pulls strings to get special programs at his schools that he thinks will be of great benefit to the students falling behind. If he's not very visible, its probably becuse his office isn't even on the elementary campus; it's down the street at the Middle school office- WHY...I have no idea!! That needs to change! It seems things would work more efficiently with two different principals for each campus. I requested his presence (and the AP's) many times for help- and never got any until it was virtually too late. If your child has an LD or you suspect he or she does, get them some private tutoring because they will not get the instruction they need out of any public school in Florida.

Kernan Trail Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2008
- a parent
I love this school and have faught to keep my kids enrolled even though we moved outside of the district

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kernan Trail Elementary School
2281 Kernan Boulevard South, Jacksonville, FL  32246
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (904) 220-1310
Last modified Kernan Trail Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top