Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oceanway Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 569 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2011

I feel this is a great school now that it has been around for a few years now and has a stable principal. I feel this school is going in the right direction and is a great school to send your kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Leadership keeps changing and continued focus on FCAT and not necessarily learning. They are not given enough physical education and a select few of the teachers are far too impatient with the students. There is definitely room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I use to go there i liked it a lot but the new PRINCIPAL is not nice at all Mr.**** is a whole lot better than she is i am sorry to say this but she is not all good in my opinion. With all due respect Former student


Posted August 16, 2010

We were a little nervous about our daughter attending Oceanway Elementary since everyone I spoke to about it said it was a bad school. My husband toured the school and liked it though so we decided to try it out. My daughter is now going into 2nd grade there and we are very happy with the teachers she's had so far and with the school overall. The head staff (principal's, vice principals) keep changing every year, but all the other schools are experiencing that too. Please don't go by others opinion's as the school has changed a lot over the past few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

This school needs more 1 on 1 time with the 2nd grade classes that have special needs. There is only one teacher that teaches this program and is only in the class rooms one time a week.


Posted May 31, 2007

Excellent commitment to children and education, bravo! job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

This school is now under new management. Mr. Cobb has taken control and is beginning to turn this school around. The teachers work as a team now, and their voices are being heard. Together, with the PTA, they are changing the direction of the school, bringing it to a better place. The school does have its challenges in that it seems to have a very high number of ESE/SLD students. Don't let this put you off. The enthusiasm for change is contagious! Teachers are teaching, kids are learning. It's a whole different atmosphere than before. This is NOT the OLD Oceanway, it's a new and improved one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

We recently enrolled our son in Oceanway when we moved to Florida in March 2006. I am very disappointed with the quailty of education here and am just as frustrated with the teachers. It may be a new school but the leadership, academics, and activities are almost non-existent. There are no sports programs and recess consists of a couple laps around the cirle where we pick up the kids from school (the 'new' playground is in need of repair). There is no gifted program and no effort has been made to send my son to the neighboring school one day a week, as is the rule, for the gifted classes there. There is no challenge to the curiculum and the grade levels are learning things two grade levels below where the currenly are. We are currenly looking for a new house that is not in the Oceanway school zone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

If it wasn't for the fact the teachers here are great, I would have pulled my children out. The leadership here is non-existent, and any attempt to make things better are squashed by the principle,who lucky for the school is leaving. we will be going to Sheffield Elemetary because of district changes. Thank God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The teachers are very easy to work with and have tried very hard to keep my child challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

My daughters have gone to this schoold for four years. My oldest now attends Oceanway Middle, it is a wondeful school. My youngest daughter began Oceanway, struggling to learn to read and retain information. She has made wonderful progress and is a honor roll student, and made a perfect score on the reading portoion of her FCAT last year. I am very happy with the school. Both of my daughters are honor roll students, and my oldest is in advanced classes. If you are looking for a school with the 'Good old days' view, with teachers who still care about the kids, not what they are wearing or how much their parents make, this is the school. And thank you, to all the teachers and staff that make up that great school, we love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

we moved to this school from one of the top rated public elementary schools in the county so it was quite a shock to see what 'the other side' is like. while my son continued to maintain straight A's this year, he was harrassed constantly because he was smart. it seems academics are not a top priority in this area of town, or didn't used to be before all the new neighborhoods brought people from other areas. this is changing slowly but not quite fast enough. the school did have all the same elective programs as our old school but the administration is not as accessible to parents. I did not feel that the principal was visible enough, or a strong enough leader, this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

I enrolled my two children in Oceanway this year as we moved to the area. Previously my children attended another duval county school. I realize that it will take adjustment for my children as well as for myself however I feel that this is going to be an extremly long, insecure change. I recieved letters for the first 2 days from the principal encouraging parents to call with concerns however when she was contacted her question was 'how did you get my extension?' I feel that she should express her honest opinion on what she feels is best for the child but I also feel that she should be open for parent opinions as well. With our particular subject her reply was 'thats life and your child has to deal with it'. I am very discouraged and feel this was not nessasary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Black 18%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%65%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JACQUELYN SNEDDON
Fax number
  • (904) 696-8788

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12555 Gillespie Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 696-8762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Little Country School
Jacksonville, FL



Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT