Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oceanway Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
I feel this is a great school now that it has been around for a few years now and has a stable principal. I feel this school is going in the right direction and is a great school to send your kids

Oceanway Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
Leadership keeps changing and continued focus on FCAT and not necessarily learning. They are not given enough physical education and a select few of the teachers are far too impatient with the students. There is definitely room for improvement.


Oceanway Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a community member
I use to go there i liked it a lot but the new PRINCIPAL is not nice at all Mr.**** is a whole lot better than she is i am sorry to say this but she is not all good in my opinion. With all due respect Former student

Oceanway Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
We were a little nervous about our daughter attending Oceanway Elementary since everyone I spoke to about it said it was a bad school. My husband toured the school and liked it though so we decided to try it out. My daughter is now going into 2nd grade there and we are very happy with the teachers she's had so far and with the school overall. The head staff (principal's, vice principals) keep changing every year, but all the other schools are experiencing that too. Please don't go by others opinion's as the school has changed a lot over the past few years.

Oceanway Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a community member
This school needs more 1 on 1 time with the 2nd grade classes that have special needs. There is only one teacher that teaches this program and is only in the class rooms one time a week.


Oceanway Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oceanway Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oceanway Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
Excellent commitment to children and education, bravo! job well done.


Oceanway Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Oceanway Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2006
- a parent
This school is now under new management. Mr. Cobb has taken control and is beginning to turn this school around. The teachers work as a team now, and their voices are being heard. Together, with the PTA, they are changing the direction of the school, bringing it to a better place. The school does have its challenges in that it seems to have a very high number of ESE/SLD students. Don't let this put you off. The enthusiasm for change is contagious! Teachers are teaching, kids are learning. It's a whole different atmosphere than before. This is NOT the OLD Oceanway, it's a new and improved one!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oceanway Elementary School
12555 Gillespie Avenue, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 696-8762
Last modified Oceanway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oceanway Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top