Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kernan Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1209 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Posted October 5, 2013

I'm currently a Junior in high school attending Stanton and in the IB program and I honestly feel as if Kernan has not challenged me like it should have. Yeah it's not a magnet school, but still. After 'graduating' from middle school to high school I was completely overwhelmed by all the work I had to do in Stanton. I thought that I would be able to just breeze through tests without studying (as I did in Kernan) and wow was I wrong. In my 9th grade year I carried C's and D's and some B's and an A in HOPE.. All of my peers who attended schools such as Landon or JWJ or Kirby had an advantage over me and made me feel as if I did not belong at that school. Of course, I managed to adapt to the ways but it wasted my 9th grade year which I terribly regret. Anyways, if you want your child to be mentally and intellectually challenged, don't send them to Kernan. Otherwise, go ahead and enroll them in it.


Posted September 24, 2013

How does one decipher whether a school is good or not? Do they judge it by the appearance? Do they judge it by the aroma that escapes the cafeteria? Do they judge it by the kids? Well, I'll tell you one thing, there are many, many factors that play out when rating a school. For one thing, you would have to have experienced it, and I'm one of the many who have. To start off, I'd like to say that my disposition towards Kernan Middle School is that it is a COMMENDABLE school. The teachers are dedicated, the staff all share friendly faces, and the principle is outstanding! To judge Kernan on the outside, in my mind, is completely unheard of! I've told many this story, but when I first arrived at Kernan at the age of eleven, a brand new sixth grader, I was very uninspired in school. Though I made A's and B's, I didn't really put much effort into school. Kernan changed me. Kernan inspired me to push the limits and become who I am today. The new me is the one who puts the most effort into everything that they do. The new me is the one who goes the extra mile, just to make not only myself proud, but my teachers as well. Kernan is a caring wonderful school, and is by far my favorite.


Posted August 17, 2013

My son will be starting 8th grade at KMS for the 13-14 school year which will be his 3rd and final year here and again in House A. This school is a 'comprehensive' middle school, meaning it is more on an advanced or gifted level. The teachers have been wonderful and so have the subjects he has studied. He will be starting honors math and Spanish 1 this year which will count towards High School credits. He has had hands on in all of his classes and has had no problems with anything here. The only complaint he has was his typing class in 7th grade and the cafeteria food. I don't know what other parents mean when they say there is no communication. I can email any of his teachers and most of the times they email me first. If I write a note, I'll get a response. This has been the same for any teachers on any grade level. This school also participated in the archery in schools program meaning in PE, you'll get to shoot a bow and arrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I agree, this school is just average and just teach the basic standards and dont go above. I personally think this school won't prepare you for high school b/c they don't have the block schuedule and you'l get confused and suff. The administration can be rude as well.


Posted August 13, 2012

it says that they have an orientation on the paperwork my son got last week. it is on Friday August 17. from 9-11. unless the pape work was wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

Disappointed that this school doesn't have an orientation before school starts. My incoming 6th grader (new to Kernan) is stressing over going to a new school and something like this would really help alleviate this stress along with a lot of other children. She is now even more worried knowing there isn't any orientation. As a parent I like to stay involved. Hope they like parents there the first day interfering with first day activities... I'll be there, as I'm sure others will be due to this. I won't just throw my child to the wind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

Kernan Middle is a great school! I wish it continued on to high school... But Sandalwood here we come and we will make the absolute best of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

This is the worst school my son has ever been in! Total disconnect between administration and houses. Each house is run on their own like a school. My son started the school year here as 6th grader coming from another school district. Science teacher hands out worksheets, teachers fail to encourage students, absolutely no praise, cut corners in the classroom and send the majority of work home as homework for the student without textbooks or resources to finish and really learn it. The school hours are horrible, students start at 9:45am and get out at 4:00pm. By the time my son gets off the bus at 4:30pm we have 2 plus hours of homework, which pretty much eliminates any opportunity for extra curricular activities. He is a gifted A student who is learning to resent school for taking away all his "kid time" after homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Not impressed with this school. My child started & we quickly pulled her out of the school. Not a good envirnoment for learning. My child missed a couple days from school & as a test I didn't call the school. Not a surprise, the school never even made a call notifying us that our child was not in class unlike our former school that would immediately notify if a student didn't attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

it a great school I go there and its the best the teacher are kind and love to help us in any way they can
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

I think.. Kernan's lunch is very nice. and there is funny and nice ppl to hang with. But there is alot of violent. The teachers can be strict. I think it's an average school. and it's good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

Kernan middle offers a averadge area to learn the standerds. I dont agree with saying that they go above standerds to offten. They clean the area average and some teachers are not sutible to be teachers as far as emotional flaws. Overall its an average school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

NoSpirit, you sound like one of those parents that take the sports dept way too seriously! Plus, walking in those lines helps to curb fighting(which I happen to appreciate since I was getting picked on a lot). High schoolers are more mature so they don't need to walk in orderly lines. Plus, these lines help teach the middle schooler's organization and discipline.This school is very neat, organized, clean, and well taught(has some military influences of discipline). I just graduated from eighth grade and I will really miss this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

i think this school is cool but like other schools they dont teach students what they need to know. teachers teach kids that they need to be tought every thing. when i went into homeschooling i learned more in a book then all of kernan middle could tech me.


Posted January 26, 2009

This is my 1st year at this school and i love it.Its great school all the teachers are nice and i love love that they have the advanced or gifted classes for anyone wanting a challenge .
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2008

I've been going to Kernan for my whole middle school experience. Overall it is a good elementary school-notice i said elementary. Just because the Principal is also overseeing a elementary school does not mean that middle school students should be treated like they are in kindergarten-it would be nice for some independence- but the teachers are nice and caring funny too. Ms.Bass and Mr.Ball are very nice yet know how to handle the little behavior problems all the students are very different from other schools in the sense that they want to learn and do not want to get in trouble but i think if more fun things went down the students would behave a lot better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

All three of my children have attended Kernan's house C. I really like the way they have broke down the school into smaller schools. It gives the kids the advantages of a larger school (athletics, library, dances, etc) but keeps the small school charm - everybody knows everyone's name. My three all had really great teachers that never hesitated to call me when there was a problem. Confrences included all the child's core teachers. My only wish is that they would try to improve communication by utilizing the internet and web pages. Listing the teachers and their e-mails for parents to better communicate, after school activities, school sports try-outs, etc. A few of the teachers have their own, which was great! It would just be nice to be able to find them all under the Kernan Middle School website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

the school is amazing i was cd student and became an a-b student
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

this school is terrible. before i came there, i was a A-B student, i recently graduated from there, and am now a C-D student at sandalwood, mainly b/c the teachers couldn't teach. also, they do not prepare kids for high school at all. they don't have a bell, tell us to walk in lines consistantly, put us in all the same classes with our homeroom classes, etc. and parents aren't very involved whatsoever. i highly do not recommend this school. you should send your kids to landmark or anywhere else possible.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

376 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

379 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

376 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

380 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

400 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Black 24%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%65%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2271 Kernan Boulevard South
Jacksonville, FL 32246
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 220-1350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Landmark Middle School
Jacksonville, FL



Providence School
Jacksonville, FL



Eunice Christian School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT