Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
65 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
My son has been treated with the utmost of respect from the teachers, staff and it is also expected among the students. I can honestly say, that if there is any issue with bullying or respect, it is handled immediately.

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Regardless of the background, ethnicity or learning style, each student is treat with the utmost of respect and it is expected in return.


Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Jodi Shea is the most amazing, compassionate, professional and caring principal of any school my children have attended.

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Our son is in his second year at Center Academy. We can not say enough wonderful things about what this school has done for all of us. Our son never gets lost in the shuffle and if a subject becomes confusing or too difficult, the entire staff works to help him. We are updated whenever there is an issue or need with our son, and communication is the best of ANY school our children have attended. Our son has gone from anxious, nervous and non productive in the school environment, to being an enthusiastic learner. School is a challenge for him, but he is now learning that it also has it's rewards. I wish we had found Center Academy sooner.

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Making the switch to Center Academy has been one of the best decisions we could have made for our son. The administration, faculty, and staff have all been wonderful, and I know that my son isn't getting lost in the shuffle. Communication is always great, and it feels more like a family than at his previous school.


Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
My son was diagnosed with Aspergers and anxiety and started to have physical and emotional issues during middle school. We searched for a school that could accommodate him. Center Academy has been such a wonderful answer to my son's education. Mrs. Jodi Shea, the director is an amazing administrator. She has the right balance of love, compassion, knowledge, organization and humor to successfully run a school like Center Academy. She is a gift to the school. The help she has given our family and the accommodations she has made for our son and the emotional support has been amazing. And she is supported by an amazing administrator, Ms. Sue who is truly an angel and takes care of the students and the school. The teachers have supported, and mentored our son. The students are well cared for, well educated and in a safe loving environment. Thank you Center Academy!

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
My son came to Center Academy as a senior. We were looking for a school that would customize an individual learning plan tailored to his specific needs. Since starting 5 months ago, we have witnessed tremendous growth, increased confidence, and improved academics. The staff and administration create a warm, caring and safe environment for students to learn and grow. I would highly recommend Center to any parent.

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Center Academy does a fabulous job working with ADHD children. My daughter and her friends have attended many schools in the Jacksonville area but none can compare to the level of education, the motivation provided, and the dedication of the faculty.


Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
We transferred our son to this private school for another local provate school that he was not doing to well in. We were a bit skeptical, as he has had some issues at his last two schools with the curriculum and with teachers and fellow students. Specifically with his Indivualized Education Plan for special educational needs. To our delight, he has exceed our expectations. He is currently carrying a individualized course load above most students and has about a 3.6 GPA. What he likes most is the smaller setting, not moving around from class to class and the individualized work plan. Apparently our son strives off self study and individualized work. Thank you Center Academy!

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
My son loves his school! He makes friends easily and the teachers are a hug help. Every one at Center Academy gets along with each other. That's a sign of a great school! Center Academy is an extraordinary place where proper education. I will recommend this school to anyone. The teachers are very compassionate and worked one on one with each student to ensure the students needs first and foremost. Safety and discipline and regularly revised and supervision on the school rules were always enforced allowing things to run smoothly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff
2804 St. Johns Bluff Road, Jacksonville, FL  32246
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (904) 645-5366
Last modified Center Academy-St. Johns Bluff is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Top