Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-4|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


A Child's Place Montessori School 1

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
My wife and I came to the conclusion within two weeks of the start of school that our goals and objectives were completely incompatible with the manner in which A Child’s Place Montessori School is carrying out it’s interpretation of the Montessori philosophy. As a result, the only logical conclusion was to remove our daughter immediately and seek another school. We had a complete a lack of trust in A Child’s Place Montessori School and in our daugther's classroom staff. This however was not because we overlooked the “…more than 30 years combined experience…” it is because the classroom staff in particular and the school in general do not portray the qualities that we consider fundamental to instilling confidence and trust into parents and consequently into the children they are entrusted with on a daily basis. Experience is one quality that is important in almost any endeavor or career because if forms the basis of practical knowledge and comes from the practice of direct observation and/or participation in ones field of expertise. However, this is not the only quality important to the teaching profession. The ability to motivate a student, to excite their quest for knowledge and growth and to create a positive and caring environment in which to acquire knowledge and interact with their peers are all qualities equally as important as experience. It is in these qualities that Ilaria’s classroom staff and as a consequence, A Child’s Place Montessori School, falls short. The execution of the very noble ideal of Montessori cannot be successful without classroom staff that exude confidence in themselves, that carry themselves and interact in a manner that demonstrates to both children and parents that they really care about the childrens' wellbeing, and that stimulates a child’s desire to learn and explore his or her world. We would be more than happy to allow our daughter to remain in the school if we felt she was doing so in a positive environment with motivated and caring professionals as has been the case in the past at almost all the other schools she has attended. However, this does not exist in her classroom at A Child’s Place Montessori School. My wife and I are very committed to the philosophy and techniques created and developed by Dr Maria Montessori, however, just not at A Child’s Place.

A Child's Place Montessori School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Same as previous reason regarding harassment. In the presence of harassment, respect cannot develop. A child cannot develop respect for her classmates or teachers when harassment is taking place on a daily basis.


A Child's Place Montessori School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Same reason as previous. You cannot develop caring and compassion without teachers that exude empathy. This was absent in our daughter's classroom.

A Child's Place Montessori School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
The school does not discipline harassment of one child by another. Therefore, honesty, integrity and fairness cannot be developed in an environment where harassment is allowed to go on.

A Child's Place Montessori School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! Both of my girls have attended since they were infants and we love it. One of my daughters is about to "graduate" and her academic, social, and conflict resolution skills are seriously impressive. I have seen their teachers go out of their way to address the special needs of children many times and find creative ways to solve personality or learning challenges. Many of the teachers have been there for over 10 years and have continued their education and professional development in Montessori -- this tells me that they enjoy and are committed to the school they are working at (which says a lot to me in a sector that has a fair amount of turnover). I absolutely adore the Director at Southpoint -- she is fair, compassionate, and cares deeply about each and every child in her school. Each classroom has iPads that the kids use for research and reports. I urge anyone who is genuinely interested in Montessori to tour this school and make their own decision.


A Child's Place Montessori School 2

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
BAD! I dealt w/ this school for 5 years w/ 3 different kids. The school is underfunded, doesn't have the proper resources or techology, or the proper number of certified teachers for the number of students enrolled. The infant & toddler program is great but they totally sucks when it comes to primary education. U must literally do exactly want they say & your child must fit their mole which is quite, average or slowly developing kids. If your child is expectionally gifted or talented, the school doesn't have the adquedate teachers to suppport & development the child properly. They are contantly short staffed & love to make it your problem by having u to pick your kid up early because they are supposely sick or suggest to reduced the kids schedule for their conveience while blaming it on the kids needs. After checking with other former parents, this is a common for them. Over the years I have seen some improvements in the schools materials but they tremendously lacking behind other schools when it comes to techonlogy. But most important, they love to tell U have to run your marriage which causes many problems between U & your spouse. Other former parents totally agree.

A Child's Place Montessori School 1

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
We are very dissapointed with this school. I get the sense that something is wrong in there. There is a fake sense of caring, of enjoyment, and of actually wanting to be a teacher/educator among the staff and teachers. It is surprising and sad at the same time. I heard and saw one of their teachers talking to one of the students and I was shocked and just wowed at how cold and uncaring the teacher's approach was. The look on that child face was memorable, just sad, being talked down to. But its not that one teacher, the principal is not much better. Just take your child somewhere else in a more loving and nuturing environment, they deserve better. If you plan to pay for school pay for somewhere where they actually care and are not fake.

A Child's Place Montessori School 4

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since she was 3 and she is now 7. We tried a new school for a short period of time in 1st grade , but after daily complaints of how she was so bored in school because the work was far too easy, we put her back in this school. This is the perfect school for a independant , motivated child. May daughter has thrived on having the tools to be able to explore work that was way beyond her grade level.


A Child's Place Montessori School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a community member
A previous review of 8/21/10 said 'Their philosophy is that the children will tell them when they want to learn.' My understanding of Montessori from reading is that yes a good Montessori school follows the child when they are most receptive to a particular skill or task. 'Follow the child' is a key component in a 'prepared Montessori enviornment.' I trusted the Montessori philosophy with my two daughters and I'm convinced that it helped them to grow into inquisitive, caring, compassionate, self driven young people. No, it's not about how fast a child learns, it is about how well and how motivated a child is when learning. In my humble opinion, these are the more important lessons we took from a Montessori environment.

A Child's Place Montessori School 1

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
The principal does not listen to what the parents are trying to tell her and the owner is not involved with the parents at all. The primary class teacher is not interested on encouraging the children to learn new things at all, thus the children develop a lot of lazy habits. Their philosophy is that the children will tell them when they want to learn, but it makes no-sense since children have no idea what they are suppose to learn. Skip this school if you are looking for a primary school.

Nearby schools

A Child's Place Montessori School
12601 San Jose Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL  32223
(904) 268-4050
Last modified A Child's Place Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-4
Top