Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harvest Community School

Private | PK-12 | 263 students

Our school is best known for focusing on the heart of the student.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2007

I have been a parent at this school for a year now. I have found the staff to be dishonest, and the religion to be over the top. We will not be returnning. Unfortutate, because the concept is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

We have had two children at HCS for several years and love it. Ours teachers have been awesome not only in academic material, but also in loving and encouraging the students. Administration has an open door policy and is always willing to meet with parents. Parents are required to have a background check and are encouraged to be involved in the classroom. Lesson plans are provided so you always know what is going on in the class and we get frequent e-mail communication from the school as well as our teachers. It is obvious that the faculty truly believes in what they are doing and has their heart in it - this isn't just a job for them; it's a ministry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My children have been at Harvest Community School for the past 5 years. My husband and I feel that this has been one of the best decisions we have made for our family! We have had a total of 8 teachers during this time. Although we may not see eye to eye on every little issue, we have never had a teacher that we did not feel geniunely cared for and loved our kids. Our children have been encouraged and affirmed each year. One of our favorite things about Harvest is that the teachers truly see themselves as mentors to the children. Our children continue to have great relationships with all their past teachers! It makes me feel good as a parent to know that my children are happy, secure, and growing in a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

If you would like your child enrolled in a academically and morally sound school, Harvest is the place for you. We have been a part of the school for 3 years and have found the academics superior to any private school in the area. We know because we have looked around. But that is not why we stay at Harvest. To have your child challenged academically is wonderful, but to have their hearts in check daily with Biblical world views, is why we love Harvest. Every teacher can and does talk about the love of God and discipleship in every subject. The parent support and administration communication is phenominal. Small class size and gifted teachers make learning fun and exciting. My children look forward to school each day and are becoming great thinkers with knowledge, not regurgitaters of facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

What a PRIVILEGE it is for our family to be a part of a school whose heart is for the both the parents and our next generation! We have been partnering with Harvest for six wonderful years and we are looking forward to many more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

HCS seems like a 'great' school on the surface, but when you get involved you realize it's the exact opposite. The administration uses poor judgement on important issues regarding the students safety and overall well being. When you bring your concerns to the administrators attention they make you feel like your concerns aren't valid and they know what's best for your children. It's very disturbing. We will not be returning to HCS next school year due to the poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I have been a student at HCS for 3 years and it has been great until this year. There is a great divide among the students in middle and high school this year. I have been made to feel that I am not 'Christian' enough because I don't worship a certain way. It's an awful feeling going to school and not feeling welcome in a place where we are all suppose to respect each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

We have been a HCS family for four years and love what the school has to offer great teachers, small class sizes, and a safe environment. However, this year the administration is taking a path that is leading the school in a different direction without discussing it with the parents. I feel this violates the trust I have placed in this school. Unless there is a new administration next year we will not be returning to HCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

This school is one of the few I know with open ended communication from the families. Although the retreat last wekend brought up some differences in worship, the administration handled it beautifully, listening to all concerns and learning for the future. This is what a school should be - not perfect, but willing to listen to all parents when issues arise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

This is the best school I've ever been too. I am in 10th grade at hcs and it is just awesome. It is my first year at hcs and I actually had low expectations for this school but they blew me away. Everyone in my grade is like a family. There are about 14 boys and about the same nuber of girls in 10th grade. The teachers actually teach and the class sizes are small enough for the teachers to be hands on. (That cell phone thing is not a problem with the teachers what so ever)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2007

The school has moved to a new campus. It is awesome! It is growing quickly. If you want a great school that really has solid christian values and requires the parents to be christians this is it. It is a combo school/homeschool where the kids go to school three days and you homeschool for two. Great teachers! The only downside is they do rely on parents a lot for recess etc and sometimes they are on the cell phone more than really paying attention. Overall I highly recommend this to christian parents that want to be active in thier kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

My child just finished K5 at HCS. There are minor safety issues (no fence around entire campus), but the kids are watched closely. Love the Christian atmosphere - just slightly too repressive. Overall, much better than public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

facility has some safety issues; school is growing faster than infrastructure and support; more of a camp than a school; school does not seem to embrace parent involvement beyond go with the flow type support.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Black 6% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Hispanic 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Florida
Florida Community College of J
Stetson University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drum line

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jack And Patty Wilcox
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (904) 997-1862

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Booster Club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Science club
  • Worship Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of North Florida
Florida Community College of J
Stetson University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2360 St. Johns Bluff Rd.
Suite 1
Jacksonville, FL 32246
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 997-1882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al-Furqan Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Sandalwood High School
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT