Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harvest Community School

Private | PK-12 | 263 students

Our school is best known for focusing on the heart of the student.

 
 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

Small classrooms, christian cirriculumn, small but well supported sports program. This is a very unique Christian environment for kids, where most kids thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Amazing school, wonderful teachers! I am so happy to be a part of this school!


Posted June 3, 2013

Just a dream come true! This is a gem in the city of Jacksonville. Amazing to have a place where the students can learn and grow in such a nurturing environment. The academics are one year ahead of other schools - an added bonus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

Harvest is flat out the best school in the world. I will be the first to admit that yes, we do have problems. At times those problems can drive you mad, then you walk on campus. Honestly, it's like walking down the red carpet everyday. Everyone greets you either with a hello or nod. One day we even had a some fun in our old building where we had shaded windows so when you were walking up you couldn't see inside. The whole highschool hung out just inside the doors and everytime someone walked in the door we would all cheer. The shock and joy on the person's face as they walked in was amazing. The best part is that every single person that walked in the door, we knew. Since the school is so small, I can honestly say I know every teacher and every student in highschool. If I'm not good friends with them, I atleast know enough to know their name and their personality. Harvest is so close and so personal. I have felt like a daughter to the teachers on campus, they are all so amazing. The teachers always challenge me to work hard, learn, and are willing to work with me when times get hard. Everyone challenges me to be on fire for God. Send you're kids to this school, you won't regret it.


Posted January 4, 2012

Amazing School and wonderful experience! We have children in elementary and high school. They just completed a high school complex that is absolutely beautiful! Go Warriors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

I hear the elementary school is good, but our experience was with jr/sr high. School claims to be interdenominational but is charasmatic. Tongues were a divisive issue in Bible class. If the students whine and complain about the workload the assignments were dropped or simplified--even though they were not difficult to begin with. We saw a major drop in our student's test scores after just 1 year at Harvest. There is definitely favoritism shown to students related to the administrator-- a real spirit of entitlement is best description. Many of the students did not seem to have an appreciation or respect for education. The testing environment for mid-terms, finals, SAT was terrible (talking, throwing paper etc). Because it is a community school and parents are required to be involved there is a huge parent gossip network. Don't expect privacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

Harvest is dedicated to their kids being set apart and not conforming to the things of this world. This is a difficult battle in 2009. Bravo to the leadership!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

Harvest has a beautiful heart. Our family only attended for one year. The teachers have time to care for the children and are not short tempered ever! The school works hard to provide a safe, God first, pleasant environment for the children.The teachers represented Christ very well in the class room. Although the school was experiencing many growing pains their concept is a beautiful one. Religion was not over the top for our family. We take our Christianity very seriously and enjoyed a school reinforcing our beliefs in the class. Our children were truelly happy to wake and go to school three days a week. We wish Harvest well and may return for middleschool some day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

I think Harvest is an EXCELLENT school morally and academically. My children have all tested far beyond there grade level. The teachers truly care for the heart of the child and bring out the best in them. I am very thankful. We have been there for 3 years and are completely satified. I have both homeschooled and gone to christian school and Harvest is the best of both worlds. The administration and staff are very loving and full of grace and willing to stand by and partner with you in the education of your children. They are very teachable and humble and also knowledgable and wise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I would give it 5 stars except the school is going though growing pains. The biggest thing I can say about this school is that the teachers really care. We have two students that have attended for the last two years and they and us love the school. Are there areas for improvement. Yes. Did tuition need to go up? Yes. I attended the meeting and reviewed all the books and compared them to other schools. It is priced right. As far as the 'cult' goes I would really like if someone explained what it was. Everything I have seen is that is is a solid Christian background. We are baptists and there has been nothing we have seen that is out of 'touch'. Since Parents are so involved you actaully get to see all the warts of the school compared to many others that you might not see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

Harvest is a great place for our children. The teachers really care about the well being of our children, not only with their studies but most importantly the well being of their hearts. The administration cares for the families enough to help in areas of parenting by making classes available for us to take with other families. we love the community. other families
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I agree that Harvest has struggled with growing pains and need to fine tune their administration however, their concept is praise-worthy. As for their religious beliefs, we don't feel imposed on and ultimately worship the same God. We were previously at another Christian School for five years that proved to not live up to our standards nor its cost. The 3rd grade had 28 students and we were paying $6,000 a year. As for Harvest tuition increases, there is no other school to compare with. The moral compass and protection of your child's heart does not exist elsewhere . You truly get what you pay for. It is where you heart and priorities are as to whether you feel it is worth the price. I will pay more for quality staff, quality classmates, quality education and small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

I have recently made the decision to leave the school. It is unfortunate becuase this 'concept' of school had promise. The problems are: 1) forcing a particular belief down your throat. not acceptable because the school is listed as non-denominational. The tuition is going up, but there are no supplies, books, materials, etc to justlfy this. Parents have to pay additional for everything as the year goes, even computer paper. Many families are leaving, I know of 9. I hope the administation can be honest about the finances, and justlfy the price. There is no way to justify the way the force their unusual beliefs on the families. This is a school , not a cult, or it should be for us and others to stay. Very sad situation. I suggest you look into other options that cost the same, there are many choices. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Harvest is the best school in Jacksonville, FL - period. There is nothing to even come close to compare to it's acedemic and biblically based education and discipleship of children. Those who complain of not being able to talk with the administration most likely have not tried they are very easy to talk to and discuss issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Our child has attended Harvest for four years.The founders are very easy to talk with and keep open communication with all parents. The administration is very organized and the school will be around for many years to come. My child has been to other schools and by far this administration is the most approachable. My child is so happy at Harvest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Harvest is an Amazing place to be! I have a child in the middle school and have found everyone to be supportive and loving to my child. The education is second to none and is well above grade level expectations. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

The teachers are incredible and go beyond the job and really pour into the students.We love it there! Harvest rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

My son has been at HCS for 2 years. We are not happy with the high school. The rules are over the top. It is very over the top with their Christian views. It personally was not the school for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

Harvet is a great school. Everyone there is family.there are no clicks and groups everyone is toghether.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2007

I have been a parent at Harvest for seven years! The administration has the utmost intregity! The teachers are wonderful and are great at communicating with the parents. I really feel a part of my children's education and find evryone very supportive! We love Harvest!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Black 6% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Hispanic 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Florida
Florida Community College of J
Stetson University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drum line

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jack And Patty Wilcox
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (904) 997-1862

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Booster Club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Science club
  • Worship Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of North Florida
Florida Community College of J
Stetson University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2360 St. Johns Bluff Rd.
Suite 1
Jacksonville, FL 32246
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 997-1882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al-Furqan Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Sandalwood High School
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT