Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
263 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harvest Community School 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
we have been there 3 years in Lower School. It is great. They focus a lot on the heart, as well as education. I love that I am with him at home 2 days a week. I know what his strengths and weaknesses are. What a blessing as a parent to be a huge part of his education, and character development.

Harvest Community School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
This is my son first year and he is in Middle School. Overall, I have been very pleased. The teacher are caring and supportive. My son is doing well educationally. He has had problems making new friends at the school, but he seems to be making progress. My son has complained that the school is too strict. I agree with him, however the rules do not appear to be overly strict. I believe the tuition is reasonable. Much less than his previous school.


Harvest Community School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My three children have attended Harvest Community School for the past 5 years and I could not be more pleased. My kids are challenged mentally, but the school also works hard to preserve the children's self esteem, building them up and encouraging them. While the facilities are nothing to brag about the curriculum and mission of the school is fantastic.

Harvest Community School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Small classrooms, christian cirriculumn, small but well supported sports program. This is a very unique Christian environment for kids, where most kids thrive.

Harvest Community School 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a community member
Amazing school, wonderful teachers! I am so happy to be a part of this school!


Harvest Community School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Just a dream come true! This is a gem in the city of Jacksonville. Amazing to have a place where the students can learn and grow in such a nurturing environment. The academics are one year ahead of other schools - an added bonus!

Harvest Community School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a community member
Harvest is flat out the best school in the world. I will be the first to admit that yes, we do have problems. At times those problems can drive you mad, then you walk on campus. Honestly, it's like walking down the red carpet everyday. Everyone greets you either with a hello or nod. One day we even had a some fun in our old building where we had shaded windows so when you were walking up you couldn't see inside. The whole highschool hung out just inside the doors and everytime someone walked in the door we would all cheer. The shock and joy on the person's face as they walked in was amazing. The best part is that every single person that walked in the door, we knew. Since the school is so small, I can honestly say I know every teacher and every student in highschool. If I'm not good friends with them, I atleast know enough to know their name and their personality. Harvest is so close and so personal. I have felt like a daughter to the teachers on campus, they are all so amazing. The teachers always challenge me to work hard, learn, and are willing to work with me when times get hard. Everyone challenges me to be on fire for God. Send you're kids to this school, you won't regret it.

Harvest Community School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Amazing School and wonderful experience! We have children in elementary and high school. They just completed a high school complex that is absolutely beautiful! Go Warriors!


Harvest Community School 1

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
I hear the elementary school is good, but our experience was with jr/sr high. School claims to be interdenominational but is charasmatic. Tongues were a divisive issue in Bible class. If the students whine and complain about the workload the assignments were dropped or simplified--even though they were not difficult to begin with. We saw a major drop in our student's test scores after just 1 year at Harvest. There is definitely favoritism shown to students related to the administrator-- a real spirit of entitlement is best description. Many of the students did not seem to have an appreciation or respect for education. The testing environment for mid-terms, finals, SAT was terrible (talking, throwing paper etc). Because it is a community school and parents are required to be involved there is a huge parent gossip network. Don't expect privacy.

Harvest Community School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
Harvest is dedicated to their kids being set apart and not conforming to the things of this world. This is a difficult battle in 2009. Bravo to the leadership!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harvest Community School
2360 St. Johns Bluff Rd., Jacksonville, FL  32246
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (904) 997-1882
Last modified Harvest Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top