Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Johns Grammar School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to All the teachers that go beyond classroom learning as they do All the afterschool clubs.... Sports club Nature club ( on school grounds have several acres, forts etc) chess & Lego clubs. My kids enjoy music class & violin weekly ( not every 8-10 days)...Thank you,

St Johns Grammar School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Kids love the teachers ... Very one on one small classes.... Hence learning moments are daily.... Wish I had started both kids here in preschool!


St Johns Grammar School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
My first grader has already completed 11s multiplication, 3 digit subtraction w/ borrowing ( regrouping) & 2 colum 3 digit addition ( carrying/ regrouping) beginning division & nouns, verbs, adjectives etc and loves school. My 4th grader is excited to go to school daily, thrives in the small class setting w/ a curriculum moving him forward, changes classes, has a locker, AR quizzes for reading, history & social studies, & small math hw 3 days usually & spelling too!

St Johns Grammar School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Yes as classes are small & they see the work to be done with their classmates and care it gets completed not because of a standardized test but because it is what everybody is doing with no stress, having fun together and then feeling good about goals met! ( not robotic learning b/c curriculum dictates learning timeframe) thus they can progress beyond & advance ahead of standardized curriculums w/ out any stress & constant standardized testing

St Johns Grammar School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Yes, students know each other's names, interact daily therefore care for one another and their teachers!


St Johns Grammar School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
There is flag ceremony daily, prayer & patriotic songs... An awesome reverent learning time for my two children & the whole school together. Acceptance of all students and no bullying and happy, active students interacting daily!

St Johns Grammar School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
A caring staff, happy children that love to go to school, play outiside 2 times daily, non stress learning environment and teaching kids at their current learning development stage w/ success

St Johns Grammar School 5

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
My child has been attending SJGS for two years and we love it. We have watched him learn and grow but I agree this school is not for everybody. We love how much time our child gets to just be a kid and play outsid. We struggled with two other schools before we found this one and now I finally feel that we found the right one for our child.


St Johns Grammar School 1

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
My child attended this school for 2 years. Then she went to public school which come to find out she was so behind academically. This school teaches nothing. There teachers are not licensed teacher. Be aware

St Johns Grammar School 1

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
Disorganized, lack of care. Teachers are not motivated but work in fear of the owner of the school. This school has no board, and I seriously doubt has any accreditation at all. I would keep looking...it is all about the might dollar here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Johns Grammar School
2353 State Road 13, Jacksonville, FL  32259
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (904) 287-8760
Last modified St Johns Grammar School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top